SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2006-121 

1 more reviews
Viewed 452 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 229
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/09 3:34 PM
Last Updated:5/11/09 0:01 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
eugenia123 said...
I think this jacket/blouse style is really nice and I think you should give that print a chance to grow on you because it looks great! Thanks for the helpful tip about working out button size.
5/2/09 4:43 PM
Renren said...
I like the way it looks. Maybe because it feels like a jacket to you, you could wear it as a light jacket over a cami or shell? I do like the way it looks and I do like the fabric. You sew many beautiful things, so if once in a blue moon you are less than pleased with what you sew, you are still well ahead of the game! Good luck on deciding what to do with the white burnout fabric.
5/2/09 9:45 PM
RuthieSews said...
What about making it into a short sleeved blouse? If you can bear it, swapping out the long sleeves for short puffed sleeves with a band could be cute. great fit btw
5/3/09 6:01 AM
cleverkitty said...
I think Renren is right, wear it as a jacket with a cami oh dear I never depended on the pattern telling me what buttons to use, I should after reading your review.
5/3/09 9:34 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Well.. I kind of have to agree about the print, which doesn't do much for you. It's the white background I think, very blah for your coloring. But I like the fit of this very much, including I'm afraid the higher neck. I second renren about trying it as a light spring jacket?
5/3/09 10:07 AM
marthamyers said...
I think it is very charming on you. A sash belt might be interesting with it, but I think it is a lovely blouse on you, as is. I was interested in your take on the shoulders-to-bust adjustment. Nancy Zieman and Cynthia Guffey are big on going with the shoulder measurement and adjusting the bust (easier than shoulder adjustment), but you were not overly pleased with this result. I've had mixed results with this transition myself. Though, as I say, I think it looks great!
5/3/09 5:14 PM
Bonnie K said...
Another thought is that the length of the sleeves is the same as the length of the blouse... giving you a visual horizontal line. Shortening the sleeves or wearing open with a tank might help you like the proportions more. Just a thought.
5/3/09 10:06 PM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for all of your comments on this. I am putting it aside for now, but I think I will cut off the neckband and lower the neckline. I will also cut off the sleevebands to shorten the sleeves. I am happy with the fit on this, just not the proportions/style. I'll repost after I make this over. Thanks for looking at my review.
5/3/09 10:10 PM
Marji said...
At first I thought "What doesn't she like about this?", but then after looking at it, I realize that although your fit is good and the style is ok, it just isn't your best look. I think it accentuates the narrowness of your shoulders, so I'm really happy for you that you've saved your white burnout for something else. Nice job though.
5/4/09 8:35 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
I really like what you did with it. It looks really nice on you with the v neckline and the short sleeves.
5/11/09 0:07 AM
RLL said...
This version is much more youthful looking, you just look overall happier in it. The original was matronly and you looked uncomfortable. Great save!
5/11/09 12:23 PM
Judy Wentz said...
You did a great revamp. Congratulations. In looking at your original, it is amazing how just opening up the neckline made your shoulders look less narrow. It is so flattering now. jw
5/11/09 12:55 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your second version looks better than you think--it's a very pretty blouse!
5/11/09 1:37 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great save!
5/11/09 1:43 PM
Heatherrique said...
Actually you new version is ultra chic! I thought your original version is not that bad as you thought. You can wear anything and still look great. Thanks for sharing your modifications. Wear it out of the house, Nancy! Honestly, you look lovely in it!
5/11/09 3:53 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
I think your restyling is great! It is very interesting to see what opening the neck did. Also, adding some contrast to the very pale fabric breathed life into it! Well Done.
5/11/09 4:29 PM
cleverkitty said...
I love it!!! really great make-over.
5/11/09 11:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 1312

photo
by: beanchor

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1027

photo
by: Jgpea

Review