Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2009-102 (Empire Waist Knit Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 584 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/09 10:02 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
That is really cute on you!
4/30/09 10:33 AM
Renren said...
"I needed to tone down the pleat area a little bit so I put a butterfly pin that is about the same color as the midriff over the pleats, which you can see here, and it's perfect." I can't see it "here," because "here" is private. Thanks for the detailed review. I understood what you did with the lining and bodice, the sewing and the neckline and the turning. Then I got lost when you trimmed the lower and armscye edge, but that's not you--that's me. When I read your reviews I learn a little more, and finally . . . maybe I'll get the Big Picture. Nice dress, nicegirl.
4/30/09 10:39 AM
nicegirl said...
Sorry about the Renren, I've fixed the link. The pin is not so evident in the regular size flickr photo so I tried to link to a larger size--apparently I'm the only one who can see the larger sizes!
4/30/09 10:59 AM
Amy-may said...
I'm so glad you made this up. I keep coming back to it, but haven't quite committed. With your stunning success, I'll start tracing!
4/30/09 11:02 AM
CynthiaSue said...
QUOTE: "Perhaps if I lay down on a paint covered floor and draped a scarf strategically over myself to hide the dress it would look like the photo. I haven't tried. It does look like the line drawing." That is HILARIOUS Nicegirl!! so true! I had overlooked this dress because it wasn't shown!! now i totally want to make it! your version is adorable.
4/30/09 11:41 AM
MagpieJen said...
What a lively, fun dress! Excellent job on this!
4/30/09 11:44 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
So excited to see your review, as I just traced off and altered this pattern for my niece. I hope the version I make for her is as cute as yours!!
4/30/09 12:32 PM
Linda G said...
Very cute dress, I have looked at this pattern and really like it, I would have to find a 3/4 length sleeve pattern, as I think the style of sleeve is too young looking for me. I will refer to your review on the neckline and top lining if I get around to making the pattern. I really like the butterfly pin. Thanks for the review.
4/30/09 12:56 PM
michellep74 said...
This is really, really cute. I don't even remember this dress from the magazine, but this looks like a great office casual summer dress. Your review had me cracking up, too!
4/30/09 1:04 PM
Christas said...
I loved this one in the magazine. SO nice to see your version made up. It looks fantastic!
4/30/09 1:51 PM
Elke said...
This is a very cute dress and it looks great on you!
4/30/09 1:52 PM
Nancy K said...
LOL Yes you are still your usual quirky self in a very flattering way. Great dress.
4/30/09 2:21 PM
bconky said...
It's so cute. Love the fold over on the front. Love the fabric. It's a winner.
4/30/09 2:37 PM
Karen6790 said...
Hair, scarf, paint-spattered floor - the only thing BWOF missed in obscuring this dress was a big clunky purse. It's great to see what a good pattern this actually is, much better on you than in the magazine. Love your colors, of course.
4/30/09 2:57 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very fun dress! I want to make this one as well. Thanks for your informative review.
4/30/09 3:09 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very nice dress. A great review as well.
4/30/09 3:43 PM
becca a said...
I love your dress. This is a fun and flattering look. I am inspired to try this pattern.
4/30/09 6:25 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress, you look great.
4/30/09 6:27 PM
kerrynw said...
Very cute dress!
5/1/09 1:39 AM
Kelly D. said...
Love your dig about the photo in the magazine. This is my biggest beef with BWOF. You can rarely see what the garments actually look like with all the distractions, accessories and crazy poses. Thank goodness they have accurate line drawings! Great review and dress!
5/1/09 10:01 AM
eugenia123 said...
Gorgeous dress and thanks for great review.
5/1/09 11:16 AM
Heatherrique said...
Grooooooooovy-licious!
5/3/09 4:11 PM
Deepika said...
Great review, lovely dress and thanks for the tip on omitting the zipper. I am so making this.
6/25/09 11:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

McCall's 8026
photo
Review by Peter in N... on 7/7/10
Read Review

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 001
photo
Review by Karen6790 on 1/15/09
Read Review

Vogue 8795 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8795 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5214 Pattern ( Size SML-XLG )
McCalls 5214 Pattern ( Size SML-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us