SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4004 (Men's Shirt)

Viewed 831 times 
Reviewed by:BrianSews
photo

 
 
About BrianSewsstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 2/16/08
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/09 7:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
The shirt looks fantastic. I love the pintucks.
4/29/09 7:29 PM
BrianSews said...
Thanks Nancy! I have to admit I've been watching Martha's Sewing Room and it's been influencing me.... all that heirloom sewing! will christening gowns be next?
4/29/09 7:33 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great shirt. I like all your extra details. This pattern is a trip down memory lane for me as I remember buying (and sewing) it when it first came out. :)
4/29/09 7:34 PM
Ariadne said...
clever!
4/29/09 7:35 PM
christea said...
reminds me of those traditional Mexican shirts for men (forget what they're called) except all jazzed up! Thanks for the close-ups of all the details.
4/29/09 7:36 PM
birdmcfarland said...
This is just stellar. I love the embroidery and pintucks. I've been wanting to try those but just haven't have the nerve. Outstanding work!!
4/29/09 7:53 PM
aminat said...
Fantastic shirt and looks so nice on you
4/29/09 8:00 PM
BrianSews said...
Do it! Pintucks are easy and fun (use your edge stitch foot), that goes double for the embroidery stitches. I sew on a 1950's machine so no excuses!
4/29/09 8:01 PM
MagpieJen said...
Holy smokes! Phenomenal shirt! The detailing you added looks fantastic. Very very cool.
4/29/09 8:02 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Yes, very clever. Using vintage sheet fabric, adding the tucks, and the swirly, decorative topstitching - in gray, no less - combine for a very cool look! I like your attention to detail!
4/29/09 8:07 PM
celind said...
Shirt is fabulous! I checked out the sheet stash photos and lo and behold, I HAD a set of those yellow/brown/green striped sheets! What a blast from the past!
4/29/09 8:24 PM
marec said...
That is just beautiful work. Thanks so much for sharing your process and your creativity.
4/29/09 9:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really lovely shirt and a fine effort. Well done.
4/29/09 9:57 PM
Twinset said...
Rocketboy, I really appreciate your creativity with those sheet shirts - all this embroidery and those tucks are really nice - not something I would have thought of doing so I admire people who have those kind of ideas! I especially like the pale blue shirt in your photo gallery. I don't know if you envision a career in fashion design, but maybe you should! :-)
4/29/09 10:58 PM
CynthiaSue said...
so talented you are........I wish I could sew like this for my hubby!
4/30/09 0:53 AM
Karen8320 said...
RocketBoy, this really is an amazing work of art! I would never have thought to use such an array of techniques to give a shirt an incredibly unique look. You have opened our eyes to the immense possibilities that exist when creating a garment. Very, very impressive work!
4/30/09 1:11 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Sheet Shirts. What a great idea. If Walmart's stops selling fabric, we can switch over to buying sheets for making some of our clothing. Will start looking at their sheets when I go in there, instead of just looking at their material. Thanks for the great idea.
4/30/09 1:48 AM
shesflipped said...
Exquisite! p.s. I'm lusting after your sheet stash! LOVE IT!
4/30/09 6:18 AM
Lynnelle said...
Your tailoring skills never cease to amaze me. Rock it, boy!
4/30/09 7:55 AM
cindyann said...
RocketBoy, thank you so much for all the detailed pictures. Fantastic take on a classic guyabera. I'm very impressed with all the wonderful details. Bravo!
4/30/09 8:10 AM
MarshaG. said...
You and your work are BEYOND amazing!
4/30/09 8:23 AM
cgHipp said...
Wow - this shirt is really a labor of love! It looks fantastic. Very inspiring!
4/30/09 8:36 AM
Darla in PA said...
Another fantastic shirt! I enjoy seeing what you create. Makes me want to sew for DH.
4/30/09 8:57 AM
marthamyers said...
Another great shirt, Rocketboy! I love all the details. You are an inspiration. I really may have to make a man's shirt after seeing and reading this. And the photography is wonderful too.
4/30/09 9:16 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This is gorgeous! I love love your french seam with embroidery, I believe secret details like this make the garment so special and personal, thanks for detailed photos.
4/30/09 9:37 AM
Kellie R. said...
Nice shirt!
4/30/09 10:02 AM
BrianSews said...
It's the details that count. In the beginning I think we try to duplicate the look of RTW and that's a good goal because it makes us try to create clothing we can actually wear. Now I find that I'm adding details and techniques that look "homemade" and hand crafted. I love my serger but I try to hide any serged seams on the insides of my garments. So while I try to make my clothes fit like designer RTW, I try to make them look like something you'll never find for sale in a store. Thanks everyone for the glowing reviews. I really appreciate the good energy and I always hope to inspire, if I can do it, anyone can.. and that's the honest truth.
4/30/09 10:10 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Fascinating use of tucks (on tucks ... under tucks) to manipulate fit, as well as style. And I'm particularly drawn to your goal of attaining a designer fit, while emphasizing some 'homemade' details. Original thought, unique result, quite bold and bespoke - very, very handsome. -Lily
4/30/09 10:45 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Your shirts look awesome, great job! I like the use of your decorative stitching.
4/30/09 10:57 AM
Kemish said...
It is always great to encounter someone, like you, who is truly inspired by the materials (pattern/fabric/techniques) and puts it all together into an outstanding project - and enjoys doing it. Your reviews are always excellent and you projects are inspiring - especially the bathing suits! Thank you for sharing here on PR.
4/30/09 11:07 AM
Mahler said...
Hoooo cooool shirt. I love all the details. Great sewing skills again. Again what a cleaver use of sheets. I like the fact that your personalize your garments and explore. We often do not dare to create and simply copy because we don't trust ourself. Your daring is again inspiring.
4/30/09 11:37 AM
Elona said...
That's a handsome, classic, well-cut shirt!
4/30/09 3:12 PM
Deepika said...
Wow, where are you finding these gorgeous bed sheets? I love the pintucks in this shirt. And as always, your review is a chock full of ideas and tips. I am adding it to my fav reviews.
4/30/09 4:58 PM
BrianSews said...
Check your local thrift shop for sheets, I stopped by today on my way home and found five ranging in price from $2.88 for fitted twin to $6.99 for a flat king. Flat sheets are by far the best deal fabric for dollar but even a twin fitted is plenty of fabric for one shirt. Today I even found a Turkish cotton queen. Stains, spots, and holes can usually be worked around. Sometimes the fitted sheets have a lot of color wear in the center. My favorite are the 50/50 cotton/poly where the previous owners have bleached them possibly hundreds of times and most of the cotton is eaten away leaving a wonderful sheer effect.
4/30/09 6:26 PM
carolynw said...
All your hard work sure paid off - this is wonderful - thanks for the idea of using sheets fo rshirts - quite often make my husband's cotton shirts and hate - just hate - the ironing that brings later
4/30/09 6:38 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
The shirt is fantastic, and I would love to have your talent and patience for details. The photos are also beautiful.
4/30/09 7:10 PM
fourkid said...
Wonderful shirt and fascinating review. I use sheet all the time for muslins - but I never thought of using them for shirts - I love that idea.
5/1/09 8:44 AM
Sickofitcindy said...
Love this shirt! It's a really nice unique piece.
5/1/09 11:10 AM
colourbynumber said...
I love the vintage sheet look! You have me thinking. The photography is great! and the shirt is amazing!
5/1/09 12:47 PM
maryfrana said...
I love clothes that are really works of art. This is exceptional. I too hate nonwoven fusible interfacing and I almost always use the knit kind. The details on this shirt are so carefully constructed and sewn. Amazing job! And the main photo is eye catching too.
5/1/09 10:23 PM
Athene said...
Great shirt. Love all the details. You are very inspirational!
5/2/09 11:50 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sky-rocketingly fabulous shirt!
5/3/09 4:29 PM
Cat MacGregor said...
Wonderful shirt!! I'm also loving the sheet stash!
5/3/09 6:02 PM
Raye Ann said...
your attention to detail is what sets your sewing/creating apart. thanks for the inspiration!
5/10/09 5:36 PM
Jules M. said...
Great review! You really do the footwork to come up with the best methods for you/your machine.
5/14/09 12:12 PM
Andys Mom said...
I also sew a lot of men's shirts. I just bought a ton of a good grade of white linen. It had a spot every now and then, but washed right out. Price was 60% so I took what was left. I like the pintuck idea to the give the shirt a distinct edge which I and my husband like. I think I will give this a try.
10/13/09 9:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable BurdaStyle Handbook Skirt

photo
by: mollymolly

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now