SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2009-102 (Empire Waist Knit Dress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 585 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/09 10:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
That is really cute on you!
4/30/09 10:33 AM
Renren said...
"I needed to tone down the pleat area a little bit so I put a butterfly pin that is about the same color as the midriff over the pleats, which you can see here, and it's perfect." I can't see it "here," because "here" is private. Thanks for the detailed review. I understood what you did with the lining and bodice, the sewing and the neckline and the turning. Then I got lost when you trimmed the lower and armscye edge, but that's not you--that's me. When I read your reviews I learn a little more, and finally . . . maybe I'll get the Big Picture. Nice dress, nicegirl.
4/30/09 10:39 AM
nicegirl said...
Sorry about the Renren, I've fixed the link. The pin is not so evident in the regular size flickr photo so I tried to link to a larger size--apparently I'm the only one who can see the larger sizes!
4/30/09 10:59 AM
Amy-may said...
I'm so glad you made this up. I keep coming back to it, but haven't quite committed. With your stunning success, I'll start tracing!
4/30/09 11:02 AM
CynthiaSue said...
QUOTE: "Perhaps if I lay down on a paint covered floor and draped a scarf strategically over myself to hide the dress it would look like the photo. I haven't tried. It does look like the line drawing." That is HILARIOUS Nicegirl!! so true! I had overlooked this dress because it wasn't shown!! now i totally want to make it! your version is adorable.
4/30/09 11:41 AM
MagpieJen said...
What a lively, fun dress! Excellent job on this!
4/30/09 11:44 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
So excited to see your review, as I just traced off and altered this pattern for my niece. I hope the version I make for her is as cute as yours!!
4/30/09 12:32 PM
Linda G said...
Very cute dress, I have looked at this pattern and really like it, I would have to find a 3/4 length sleeve pattern, as I think the style of sleeve is too young looking for me. I will refer to your review on the neckline and top lining if I get around to making the pattern. I really like the butterfly pin. Thanks for the review.
4/30/09 12:56 PM
michellep74 said...
This is really, really cute. I don't even remember this dress from the magazine, but this looks like a great office casual summer dress. Your review had me cracking up, too!
4/30/09 1:04 PM
Christas said...
I loved this one in the magazine. SO nice to see your version made up. It looks fantastic!
4/30/09 1:51 PM
Elke said...
This is a very cute dress and it looks great on you!
4/30/09 1:52 PM
Nancy K said...
LOL Yes you are still your usual quirky self in a very flattering way. Great dress.
4/30/09 2:21 PM
bconky said...
It's so cute. Love the fold over on the front. Love the fabric. It's a winner.
4/30/09 2:37 PM
Karen6790 said...
Hair, scarf, paint-spattered floor - the only thing BWOF missed in obscuring this dress was a big clunky purse. It's great to see what a good pattern this actually is, much better on you than in the magazine. Love your colors, of course.
4/30/09 2:57 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very fun dress! I want to make this one as well. Thanks for your informative review.
4/30/09 3:09 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very nice dress. A great review as well.
4/30/09 3:43 PM
becca a said...
I love your dress. This is a fun and flattering look. I am inspired to try this pattern.
4/30/09 6:25 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress, you look great.
4/30/09 6:27 PM
kerrynw said...
Very cute dress!
5/1/09 1:39 AM
Kelly D. said...
Love your dig about the photo in the magazine. This is my biggest beef with BWOF. You can rarely see what the garments actually look like with all the distractions, accessories and crazy poses. Thank goodness they have accurate line drawings! Great review and dress!
5/1/09 10:01 AM
eugenia123 said...
Gorgeous dress and thanks for great review.
5/1/09 11:16 AM
Heatherrique said...
Grooooooooovy-licious!
5/3/09 4:11 PM
Deepika said...
Great review, lovely dress and thanks for the tip on omitting the zipper. I am so making this.
6/25/09 11:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Butterick 5145

photo
by: guineveres...

Review
McCall's 5992

photo
by: marthamyer...

Review

Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now