SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> 602 (Hollywood 602: 1941 Dress)

Viewed 1285 times 
Reviewed by:MagpieJen
photo

 
 
About MagpieJenstar
CANADA
Member since: 2/22/05
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/09 7:59 PM
Last Updated:5/4/09 8:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 38 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
64 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewrose said...
Thank you for your thorough description of your process and for keeping a passion alive! Your garment is well-constructed and fits you well.
7/1/09 5:32 PM
Brunella said...
I enjoyed the details of your sewing adventure, and what a beautiful dress!
6/24/09 11:24 AM
sewrose said...
Thank you for your thorough description of your process and for keeping a passion alive! Your garment is well-constructed and fits you well.
6/21/09 9:32 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Your dress is beautiful and very flattering. Your review is wonderful.
6/17/09 10:11 PM
MissCelie said...
OMG. This completley takes my breath away!
6/17/09 6:56 PM
AnotherStef said...
What a fantastic review to go with a fantastic dress. I especially loved your discussion of sheer techniques from Creative Sewing (I'm going to try these!) and history of Hollywood Patterns.
5/24/09 5:40 PM
vikacia said...
A wonderful review. I enjoyed getting educated on the 1941 period and being a beginner in sewing I found this review inspiring too. Kepp up the good work.
5/13/09 10:00 AM
lucylal said...
Fantastic detailed review!! The dress is just gorgeous. You look great!!
5/9/09 10:39 PM
HeyJane said...
Great workmanship and a glorious dress! Wishing you many happy, wonderful dances while wearing your masterpiece! Awesome review.
5/7/09 8:00 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful and glamorous. This is a masterpiece! Excellent review.
5/6/09 10:41 AM
Secretsugar said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress! I love the bodice and button detail especially, and envy all that swishiness!
5/5/09 2:08 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Splendid. The dress is absolutely beautiful. All of the pains paid off. This dress is truly a "vintage" work of art.
5/5/09 10:31 AM
JuneHawk said...
Absolutely stunning! I love the dress, I love everything about it. THAT is one heck of a review!
5/5/09 8:53 AM
Athene said...
Lola is a good name for your fabric because you look like one hot 1940s Lola - wow I love it all, and the seamed stockings are such a great vintage touch. Thank you for such an informative review. I had to add it to my favorites so I could enjoy reading it at leisure in the future.
5/5/09 1:44 AM
Enid E said...
Wonderful! and truly vintage... thank you for such a detailed review.
5/4/09 9:06 PM
Tez said...
Just gorgeous!
5/2/09 3:54 PM
CarolynGM said...
Everything about this dress is perfect! Thanks for tips and comparisons on seam finishes for sheers. Great review.
5/2/09 12:03 PM
Claire in Montreal said...
That's one fabulous dress !
5/2/09 6:10 AM
3HoursPast said...
Perfect Perfect Perfect. I love how you used good solid techniques and also experimented and how your finished dress looks like, well, a finished dress. Good job. Well done.
5/1/09 7:15 PM
fourkid said...
I LOVE this dress. The fabric is perfect. You look wonderful in it. Hollywood made such wonderful dresses.
5/1/09 9:34 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
The dress and your review are both great, just like last year, and I love the photos !
4/30/09 7:06 PM
maryfrana said...
What a review and what a dress! This is just perfect in every way. I was so tempted to click on "Needs more info" under Rate this Review just to be funny. Dance away.
4/30/09 6:47 PM
MagpieJen said...
Thank you all so much for your kind words! Kellie: No dancing yet! It's still a little cold here to wear this dress, but soon! Luckylibbet: They sure are seamed stockings :-) Oceanpeg: Yes, think it would be very easy to make a skirt from this! I'm personally getting more into dresses - it's strangely liberating to not have to coordinate separates in the morning - but this would be a great candidate for a skirt, and I may do what you suggest at some point! Thank you again for your generosity! Since I know it's unlikely that anyone else will have this pattern (though I've seen it on ebay at least once), I try to make my vintage reviews helpful in other ways too.
4/30/09 11:53 AM
Huldra said...
Your dress is beautiful and your review very helpful!
4/30/09 11:37 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Found your review very interesting and informative. Could you possibly add a waist band to the skirt parts and not even have to make a whole dress out of it at all? Maybe just a 7 inch side zipper too.
4/30/09 0:42 AM
Twinset said...
Love what you did with this pattern! So adorable! And what a great review!
4/29/09 11:02 PM
colourbynumber said...
You look gorgeous. Great review!
4/29/09 9:42 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Fantastic review. Most helpful. Lovely vintage dress!!!!!
4/29/09 6:40 PM
waltzqueen said...
I love all the vintage patterns PR folks are sewing! I have a large collection, but have only made two evening gowns - you can see where my priorities are! You did a wonderful job with this pattern and the dress fits you beautifully. Thanks for all the tips too.
4/29/09 5:24 PM
cleverkitty said...
glorious dress!!! review is awesome like good book to read.
4/29/09 3:56 PM
Heatherrique said...
You make 40's glamour refreshingly gorgeous! Thanks for sharing a super review with very helpful specifics! Have fun dancing the night away!
4/29/09 3:51 PM
nancy2001 said...
What a lovely, feminine dress and a great informative review. How interesting that gored skirts helped save fabric during WWII.
4/29/09 2:38 PM
Karen6790 said...
Excellent review, and the dress is just flat-out gorgeous. Red and dots and a twirly skirt for grownups? Couldn't get much better than that. You really kept the vintage feel - if you'd posted the pictures in black-and-white, they would have looked like movie stills. Brava!
4/29/09 1:49 PM
kellymailinglist said...
Wowsers! What a terrific, detailed, and helpful review. I'll be interested in your accompanying slip review, too. Despite the hiccups you had along the way, your dress turned out fabulously!
4/29/09 12:38 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Gorgeous! And are you wearing stockings with seams? You look just like a movie star from the era.
4/29/09 12:35 PM
EleanorSews said...
Wonderful! Fit, fabric, style and remarkable review.
4/29/09 11:37 AM
Sickofitcindy said...
What a lovely dress! Your hard work really paid off. I love the detailed review.
4/29/09 10:35 AM
MamaSewing said...
What a dress - it is beautiful.
4/29/09 10:14 AM
Andreahg said...
Very nice work!
4/29/09 9:33 AM
hmacski said...
ADORABLE!!!!!
4/29/09 9:17 AM
hmacski said...
ADORABLE!!!!!
4/29/09 9:17 AM
cleverkitty said...
glorious dress!!! review is awesome like good book to read.
4/29/09 9:13 AM
truebias said...
i LOVE this. great job on making a vintage pattern that is wearable. so cute.
4/29/09 8:59 AM
JEF said...
Wonderful dress and wonderful review!
4/29/09 8:53 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a lovely dress! Have you been dancing yet? I especially like the neckline and collar - it's very sweet and sassy. Fabulous work!!!!
4/29/09 8:50 AM
morzel said...
this is one of the most beautiful vintage dresses I have ever seen!! Your fabric choice (the polkadots on red, great!) is perfect, as is the whole dress. You look lovely in it!
4/29/09 8:43 AM
dbsewer said...
What a great review and that dress is gorgeous on you. It was worth all the effort.
4/29/09 8:14 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Now THAT'S an excellent Review!! Thank you for your efforts. Very pretty dress!! Enjoy the dance.
4/29/09 7:41 AM
Karla Kizer said...
It's fantastic. They just don't make 'em like they used to, and your interpretation of it is perfect.
4/29/09 6:27 AM
petro said...
Great dress, I'm inspired to do a 12 gore skirt now. I think the hemline swish definitely lifts it out of the prissy.
4/29/09 3:01 AM
marisa.james said...
It looks beautiful!
4/29/09 0:32 AM
birdmcfarland said...
Wow! Gorgeous! You look like a million bucks!
4/29/09 0:07 AM
Ariadne said...
Extraordinary! Like reading a good novel! The surprises! The twists! The challenge to character! The stretching of one's limits! And, best of all, the happy ending, that ends with a dance to a hit tune by Benny Goodman! Bravo! Four stars!
4/29/09 0:06 AM
Aixoise said...
Terrific review. The dress is great on you, and your styling decisions are just right. Love those seamed stockings!
4/28/09 11:56 PM
DoggyGirl said...
Oh, this is so GREAT!!! The phrase "timelessly gorgeous" comes to mind. You are gonna turn heads with this one. Get out there and wear it where people can see it!
4/28/09 11:39 PM
Amanda S. said...
Extremely well done review and the dress is just beautiful! I love everything about it.
4/28/09 11:36 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Wonderful dress and thorough review.
4/28/09 11:35 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is soo pretty! I want that dress! LOL! You did a great job!
4/28/09 10:48 PM
Sharon M said...
Oh how wonderful! Both the dress and the review. You look utterly adorable!
4/28/09 10:10 PM
Christas said...
Your dress looks so wonderful and transitions perfectly from the late thirties (and early forties) to present day. I love your fabric choice. What a very special dress!
4/28/09 10:01 PM
echolalia said...
Fabulous review - thank you. You look beautiful in your vintage creation. You have done a fantastic construction job & the fabric is perfect.
4/28/09 9:32 PM
vintageclothes said...
It is GORGEOUS!!! A dress I would dream of making. :)
4/28/09 9:15 PM
TanyaMT said...
It looks fantastic on you, and what a great review!
4/28/09 8:53 PM
Elona said...
What a lovely dress, and I really appreciate your detailed comments and photos. Your pictures of seam finishes are really poster children for the virtues of experimenting with your fabric. That double-stitched edge is very neat.
4/28/09 8:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1170

photo
by: Merche

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

More Info
Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

More Info