SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8548 

1 more reviews
Viewed 1150 times 
Reviewed by:eodwif
photo

 
 
About eodwif
UT USA
Member since: 7/30/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/6/03 10:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
eodwif, Congratulations on your first review. You don't know what you got yourself into ;-) Before you know it, you'll be writing your 100th review soon ;-) Its very addictive. I love your shirt! When I saw that photo I couldn't believe how well it fits you. And thanks for such a helpful review also. I must add this pattern to my evergrowing wish list :) Thanks!
12/6/03 10:09 PM
Chandra said...
The shirt fits great! I can't wait until I am skilled enough to make one like that...
12/6/03 10:28 PM
CatherineN said...
An attractive shirt you have made. It looks good on you. Is the front cut on the bias?
12/7/03 0:48 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
What a cute kid! And nice shirt too :)
12/7/03 3:50 AM
CarolynGM said...
Lovely shirt, Eodwif. I made a similar Burda pattern a few months ago that I just love. Like you, I found that the sizing ran large. And like you, I had to read the instructions several times to comprehend: some of the techniques were a little out of the ordinary. Love the way you did the front!
12/7/03 4:37 AM
eleda said...
eodwif, your shirt is very stylish and it fits great. I'm going to have to buy this pattern.
12/7/03 7:01 AM
jlg said...
Very pretty and becoming shirt. I like the fabric choice. Congrats on your first review.
12/7/03 7:49 AM
JDpenelope said...
You figured it all out really well! Looks so good--on you AND your friend. Nice details.
12/7/03 7:55 AM
BorderCollieMom said...
Great job! This pattern is in my stash..gee, what have I been missing?!
12/7/03 7:58 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Your shirt looks so good! I love these type shirts, and plan to make some soon. I found some opaque stretch shirting in NYC at B and J, as well as other just scrumptous shirtitngs I am still lusting after!
12/7/03 8:28 AM
eodwif said...
CatherineN, yes it is cut on the bias. :)
12/7/03 9:49 AM
eodwif said...
Thank you all for such supportive comments! I am so excited to be a part of this community and your response has been even more exciting. Thanks everyone!
12/7/03 9:50 AM
Diane E said...
Eodwif, what a wonderful shirt and darling child, too. Thanks for writing the review and I hope you write many more! I love the bias cut - makes the fabric interesting and you did a great job of lining up the chevron.
12/7/03 10:29 AM
Hilary said...
Its hard to believe you've never sewn a shirt like this before! You did a beautiful job, I think I'll have to add this to my wish list also! Thanks for the review(I like the bias cut too!)
12/7/03 2:21 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent first job on your review and what a great shirt. I am truly impressed. Impressed enough that I might add this pattern to my wish list.
12/7/03 4:11 PM
drsue said...
fabulous job. Can't believe you never made a shirt like this before.
12/7/03 6:23 PM
Lizzy said...
Your shirt is great and your little boy is adorable.
12/7/03 7:49 PM
Chimene said...
Great top!It looks fabulous! I am inspired to add this pattern to my growing stash. Informative review.
12/7/03 9:01 PM
Pam Z said...
Love your shirt. Great RTW look & nice fabric choice too.
12/7/03 9:19 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Thank you for your review! I wanted a basic fitted shirt pattern and when I saw this I thought it would fit the bill. Your's looks great. I love the bias front and the larger cuffs.
3/27/05 12:20 PM
jacalhoun said...
I just got this pattern in a lot of Burdas i won on ebay. I wasn't too excited about this view on the envelope (I think the necktie detracts from it), but I LOVE your shirt, and I will definitely have to give it a go!
2/13/06 11:53 AM
yummymummy38 said...
lovely job on the shirt, especially view B. I have made B in black and white stripes and could not get the chevron effect due to the stripes not meeting in the centre, so I added black bias binding to the front edge and cuffs (normal not Frenched) I get alot of favourable comments when I wear it. However found the collar was not straightforward, the collar and band did not seem the right size for each other, anyone else notice this?
6/6/06 10:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Buy Now