Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3822 vintage - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 405 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:maryfrana
photo
Friend of PR
About maryfranastarstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/20/04
Reviews written: 93
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/09 11:14 AM
Last Updated:5/1/09 1:18 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
Mary, I can't wait to see the photos. I'm sure your dress is lovely.
4/30/09 5:37 PM
pfaffkj said...
That is one marvelous dress! You look great in. And yes, pearls are a must!!
5/1/09 1:33 PM
eugenia123 said...
What an elegant dress. You've done a fantastic job.
5/1/09 1:36 PM
EleanorSews said...
Such a lovely dress! Belongs with those gloves, too.
5/1/09 3:13 PM
Kellie R. said...
Mary, your dress turned out beautiful! I adore the sleeve detailing - you don't see that any more and it's so pretty and feminine. You look lovely! Enjoy wearing it on science night!
5/1/09 3:23 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a beautiful dress! You look great in it! And I love your pic! Your pic for vintage always looks so dramatic, like a still shot from a movie. I always look forward to seeing your pics!
5/1/09 3:24 PM
Christas said...
How cute!
5/1/09 4:31 PM
persevering said...
So pretty! Thanks for your review.
5/1/09 5:22 PM
MagpieJen said...
Be still my heart - you're wearing gloves too!! Marvelous! Beautifully done!
5/1/09 5:52 PM
Barbara V said...
You look lovely in your beautiful dress. It is indeed very feminine.
5/1/09 6:16 PM
washer_woman said...
What a classy dress! Thanks for the great review!
5/1/09 6:47 PM
aunt saidee said...
Oh my! This is TOO fabulous: I love it! You know I am crazy about this fabric--love, love, love what you did with it. A stunning pattern, beautifully made, as usual. BRAVA. The photos are perfect: love the gloves, white sandals, and dark glasses!
5/1/09 7:56 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress - looks A1 plus and plus on you - great job - great review
5/1/09 8:21 PM
Heatherrique said...
Tres elegant, a la Grace Kelly!!
5/1/09 8:26 PM
BrianSews said...
Yes yes YES! I love it. If you had taken the photo on a hanger I wouldn't have clicked this review but you and your gloves caught my eye big time. It no wonder catalogs show clothes on models with props and not hangers and racks. You're raising the bar... Vintage pattern gets an A+
5/1/09 9:33 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
This is a beautiful dress ! And it looks great with the accessories you paired it with.
5/2/09 7:48 AM
Renren said...
Beautiful, and DEFINITELY with pearls.
5/2/09 7:49 AM
moushka said...
The collar alone is to die for, but the whole package is indescribably elegant. A design worthy of Adrian himself! I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it for a long time. Sue
5/2/09 11:03 AM
nancy2001 said...
Mary, your dress is lovely, feminine and flattering. Beautifully done.
5/2/09 12:13 PM
Secretsugar said...
Oooh, I love the ruffle details, too, and totally missed them in the full-length photo. Thanks for the tip about the bias binding and snaps alternative to a zipper. Considering I have several vintage dresses that use this method instead of a side zipper, I should really add this to my repertoire!
5/2/09 9:54 PM
Athene said...
What a fabulous dress. You look lovely in it. The style is timeless - definitely just as lovely today as it was over 50 years ago.
5/9/09 0:26 AM
Rhonda at Living Water said...
That is a gorgeous pattern and I love the fabric you chose. Beautiful dress.
6/18/09 2:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 3881
photo
Review by colourbynu... on 5/11/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3503
photo
Review by Ejegmama on 8/25/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1478 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1478 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5181 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5181 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us