Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 602 (Hollywood 602: 1941 Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1284 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 38 people   
Reviewed by:MagpieJen
photo
Friend of PR
About MagpieJenstar
CANADA
Member since: 2/22/05
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/09 7:59 PM
Last Updated:5/4/09 8:07 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
64 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
What a lovely dress, and I really appreciate your detailed comments and photos. Your pictures of seam finishes are really poster children for the virtues of experimenting with your fabric. That double-stitched edge is very neat.
4/28/09 8:45 PM
TanyaMT said...
It looks fantastic on you, and what a great review!
4/28/09 8:53 PM
vintageclothes said...
It is GORGEOUS!!! A dress I would dream of making. :)
4/28/09 9:15 PM
echolalia said...
Fabulous review - thank you. You look beautiful in your vintage creation. You have done a fantastic construction job & the fabric is perfect.
4/28/09 9:32 PM
Christas said...
Your dress looks so wonderful and transitions perfectly from the late thirties (and early forties) to present day. I love your fabric choice. What a very special dress!
4/28/09 10:01 PM
Sharon M said...
Oh how wonderful! Both the dress and the review. You look utterly adorable!
4/28/09 10:10 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is soo pretty! I want that dress! LOL! You did a great job!
4/28/09 10:48 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Wonderful dress and thorough review.
4/28/09 11:35 PM
Amanda S. said...
Extremely well done review and the dress is just beautiful! I love everything about it.
4/28/09 11:36 PM
DoggyGirl said...
Oh, this is so GREAT!!! The phrase "timelessly gorgeous" comes to mind. You are gonna turn heads with this one. Get out there and wear it where people can see it!
4/28/09 11:39 PM
Aixoise said...
Terrific review. The dress is great on you, and your styling decisions are just right. Love those seamed stockings!
4/28/09 11:56 PM
Ariadne said...
Extraordinary! Like reading a good novel! The surprises! The twists! The challenge to character! The stretching of one's limits! And, best of all, the happy ending, that ends with a dance to a hit tune by Benny Goodman! Bravo! Four stars!
4/29/09 0:06 AM
birdmcfarland said...
Wow! Gorgeous! You look like a million bucks!
4/29/09 0:07 AM
marisa.james said...
It looks beautiful!
4/29/09 0:32 AM
petro said...
Great dress, I'm inspired to do a 12 gore skirt now. I think the hemline swish definitely lifts it out of the prissy.
4/29/09 3:01 AM
Karla Kizer said...
It's fantastic. They just don't make 'em like they used to, and your interpretation of it is perfect.
4/29/09 6:27 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Now THAT'S an excellent Review!! Thank you for your efforts. Very pretty dress!! Enjoy the dance.
4/29/09 7:41 AM
dbsewer said...
What a great review and that dress is gorgeous on you. It was worth all the effort.
4/29/09 8:14 AM
morzel said...
this is one of the most beautiful vintage dresses I have ever seen!! Your fabric choice (the polkadots on red, great!) is perfect, as is the whole dress. You look lovely in it!
4/29/09 8:43 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a lovely dress! Have you been dancing yet? I especially like the neckline and collar - it's very sweet and sassy. Fabulous work!!!!
4/29/09 8:50 AM
JEF said...
Wonderful dress and wonderful review!
4/29/09 8:53 AM
truebias said...
i LOVE this. great job on making a vintage pattern that is wearable. so cute.
4/29/09 8:59 AM
cleverkitty said...
glorious dress!!! review is awesome like good book to read.
4/29/09 9:13 AM
hmacski said...
ADORABLE!!!!!
4/29/09 9:17 AM
hmacski said...
ADORABLE!!!!!
4/29/09 9:17 AM
Andreahg said...
Very nice work!
4/29/09 9:33 AM
MamaSewing said...
What a dress - it is beautiful.
4/29/09 10:14 AM
Sickofitcindy said...
What a lovely dress! Your hard work really paid off. I love the detailed review.
4/29/09 10:35 AM
EleanorSews said...
Wonderful! Fit, fabric, style and remarkable review.
4/29/09 11:37 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Gorgeous! And are you wearing stockings with seams? You look just like a movie star from the era.
4/29/09 12:35 PM
kellymailinglist said...
Wowsers! What a terrific, detailed, and helpful review. I'll be interested in your accompanying slip review, too. Despite the hiccups you had along the way, your dress turned out fabulously!
4/29/09 12:38 PM
Karen6790 said...
Excellent review, and the dress is just flat-out gorgeous. Red and dots and a twirly skirt for grownups? Couldn't get much better than that. You really kept the vintage feel - if you'd posted the pictures in black-and-white, they would have looked like movie stills. Brava!
4/29/09 1:49 PM
nancy2001 said...
What a lovely, feminine dress and a great informative review. How interesting that gored skirts helped save fabric during WWII.
4/29/09 2:38 PM
Heatherrique said...
You make 40's glamour refreshingly gorgeous! Thanks for sharing a super review with very helpful specifics! Have fun dancing the night away!
4/29/09 3:51 PM
cleverkitty said...
glorious dress!!! review is awesome like good book to read.
4/29/09 3:56 PM
waltzqueen said...
I love all the vintage patterns PR folks are sewing! I have a large collection, but have only made two evening gowns - you can see where my priorities are! You did a wonderful job with this pattern and the dress fits you beautifully. Thanks for all the tips too.
4/29/09 5:24 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Fantastic review. Most helpful. Lovely vintage dress!!!!!
4/29/09 6:40 PM
colourbynumber said...
You look gorgeous. Great review!
4/29/09 9:42 PM
Twinset said...
Love what you did with this pattern! So adorable! And what a great review!
4/29/09 11:02 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Found your review very interesting and informative. Could you possibly add a waist band to the skirt parts and not even have to make a whole dress out of it at all? Maybe just a 7 inch side zipper too.
4/30/09 0:42 AM
Huldra said...
Your dress is beautiful and your review very helpful!
4/30/09 11:37 AM
MagpieJen said...
Thank you all so much for your kind words! Kellie: No dancing yet! It's still a little cold here to wear this dress, but soon! Luckylibbet: They sure are seamed stockings :-) Oceanpeg: Yes, think it would be very easy to make a skirt from this! I'm personally getting more into dresses - it's strangely liberating to not have to coordinate separates in the morning - but this would be a great candidate for a skirt, and I may do what you suggest at some point! Thank you again for your generosity! Since I know it's unlikely that anyone else will have this pattern (though I've seen it on ebay at least once), I try to make my vintage reviews helpful in other ways too.
4/30/09 11:53 AM
maryfrana said...
What a review and what a dress! This is just perfect in every way. I was so tempted to click on "Needs more info" under Rate this Review just to be funny. Dance away.
4/30/09 6:47 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
The dress and your review are both great, just like last year, and I love the photos !
4/30/09 7:06 PM
fourkid said...
I LOVE this dress. The fabric is perfect. You look wonderful in it. Hollywood made such wonderful dresses.
5/1/09 9:34 AM
3HoursPast said...
Perfect Perfect Perfect. I love how you used good solid techniques and also experimented and how your finished dress looks like, well, a finished dress. Good job. Well done.
5/1/09 7:15 PM
Claire in Montreal said...
That's one fabulous dress !
5/2/09 6:10 AM
CarolynGM said...
Everything about this dress is perfect! Thanks for tips and comparisons on seam finishes for sheers. Great review.
5/2/09 12:03 PM
Tez said...
Just gorgeous!
5/2/09 3:54 PM
Enid E said...
Wonderful! and truly vintage... thank you for such a detailed review.
5/4/09 9:06 PM
Athene said...
Lola is a good name for your fabric because you look like one hot 1940s Lola - wow I love it all, and the seamed stockings are such a great vintage touch. Thank you for such an informative review. I had to add it to my favorites so I could enjoy reading it at leisure in the future.
5/5/09 1:44 AM
JuneHawk said...
Absolutely stunning! I love the dress, I love everything about it. THAT is one heck of a review!
5/5/09 8:53 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Splendid. The dress is absolutely beautiful. All of the pains paid off. This dress is truly a "vintage" work of art.
5/5/09 10:31 AM
Secretsugar said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress! I love the bodice and button detail especially, and envy all that swishiness!
5/5/09 2:08 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful and glamorous. This is a masterpiece! Excellent review.
5/6/09 10:41 AM
HeyJane said...
Great workmanship and a glorious dress! Wishing you many happy, wonderful dances while wearing your masterpiece! Awesome review.
5/7/09 8:00 PM
lucylal said...
Fantastic detailed review!! The dress is just gorgeous. You look great!!
5/9/09 10:39 PM
vikacia said...
A wonderful review. I enjoyed getting educated on the 1941 period and being a beginner in sewing I found this review inspiring too. Kepp up the good work.
5/13/09 10:00 AM
AnotherStef said...
What a fantastic review to go with a fantastic dress. I especially loved your discussion of sheer techniques from Creative Sewing (I'm going to try these!) and history of Hollywood Patterns.
5/24/09 5:40 PM
MissCelie said...
OMG. This completley takes my breath away!
6/17/09 6:56 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Your dress is beautiful and very flattering. Your review is wonderful.
6/17/09 10:11 PM
sewrose said...
Thank you for your thorough description of your process and for keeping a passion alive! Your garment is well-constructed and fits you well.
6/21/09 9:32 AM
Brunella said...
I enjoyed the details of your sewing adventure, and what a beautiful dress!
6/24/09 11:24 AM
sewrose said...
Thank you for your thorough description of your process and for keeping a passion alive! Your garment is well-constructed and fits you well.
7/1/09 5:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

McCall's 8550
photo
Review by ShereeSews on 6/17/03
Read Review

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Wonder Wallet
Wonder Wallet

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1201 Renfrew Top
photo
Review by laurajanef... on 11/21/13
Read Review

Butterick 5965 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5965 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6886 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6886 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us