SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3822 vintage 

Viewed 405 times 
Reviewed by:maryfrana
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About maryfranastarstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/20/04
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/09 11:14 AM
Last Updated:5/1/09 1:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda at Living Water said...
That is a gorgeous pattern and I love the fabric you chose. Beautiful dress.
6/18/09 2:17 PM
Athene said...
What a fabulous dress. You look lovely in it. The style is timeless - definitely just as lovely today as it was over 50 years ago.
5/9/09 0:26 AM
Secretsugar said...
Oooh, I love the ruffle details, too, and totally missed them in the full-length photo. Thanks for the tip about the bias binding and snaps alternative to a zipper. Considering I have several vintage dresses that use this method instead of a side zipper, I should really add this to my repertoire!
5/2/09 9:54 PM
nancy2001 said...
Mary, your dress is lovely, feminine and flattering. Beautifully done.
5/2/09 12:13 PM
moushka said...
The collar alone is to die for, but the whole package is indescribably elegant. A design worthy of Adrian himself! I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it for a long time. Sue
5/2/09 11:03 AM
Renren said...
Beautiful, and DEFINITELY with pearls.
5/2/09 7:49 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
This is a beautiful dress ! And it looks great with the accessories you paired it with.
5/2/09 7:48 AM
BrianSews said...
Yes yes YES! I love it. If you had taken the photo on a hanger I wouldn't have clicked this review but you and your gloves caught my eye big time. It no wonder catalogs show clothes on models with props and not hangers and racks. You're raising the bar... Vintage pattern gets an A+
5/1/09 9:33 PM
Heatherrique said...
Tres elegant, a la Grace Kelly!!
5/1/09 8:26 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress - looks A1 plus and plus on you - great job - great review
5/1/09 8:21 PM
aunt saidee said...
Oh my! This is TOO fabulous: I love it! You know I am crazy about this fabric--love, love, love what you did with it. A stunning pattern, beautifully made, as usual. BRAVA. The photos are perfect: love the gloves, white sandals, and dark glasses!
5/1/09 7:56 PM
washer_woman said...
What a classy dress! Thanks for the great review!
5/1/09 6:47 PM
Barbara V said...
You look lovely in your beautiful dress. It is indeed very feminine.
5/1/09 6:16 PM
MagpieJen said...
Be still my heart - you're wearing gloves too!! Marvelous! Beautifully done!
5/1/09 5:52 PM
persevering said...
So pretty! Thanks for your review.
5/1/09 5:22 PM
Christas said...
How cute!
5/1/09 4:31 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a beautiful dress! You look great in it! And I love your pic! Your pic for vintage always looks so dramatic, like a still shot from a movie. I always look forward to seeing your pics!
5/1/09 3:24 PM
Kellie R. said...
Mary, your dress turned out beautiful! I adore the sleeve detailing - you don't see that any more and it's so pretty and feminine. You look lovely! Enjoy wearing it on science night!
5/1/09 3:23 PM
EleanorSews said...
Such a lovely dress! Belongs with those gloves, too.
5/1/09 3:13 PM
eugenia123 said...
What an elegant dress. You've done a fantastic job.
5/1/09 1:36 PM
pfaffkj said...
That is one marvelous dress! You look great in. And yes, pearls are a must!!
5/1/09 1:33 PM
nancy2001 said...
Mary, I can't wait to see the photos. I'm sure your dress is lovely.
4/30/09 5:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Butterick 4609

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Simplicity 2767

photo
by: sewnotwork

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now