Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8543 (MISSES' JACKET AND SKIRT) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 580 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Mamselle Miele
photo
About Mamselle Mielestar
WA
Member since: 3/19/07
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/09 12:57 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Your skirt is elegant! Outof curiosity, how does your method of puttingin the zipper differ (or did V use a regular zipper and you chose an invisible zipper?). I have skirt envy....
4/27/09 1:05 PM
Amanda S. said...
Gorgeous skirt. I love the construction lines of this design. I just might need to pick this pattern up...
4/27/09 1:11 PM
Mamselle Miele said...
The instructions have you put in the zipper before you sew the side seam. I like to put in invisible zippers after sewing the seam below the zipper, so I avoid any pucker below the zipper. I baste the seam opening closed & press the SAs flat (this is also important since if I'm sewing a Big 4 pattern, I'm not following the pattern seam lines on the side seams). Then baste in the first side of the zipper and stitch before removing the seam basting, then basting & stitching the second side. I also mark the top of the zipper tape where it will line up with the waistline, so it stays even when I'm sewing it in.
4/27/09 1:20 PM
Mamselle Miele said...
The instructions have you put in the zipper before you sew the side seam. I like to put in invisible zippers after sewing the seam below the zipper, so I avoid any pucker below the zipper. I baste the seam opening closed & press the SAs flat (this is also important since if I'm sewing a Big 4 pattern, I'm not following the pattern seam lines on the side seams). Then baste in the first side of the zipper and stitch before removing the basting and basting & stitching the second side. I also mark the top of the zipper tape where it will line up with the waistline, so it stays even when I'm sewing it in.
4/27/09 1:21 PM
nglalala said...
Beautiful skirt!
4/27/09 2:16 PM
Gold said...
What a lovely skirt!!Great job!
4/27/09 2:24 PM
wildberrymom said...
Gorgeous skirt!
4/27/09 4:20 PM
becca a said...
What a beautiful skirt. Your curved seams are so neat and meet up perfectly. Nice work!
4/28/09 7:48 AM
cleverkitty said...
I'm going to try your method on the invisible zipper, I struggle with the pucker. Beautiful work on the skirt!!!
4/28/09 9:51 AM
the baja diva said...
thanks for the tip about sewing the seam below the zipper first. My always pucker! I will definatly try that.
4/28/09 9:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Colette Patterns 1013 Crepe
photo
Review by Stacie Thi... on 3/18/11
Read Review

Vogue 8759 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8759 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7031 Pattern
Burda 7031 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1201 Renfrew Top
photo
Review by Byrdie on 2/4/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us