SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2009-102 (Empire Waist Knit Dress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 585 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/09 10:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Great review, lovely dress and thanks for the tip on omitting the zipper. I am so making this.
6/25/09 11:00 AM
Heatherrique said...
Grooooooooovy-licious!
5/3/09 4:11 PM
eugenia123 said...
Gorgeous dress and thanks for great review.
5/1/09 11:16 AM
Kelly D. said...
Love your dig about the photo in the magazine. This is my biggest beef with BWOF. You can rarely see what the garments actually look like with all the distractions, accessories and crazy poses. Thank goodness they have accurate line drawings! Great review and dress!
5/1/09 10:01 AM
kerrynw said...
Very cute dress!
5/1/09 1:39 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress, you look great.
4/30/09 6:27 PM
becca a said...
I love your dress. This is a fun and flattering look. I am inspired to try this pattern.
4/30/09 6:25 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very nice dress. A great review as well.
4/30/09 3:43 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very fun dress! I want to make this one as well. Thanks for your informative review.
4/30/09 3:09 PM
Karen6790 said...
Hair, scarf, paint-spattered floor - the only thing BWOF missed in obscuring this dress was a big clunky purse. It's great to see what a good pattern this actually is, much better on you than in the magazine. Love your colors, of course.
4/30/09 2:57 PM
bconky said...
It's so cute. Love the fold over on the front. Love the fabric. It's a winner.
4/30/09 2:37 PM
Nancy K said...
LOL Yes you are still your usual quirky self in a very flattering way. Great dress.
4/30/09 2:21 PM
Elke said...
This is a very cute dress and it looks great on you!
4/30/09 1:52 PM
Christas said...
I loved this one in the magazine. SO nice to see your version made up. It looks fantastic!
4/30/09 1:51 PM
michellep74 said...
This is really, really cute. I don't even remember this dress from the magazine, but this looks like a great office casual summer dress. Your review had me cracking up, too!
4/30/09 1:04 PM
Linda G said...
Very cute dress, I have looked at this pattern and really like it, I would have to find a 3/4 length sleeve pattern, as I think the style of sleeve is too young looking for me. I will refer to your review on the neckline and top lining if I get around to making the pattern. I really like the butterfly pin. Thanks for the review.
4/30/09 12:56 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
So excited to see your review, as I just traced off and altered this pattern for my niece. I hope the version I make for her is as cute as yours!!
4/30/09 12:32 PM
MagpieJen said...
What a lively, fun dress! Excellent job on this!
4/30/09 11:44 AM
CynthiaSue said...
QUOTE: "Perhaps if I lay down on a paint covered floor and draped a scarf strategically over myself to hide the dress it would look like the photo. I haven't tried. It does look like the line drawing." That is HILARIOUS Nicegirl!! so true! I had overlooked this dress because it wasn't shown!! now i totally want to make it! your version is adorable.
4/30/09 11:41 AM
Amy-may said...
I'm so glad you made this up. I keep coming back to it, but haven't quite committed. With your stunning success, I'll start tracing!
4/30/09 11:02 AM
nicegirl said...
Sorry about the Renren, I've fixed the link. The pin is not so evident in the regular size flickr photo so I tried to link to a larger size--apparently I'm the only one who can see the larger sizes!
4/30/09 10:59 AM
Renren said...
"I needed to tone down the pleat area a little bit so I put a butterfly pin that is about the same color as the midriff over the pleats, which you can see here, and it's perfect." I can't see it "here," because "here" is private. Thanks for the detailed review. I understood what you did with the lining and bodice, the sewing and the neckline and the turning. Then I got lost when you trimmed the lower and armscye edge, but that's not you--that's me. When I read your reviews I learn a little more, and finally . . . maybe I'll get the Big Picture. Nice dress, nicegirl.
4/30/09 10:39 AM
Re Becca said...
That is really cute on you!
4/30/09 10:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Stretch & Sew 305

photo
by: thegreenvi...

Review
Simplicity 2145

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now