SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Danglez> DB4 (Danglez Bra Pattern)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2349 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 196
Favored by: 394 people
patterns reviewed: 183
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/09 3:00 PM
Last Updated:4/27/09 3:08 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 81 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
m1khaela said...
What a beautiful bra and such a helpful detailed review! I so want to try ordering from them!
1/19/10 7:48 AM
lynnewill said...
Thanks for this review along with all the reference. Need to start making bras for my mother and hopefully this will kick start the process.
11/10/09 8:14 AM
LottaTroublemaker said...
Hi, Fun and interesting to read, thanks a lot! Never even thought of sewing myself a bra, tried doing panties though and will do more! Great knowing about that website, they had some really great patterns and things! Regarding metric sizes. I've had the same issue often while shopping in the US or on eBay, just the other way around since I'm used to metric (which BTW is a much less complicated system than the imperial!). As you know, the sizes pretty much consist of the same measurement system, only they're in metric (and sizes are with 5cm-centimeter/50mm-millimeter = ca. 2" increments instead of full inches, cup sizes are identical), so if you don't own an imperial/metric measure tape, all you need to do, is to take your imperial measurement and multiply it by 2.54, and go to the closest 5 cm increment, and there's your bra size (e.g. 42 x 2.54 = 106.68 - closest size is 105). Thanks for great reviews and blog! :)
8/18/09 6:47 AM
carole said...
This looks great and fits you nicley . Will you be doing a wired bra to ? Carole
8/2/09 4:03 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
DANGLEZ at first glance, my eyes/brain read it as Dangles... not good for a bra! Thanks for the chuckle too.. Please see my previously posted gusher comments.. still mean it too!
5/29/09 7:49 PM
Sewbuddie said...
Very thorough and super explanations and tips. Thank you for showing that making a bra is not beyond the reach of any sewist.
5/29/09 10:39 AM
lorrwill said...
Another huge thank you for the detailed review. I have been afraid to try to make a bra (even though I have yet to find a RTW that really fits). Not anymore, thanks to you!
5/28/09 10:48 PM
caseysgirl23 said...
So much great information! Thank you!
5/28/09 1:09 PM
Caitycat said...
Debbie, AWESOME review! Thanks for all the photos and showing how you keep the pieces in order. Interesting about the dye takeup.
5/27/09 1:59 AM
sewgramma said...
You are such an inspiration & and am blown away by your creativity. The only bras that seem to fit me cost $50 because so few of them come in a 42DD - I have to take what I can get! You have given me the courage to make a bra & I plan on using all your wonderful tips! Thank you.
5/26/09 1:42 PM
persevering said...
Congratulations on winning 1st prize on your achievement! Amazing as your pattern review is informative, in good taste, and in good humor, you have empowered all of us. Thank you.
5/26/09 1:32 PM
water2wine said...
Wow! What a great review. I can't believe I am saying this but I just might have to give this a try. I have five girls and not all of them are ready for bras but this could be a big cash saver. Thanks for the review. I never would have thought about attempting it before reading this. Not to mention that it was highly entertaining. You are very funny.
5/26/09 12:02 PM
ReneeG1957 said...
Now to see if they carry patterns in the right size range for me and DD!
5/21/09 4:30 PM
AliciaNoel said...
I really admire you for making your own bra!! I am definately going to take a look at the pattern company. Thanks so much for sharing this detailed review!!
5/11/09 2:25 PM
Keyboard Carol said...
Good review. I never considered making a bra before. I thought it would be too complicated. After reading your review, I may give it a try. Your bra turned out beautiful. (Laughed at the "Euro" boobs.)
5/11/09 12:14 PM
Raye Ann said...
oh boy, this is fantastic. i don't have the nerve to try... but one day i might. thanks for the inspiration!
5/10/09 6:05 PM
Bernadette W said...
You are hilarious (But it's a bra and no one but me, and all 150,000 of you, are going to see it. OK, maybe DH too if he's nice. ) And so so brave! Thank you for this fab review--I will refer to it if I ever decide to make one of my "training bras"- and I am not referring to athletic underwear. Rocketboy's comment was so right on the money--and I'm sure that you can make ANTHING.
5/5/09 11:50 AM
Marji said...
It looks great and your review goes a long way towards de-mystifying the process. Thanks for the review.
5/5/09 8:08 AM
BrianSews said...
Yes! While I won't be making any bras anytime soon I LOVE that you did. It's so important to realize that there is really no limit to what can be sewn at home and all it takes is a little know how. Extra points for dyeing your project! Inspiring is an understatement.
5/4/09 7:18 PM
Johanna Lu said...
This bra is just awesome and you're review is as helpful as always. I didn't know you could dye nylon, now I'm really tempted. Great work!
5/3/09 6:49 AM
fourkid said...
Gorgeous!! - I have to try this in the near future.
5/2/09 10:05 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautifully made. The bra looks fantastic.
5/2/09 8:07 PM
Oceanpeg said...
This is really inspirational! Will of course put it into my favorites and bookmark it. It's hard for us larger plus size ladies to get fancy colorful bras and this PR really seems to give us the secrets of making one for ourselves and sorta challenges us to make brightly colored bras for ourselves, especially if we can't find them in our local stores. Excellent job in your write-up on your bra and excellent job in making and choosing to create a bra for this contest.
5/2/09 5:10 PM
redsquid said...
Excellent pattern review - and lots of great ideas on bramaking - thanks!
5/1/09 11:29 AM
JEF said...
Wonderful review - thank you.
4/29/09 10:07 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Whew! So much work .... but what a wonderful fit! I wouldn't even attempt such a daunting task...but you make it look so easy Debbie. You are an inspiration to us all. I am so lucky that I don't need to even wear one unless going out....I had no idea that large sizes were so expensive. Love the dye job & the tutorial, too.
4/29/09 12:53 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...an inspiration.
4/28/09 10:02 AM
Elaine Penney said...
Wonderful tutorial. I wear a 38G, and hate paying $75-$90 each for bras. I've often thought about making my own and have read some tutorials, but it just seems so daunting. You've inspired me to study it further and take the plunge.
4/28/09 9:34 AM
antiquelvr56 said...
Thanks so much for such an informative review (as always). You got a beautiful fit. I just bought a pattern from Elingerie, but have yet to try it. This makes me want to get started right away! Thanks again!
4/28/09 8:32 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Looks great! And if anyone else is buying from elingeria.de I HIGHLY recommend their bra kits, which give you all the lace, fabric, hooks, and findings to make one bra and two panties. I've used them myself and would use again in a heartbeat. Thanks so much for this very informative review, Debbie!
4/28/09 6:07 AM
TalyQ said...
Oh, I love that bra. It looks like the cups are big enough and they look well constructed. I am down to one fitting bra again, so I will have to find a way to make one again. This pattern really looks promising.
4/28/09 2:27 AM
PVA said...
Amazing! You are such a treasure! I just want to thank you, so much for all the wonderful sharing you give the rest of us. You make me feel like maybe I could sit down & produce a bra. I guess I could if I followed this review that, as usual is more like a tutorial! Thanks again!
4/28/09 2:00 AM
MagpieJen said...
Wow! Bras are one of the things I'd never think I could make myself, but this is inspirational! I love the dye job too!
4/28/09 1:59 AM
1betsy1 said...
Beautiful!!!
4/27/09 11:13 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Well I must say I am speechless... An adventure and so amazing... Thank you for generous spirit in providing the nitty gritty details on how you arrived at a successful result. Your selfless generosity is appreciated by me and I am sure by others as well. The dye job certainly puts your bra over the top.. custom in ever detail. Now I am over my gushing... the review was spot-on in solid information on how you did this. Thank You!
4/27/09 11:06 PM
sewing for fun said...
Great, detailed review! Beautiful bra! I have Lee-Anne's book, Beverly Johnson's book and the one from NeedleNook Fabrics by Anne St Claire. I love the books & have made about a dozen bras now, including the Queen Elite from Needle Nook Fabrics. They teach a great workshop and made a custom fitted bra for me - approx 38H. I will have to try this pattern since your bra is so gorgeous. Thanks for another great review - you do a great job sewing & reviewing and wonderful teaching of various techniques.
4/27/09 10:21 PM
audsews said...
Great job!!! Did you use underwires?
4/27/09 8:50 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I'm jealous that you can get a bra right the second time around. This bra looks super fantastic on you. I really like the dye job. I'm hoping third times the charm.
4/27/09 7:02 PM
chacha45 said...
Congratulations! I've been watching the sew-along and it seems like you have just climbed Mt. Everest!
4/27/09 6:18 PM
sewbehind said...
Very helpful review, Debbie. Thanks for taking us through the whole process. Your results are worth the work.
4/27/09 5:40 PM
RLL said...
Very impressive. But then again, you always are! I very much so love this bra.
4/27/09 5:12 PM
RuthieSews said...
That is very clever. Looks fabulous and I love the thing with the dyes.
4/27/09 5:00 PM
JTink said...
Just beautiful! The last time I made a bra, I was a 34B, 30 years ago. A little tricot here and there with no support. Didn't need it then:-) I am now a 34D and loving the idea of making my own. I've had to pull apart and reposition the straps on most of the bras I buy, to keep them from slipping off my shoulders. I just love what you have done. The dye job is so special.
4/27/09 4:54 PM
Annette1 said...
What an inspiration you are. I'm saving this review as a favorite, as some day I may get up the nerve to make my own bra, too. I HATE buying bras, and I'm VERY European busted, evidently -- ha! WONDERFUL job. Your bra is so pretty and fits beautifully.
4/27/09 4:19 PM
michellep74 said...
Congratulations on such a great fitting bra!
4/27/09 3:25 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, your muslin idea is totally brilliant!! What a better method than making an entire bra before you have any idea whether it'll fit! Love the results, this one does look like it fits you perfectly. I'm a 40-42 myself, and wear a European 95, perhaps you had a measuring slip-up? Most women with large breasts end up wearing the band too loose so they can find their size easier, which also gives less support. But remember that if the cups in a 105D fit you so well, you'll need to make a 100E or 95F if you want to change band size. Nylon dyes well with acid dyes, nothing available to normal people dyes polyester, so if you want to keep dyeing bras you need to pay extreme attention to fiber content. Anyway, congratulations!
4/27/09 3:22 PM
Andreahg said...
I've been watching your blog for your progress. It looks fantastic after the dye job. Congrats on getting a good fit!
4/27/09 3:14 PM
Mary Nanna said...
wow - thanks for the detailed review and step by step walk through .. one day I'll be brave enough (when I'm desperate enough) but in the mean time I'll just admire your hard work.
4/27/09 3:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 70883-1009

photo
by: jannw

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2010-136

photo
by: Elaray

Review
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now