Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Decades of Style: 3008 (1930s Sweetheart Overalls) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 820 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/09 3:21 PM
Last Updated:5/8/09 6:48 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
REALLY cute, feminine!! ENJOY!!
5/8/09 3:32 PM
chacha45 said...
Extra-cute!
5/8/09 4:17 PM
Christas said...
These are really cute! They might also look nice in a cropped capri length.
5/8/09 4:35 PM
mollyshark said...
Do you have any other pictures of this? The style seems fabulous!
5/8/09 4:36 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very cute, stylish, and distinctive. The style has a way of lengthening your body, making you look at least 5'2".
5/8/09 4:46 PM
nancy2001 said...
Very elegant overalls.
5/8/09 5:39 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I am ORDERING this pattern. These are just SO STINKIN' CUTE! Your fabric choice is perfect. They FIT just EXACTLY right. So STYLISH and COMFORTABLE. I LOVE them!
5/8/09 6:22 PM
FreyaStark said...
They're fabulous. Could you show us a back view?
5/8/09 6:42 PM
michellep74 said...
Love these--they look great on you!
5/8/09 6:49 PM
Kay Y said...
Extremely cute! Great fit too.
5/8/09 7:25 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Wow! These are a great mix between adorable and chic. The fit is outstanding. You look fantastic and distinctive.
5/8/09 7:33 PM
persevering said...
Adorable!
5/8/09 7:55 PM
Catbird said...
Wow, I REALLY like these! First of all the fit is exceptional and the fabric couldn't be more perfect for the style. They have such an intoxicating blend of retro style with modern sensibility. You look completely fabulous! I wonder how they would look with a knit T-shirt underneath, because I couldn't possibly pull off this look with the same panache you do.
5/8/09 8:23 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great overalls. It feels like forever since you wrote a review. (Although I just noticed I missed your last review which was recent). Anyway, welcome back. :)
5/8/09 8:35 PM
Schnauzer said...
I love them too. Very nice!
5/8/09 8:49 PM
drsue said...
Thank you for all the nice comments. It would be quite easy to wear this with a tee shirt under it. I've been wearing it today as is, w/o a bra. It is very hot here today, and I was stuck in the sun this afternoon but I was very comfortable in this.
5/8/09 8:58 PM
Berniejh said...
They look fabulous. You have a back that is worth showing off!
5/8/09 9:29 PM
Nancy K said...
Gorgeous! I love the washed linen look too.
5/8/09 10:36 PM
Raye Ann said...
this is so completely fantastic on you! idon't know if i could pull it off like you can. my body is exactly opposite- small hips/legs, broader shoulders and big bust... i had something almost exactly like this in high school and have always grieved for its loss... i will look for any other reviews that may have my body style before buying the pattern, but i love this! great job!
5/9/09 0:25 AM
Caitycat said...
Lovely!
5/9/09 1:16 AM
calminatrix said...
whoa now girlfriend, you are too hot in this adorable outfit! LOVE LOVE LOVE DOS and have three of their patterns but i'm afraid to delve in. wish i could sew like sue. i'm just starting to learn fit (and i'm 47, EEEKKKK) so i want to save dos patterns for when i'm a little more experienced. congrats on a beautiful job!!!
5/9/09 7:18 AM
DorothyK said...
Perfect fit. Looks wonderful on you.
5/9/09 9:11 AM
cindyann said...
That is perfect on you!
5/9/09 9:52 AM
Barbara V said...
Fabuous fabric, cute style and you look great in these.
5/9/09 10:04 AM
Izzie said...
Absolutely adorable!
5/9/09 12:01 PM
QuickFade said...
Absolutely adorable. I'm trying to figure out how to make this so a bra can be worn with it. I'm busty and need a bra to be decent. This would be great for the hot Texas summers if I could rig it to be worn with a bra. Seems like the straps could be cut so that they would come straight down on the back and connect to a strap that went across the back, covering bra straps. Or, they could be sewn to or part of that strap that goes across the back and then just button/Velcro in the center back.
5/9/09 1:57 PM
MagpieJen said...
I'm glad this review turned up again because I missed it the first time. I've often wondered about how this pattern would look - and it looks FANTASTIC - thanks so much for posting this.
5/9/09 1:58 PM
QuickFade said...
Absolutely adorable. I'm trying to figure out how to make this so a bra can be worn with it. I'm busy and need a bra to be decent. This would be great for the hot Texas summers if I could rig it to be worn with a bra.
5/9/09 2:09 PM
cleandirty said...
Love it, happy to see this made up! You've convinced me to give in and buy this pattern. :-)
5/9/09 2:17 PM
drsue said...
Thanks for all the nice comments. I should emphasize that is pattern is actually very easy to make. Only one area mentioned above is slightly confusing. I found it fit fabulous with minimal alterations. I would suspect if you are pear shaped like me you would also not need many if any alterations. You probably could sew a bra into it, via using the lining as the base for your bra. I would tend to think this might be difficult, but I suspect those who are well endowed sewers would be familiar with how to make such a thing.
5/9/09 2:53 PM
QuantumLobster said...
These are SOOO cute! They fit you spectactularly.
5/11/09 8:45 AM
3HoursPast said...
Ooooooooooooooh how fantastic. Thank you thank you thank you. It is just lovely, so charming. This pattern has been haunting me for weeks, you tipped the balance in its favour. This will be the perfect thing to wear for farm weekends and summertime rough work, the sorts of things my vintage dresses shrink and run screaming from. You look just darling in it, but still like a well dressed lady. I think the bra issue could be solved by simply building a bra into the top. Bravo.
11/10/09 10:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Stretch & Sew 1560 Dress
photo
Review by MelC on 2/29/08
Read Review

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Designs 5010 Tango Skirt
photo
Review by NancyDaQ on 6/25/06
Read Review

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7069 Pattern
Burda 7069 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4722 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Butterick 4722 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us