Online Sewing Class: Clone Your Favorite Garment
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2703 (Misses Jacket, Pants, Dress &)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1007 times 
Reviewed by:spottedroo
photo

 
 
About spottedroostar
MA USA
Member since: 11/23/08
Reviews: 21 (patterns: 21)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/09 5:44 PM
Last Updated:7/30/09 9:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mc Donna said... (1/12/13 10:06 PM) Reply
You & your sister both look great &i like your changes.
Kayseri said... (7/31/09 6:28 PM) Reply
Lucky sister, she looks great in this dress.
marthamyers said... (7/31/09 8:37 AM) Reply
Great dress - especially the tie belt. Thanks for the review.
chrisquilts_2 said... (4/30/09 12:35 PM) Reply
great dress and read your blog. I do the "lab" thing too and anything works as long as I wear a sloppy enough sweater over it!
Christas said... (4/30/09 10:04 AM) Reply
I love this! SO cute!
becca a said... (4/30/09 7:36 AM) Reply
What a lovely, flattering dress. I recently bought this pattern and am planning to make it soon, so your review is timely and very helpful. Perhaps you need a smaller size on top--choose the size by the high bust measurement and adjust with an FBA if necessary. You can also pinfit the pattern and adjust where the darts point to/end as needed.
Lori V said... (4/29/09 9:52 PM) Reply
Very pretty dress, the color looks wonderful on you.
21wale said... (4/29/09 9:16 PM) Reply
Very nice. I too like the color combo.
MagpieJen said... (4/29/09 8:28 PM) Reply
This is a great dress! I love the colour combo too. If going down a size in the bodice doesn't work for the bust darts (and it might), I would be tempted to sew the sides and shoulders, leaving the darts. Have the dart line marked, put the dress on and just play with pinning the dart (putting the pins horizontally along the proposed stitching line, not perpendicular to it) different depths and heights til you have it looking good. Then I'd mark my new stitchline and baste it first, try it one again, then re-stitch for real if it's good. There may be formulas and "ways" to do this, but that's about the extend of my fitting skill :-) And yay! pockets!
EleanorSews said... (4/29/09 6:15 PM) Reply
This one is a winner! The color is lovely on you. I wonder if maybe the bodice is not a size too large for you so that if you went down a size and then adjusted for your bust and wasit, you might get the fit you want without distorting the pleats.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Contest Travel Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: MVi14

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2013-128B

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Pattern Details