SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> ks-easysewing (Cowl neck t-shirt)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1549 times 
Reviewed by:Chandra
photo

 
 
About Chandra
MI USA
Member since: 11/2/03
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:17 AM
Last Updated:12/4/03 8:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    
Available for sale on PR: $25.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane E said...
Chandra, what a beautiful color. Thanks for the review. Isn't it fabulous to find a pattern you really like and one that will be versatile, as well!
12/4/03 9:37 PM
Sammie said...
Great job! I love orange, too but it doesn't love me. Love how your t-shirt fits.
12/5/03 3:04 AM
JDpenelope said...
You do nice work after only 6 mos at sewing...and ready to do a full bust alteration, too! Makes me want to get the cobwebs out and get going!
12/5/03 5:20 AM
Karla Kizer said...
" I think I've gushed enough about this pattern and the book it came in "....... Gushing about KwikSew is permitted here. You are among friends. The top looks wonderful, and I'll bet KS will see an increase in sales of their book because of your review and picture. Can't wait to see what you do next!
12/5/03 6:14 AM
Lou. said...
Love your shirt and I love this book!
12/5/03 7:37 AM
Gigi Louis said...
I love your top - the color is really pretty! Another KS convert. ;-)
12/5/03 7:53 AM
bonny said...
The top looks great on you, Chandra! I have this book as well. How did you find the armscye? I've basted together a trial muslin for the T-shirt. It fits pretty well, except I find the bottom of the armhole is really low.
12/5/03 3:01 PM
AnneM said...
"Great Pumpkin" - cute. I recently got this book but haven't ventured into it yet. Glad ot know it works for you. Bonny - I think some other people have said that also.
12/5/03 3:43 PM
Chandra said...
Bonny - I do think the armhole is a little low, but the armholes are a little low for me on most RTW shirts also. It was especially low when I first made it, but after I washed and dried the finished top (I did wash and dry the fabric once before making it too) it shrunk some more and fit a little better. I am on a quest to get the perfect armhole fit, however, and I'm going to try some alterations the next time.
12/5/03 4:03 PM
aperiolat said...
You did a great job and I love the color. Kudos for venturing out to knits at 6mos. I bet NO ONE else has a shirt just like yours....that's what sewing for yourself is all about, right?
12/5/03 5:12 PM
amyf said...
I've sewn this top too, and my only warning is that the wrong side of the fabric is visible. At least on mine, I can never get it to drape to cover the wrong side of the fabric. Maybe I did something wrong. But it was quick and easy and otherwise looks good. Mine is from a peach sherpa which isn't a good color for me anyway (I'm a redhead). Oh, and if you're looking for this book inexpensively, check out some of the Kwik Sew coops on yahoogroups.
12/6/03 8:38 AM
Chandra said...
Amy F - I can see how the wrong side might show on the collar with a more drapey fabric. This fabric is pretty stiff so it worked out well. If I were making this out of a more drapey fabric I would probably sew two peices wrong sides together for the collar rather than just use the one like the pattern recommends.
12/6/03 4:10 PM
Deepika said...
Chandra love your t-shirt! The color looks fabulous on you. Cowl neck t-shirt is next on my to-sew list :) thanks for the review.
12/7/03 1:26 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job. You are doing great with just beginning and I like that you seem to just jump right in and try what is for some tricky fabrics. I have this book but to be honest I have not really looked at it. Got it through a coop and then did nothing with it. Duh! I am going to pull it out tonight.
12/20/03 6:46 PM
GreekGirl said...
Thanks - had forgotten that this book included a cowl neck top! Will try it with a drapey knit but am concerned...need to visualize it better I guess. Also want to increase the cowl, more like the KS 28556 pattern. Can't get KS patterns here so will improvise. May do a trial run with cheaper fabric.
2/13/04 4:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Stretch & Sew 1276

photo
by: dakotasews

Review
Neue Mode 22671

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now