SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8543 (MISSES' JACKET AND SKIRT)

14 more reviews
Viewed 581 times 
Reviewed by:Mamselle Miele
photo

 
 
About Mamselle Mielestar
WA
Member since: 3/19/07
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/09 12:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Your skirt is elegant! Outof curiosity, how does your method of puttingin the zipper differ (or did V use a regular zipper and you chose an invisible zipper?). I have skirt envy....
4/27/09 1:05 PM
Amanda S. said...
Gorgeous skirt. I love the construction lines of this design. I just might need to pick this pattern up...
4/27/09 1:11 PM
Mamselle Miele said...
The instructions have you put in the zipper before you sew the side seam. I like to put in invisible zippers after sewing the seam below the zipper, so I avoid any pucker below the zipper. I baste the seam opening closed & press the SAs flat (this is also important since if I'm sewing a Big 4 pattern, I'm not following the pattern seam lines on the side seams). Then baste in the first side of the zipper and stitch before removing the seam basting, then basting & stitching the second side. I also mark the top of the zipper tape where it will line up with the waistline, so it stays even when I'm sewing it in.
4/27/09 1:20 PM
Mamselle Miele said...
The instructions have you put in the zipper before you sew the side seam. I like to put in invisible zippers after sewing the seam below the zipper, so I avoid any pucker below the zipper. I baste the seam opening closed & press the SAs flat (this is also important since if I'm sewing a Big 4 pattern, I'm not following the pattern seam lines on the side seams). Then baste in the first side of the zipper and stitch before removing the basting and basting & stitching the second side. I also mark the top of the zipper tape where it will line up with the waistline, so it stays even when I'm sewing it in.
4/27/09 1:21 PM
nglalala said...
Beautiful skirt!
4/27/09 2:16 PM
Gold said...
What a lovely skirt!!Great job!
4/27/09 2:24 PM
wildberrymom said...
Gorgeous skirt!
4/27/09 4:20 PM
becca a said...
What a beautiful skirt. Your curved seams are so neat and meet up perfectly. Nice work!
4/28/09 7:48 AM
cleverkitty said...
I'm going to try your method on the invisible zipper, I struggle with the pucker. Beautiful work on the skirt!!!
4/28/09 9:51 AM
the baja diva said...
thanks for the tip about sewing the seam below the zipper first. My always pucker! I will definatly try that.
4/28/09 9:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Silhouette Patterns #175

photo
by: Cynthia2

Review
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now