Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4004 (Men's Shirt) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 828 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
Reviewed by:BrianSews
photo
About BrianSewsstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 2/16/08
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 84 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/09 7:17 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
The shirt looks fantastic. I love the pintucks.
4/29/09 7:29 PM
BrianSews said...
Thanks Nancy! I have to admit I've been watching Martha's Sewing Room and it's been influencing me.... all that heirloom sewing! will christening gowns be next?
4/29/09 7:33 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great shirt. I like all your extra details. This pattern is a trip down memory lane for me as I remember buying (and sewing) it when it first came out. :)
4/29/09 7:34 PM
Ariadne said...
clever!
4/29/09 7:35 PM
christea said...
reminds me of those traditional Mexican shirts for men (forget what they're called) except all jazzed up! Thanks for the close-ups of all the details.
4/29/09 7:36 PM
birdmcfarland said...
This is just stellar. I love the embroidery and pintucks. I've been wanting to try those but just haven't have the nerve. Outstanding work!!
4/29/09 7:53 PM
aminat said...
Fantastic shirt and looks so nice on you
4/29/09 8:00 PM
BrianSews said...
Do it! Pintucks are easy and fun (use your edge stitch foot), that goes double for the embroidery stitches. I sew on a 1950's machine so no excuses!
4/29/09 8:01 PM
MagpieJen said...
Holy smokes! Phenomenal shirt! The detailing you added looks fantastic. Very very cool.
4/29/09 8:02 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Yes, very clever. Using vintage sheet fabric, adding the tucks, and the swirly, decorative topstitching - in gray, no less - combine for a very cool look! I like your attention to detail!
4/29/09 8:07 PM
celind said...
Shirt is fabulous! I checked out the sheet stash photos and lo and behold, I HAD a set of those yellow/brown/green striped sheets! What a blast from the past!
4/29/09 8:24 PM
marec said...
That is just beautiful work. Thanks so much for sharing your process and your creativity.
4/29/09 9:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really lovely shirt and a fine effort. Well done.
4/29/09 9:57 PM
Twinset said...
Rocketboy, I really appreciate your creativity with those sheet shirts - all this embroidery and those tucks are really nice - not something I would have thought of doing so I admire people who have those kind of ideas! I especially like the pale blue shirt in your photo gallery. I don't know if you envision a career in fashion design, but maybe you should! :-)
4/29/09 10:58 PM
CynthiaSue said...
so talented you are........I wish I could sew like this for my hubby!
4/30/09 0:53 AM
Karen8320 said...
RocketBoy, this really is an amazing work of art! I would never have thought to use such an array of techniques to give a shirt an incredibly unique look. You have opened our eyes to the immense possibilities that exist when creating a garment. Very, very impressive work!
4/30/09 1:11 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Sheet Shirts. What a great idea. If Walmart's stops selling fabric, we can switch over to buying sheets for making some of our clothing. Will start looking at their sheets when I go in there, instead of just looking at their material. Thanks for the great idea.
4/30/09 1:48 AM
shesflipped said...
Exquisite! p.s. I'm lusting after your sheet stash! LOVE IT!
4/30/09 6:18 AM
Lynnelle said...
Your tailoring skills never cease to amaze me. Rock it, boy!
4/30/09 7:55 AM
cindyann said...
RocketBoy, thank you so much for all the detailed pictures. Fantastic take on a classic guyabera. I'm very impressed with all the wonderful details. Bravo!
4/30/09 8:10 AM
MarshaG. said...
You and your work are BEYOND amazing!
4/30/09 8:23 AM
cgHipp said...
Wow - this shirt is really a labor of love! It looks fantastic. Very inspiring!
4/30/09 8:36 AM
Darla in PA said...
Another fantastic shirt! I enjoy seeing what you create. Makes me want to sew for DH.
4/30/09 8:57 AM
marthamyers said...
Another great shirt, Rocketboy! I love all the details. You are an inspiration. I really may have to make a man's shirt after seeing and reading this. And the photography is wonderful too.
4/30/09 9:16 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This is gorgeous! I love love your french seam with embroidery, I believe secret details like this make the garment so special and personal, thanks for detailed photos.
4/30/09 9:37 AM
Kellie R. said...
Nice shirt!
4/30/09 10:02 AM
BrianSews said...
It's the details that count. In the beginning I think we try to duplicate the look of RTW and that's a good goal because it makes us try to create clothing we can actually wear. Now I find that I'm adding details and techniques that look "homemade" and hand crafted. I love my serger but I try to hide any serged seams on the insides of my garments. So while I try to make my clothes fit like designer RTW, I try to make them look like something you'll never find for sale in a store. Thanks everyone for the glowing reviews. I really appreciate the good energy and I always hope to inspire, if I can do it, anyone can.. and that's the honest truth.
4/30/09 10:10 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Fascinating use of tucks (on tucks ... under tucks) to manipulate fit, as well as style. And I'm particularly drawn to your goal of attaining a designer fit, while emphasizing some 'homemade' details. Original thought, unique result, quite bold and bespoke - very, very handsome. -Lily
4/30/09 10:45 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Your shirts look awesome, great job! I like the use of your decorative stitching.
4/30/09 10:57 AM
Kemish said...
It is always great to encounter someone, like you, who is truly inspired by the materials (pattern/fabric/techniques) and puts it all together into an outstanding project - and enjoys doing it. Your reviews are always excellent and you projects are inspiring - especially the bathing suits! Thank you for sharing here on PR.
4/30/09 11:07 AM
Mahler said...
Hoooo cooool shirt. I love all the details. Great sewing skills again. Again what a cleaver use of sheets. I like the fact that your personalize your garments and explore. We often do not dare to create and simply copy because we don't trust ourself. Your daring is again inspiring.
4/30/09 11:37 AM
Elona said...
That's a handsome, classic, well-cut shirt!
4/30/09 3:12 PM
Deepika said...
Wow, where are you finding these gorgeous bed sheets? I love the pintucks in this shirt. And as always, your review is a chock full of ideas and tips. I am adding it to my fav reviews.
4/30/09 4:58 PM
BrianSews said...
Check your local thrift shop for sheets, I stopped by today on my way home and found five ranging in price from $2.88 for fitted twin to $6.99 for a flat king. Flat sheets are by far the best deal fabric for dollar but even a twin fitted is plenty of fabric for one shirt. Today I even found a Turkish cotton queen. Stains, spots, and holes can usually be worked around. Sometimes the fitted sheets have a lot of color wear in the center. My favorite are the 50/50 cotton/poly where the previous owners have bleached them possibly hundreds of times and most of the cotton is eaten away leaving a wonderful sheer effect.
4/30/09 6:26 PM
carolynw said...
All your hard work sure paid off - this is wonderful - thanks for the idea of using sheets fo rshirts - quite often make my husband's cotton shirts and hate - just hate - the ironing that brings later
4/30/09 6:38 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
The shirt is fantastic, and I would love to have your talent and patience for details. The photos are also beautiful.
4/30/09 7:10 PM
fourkid said...
Wonderful shirt and fascinating review. I use sheet all the time for muslins - but I never thought of using them for shirts - I love that idea.
5/1/09 8:44 AM
Sickofitcindy said...
Love this shirt! It's a really nice unique piece.
5/1/09 11:10 AM
colourbynumber said...
I love the vintage sheet look! You have me thinking. The photography is great! and the shirt is amazing!
5/1/09 12:47 PM
maryfrana said...
I love clothes that are really works of art. This is exceptional. I too hate nonwoven fusible interfacing and I almost always use the knit kind. The details on this shirt are so carefully constructed and sewn. Amazing job! And the main photo is eye catching too.
5/1/09 10:23 PM
Athene said...
Great shirt. Love all the details. You are very inspirational!
5/2/09 11:50 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sky-rocketingly fabulous shirt!
5/3/09 4:29 PM
Cat MacGregor said...
Wonderful shirt!! I'm also loving the sheet stash!
5/3/09 6:02 PM
Raye Ann said...
your attention to detail is what sets your sewing/creating apart. thanks for the inspiration!
5/10/09 5:36 PM
Jules M. said...
Great review! You really do the footwork to come up with the best methods for you/your machine.
5/14/09 12:12 PM
Andys Mom said...
I also sew a lot of men's shirts. I just bought a ton of a good grade of white linen. It had a spot every now and then, but washed right out. Price was 60% so I took what was left. I like the pintuck idea to the give the shirt a distinct edge which I and my husband like. I think I will give this a try.
10/13/09 9:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-105
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 10/2/07
Read Review

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2599
photo
Review by BeulahBirt... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Checkbook Cover
Checkbook Cover

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The City Bag
The City Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1461 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1461 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us