Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-116 (Lace jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 528 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 338
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 337
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/09 7:42 PM
Last Updated:5/4/09 7:47 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Catbird said...
I like it! This pattern appealed to me, too, and it's on a long list of potential projects. I think you made some good choices to turn it from grandmotherly to currently stylish. By the way, the picture isn't showing up correctly in the gallery.
5/4/09 8:11 PM
Christas said...
Really cute! You have been sewing up a storm lately! Love the changes you made to this .... looks great on you!
5/4/09 8:20 PM
MagpieJen said...
Beautiful! I love the lace! I'm so glad you found a way to make this work for you - and thank you for the detailed review as well.
5/4/09 8:28 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful jacket. I think it turned out great, I hope you end up falling in love with it, it really looks nice on you. The changes you made make it look more up to date (less granny). That is one of my favorite colors too so if you decide you don't like it you can send it to me (ha ha) since we wear the same size.
5/4/09 10:54 PM
michellep74 said...
I really like it--I think it's very on-trend with how hot lace is right now.
5/5/09 0:22 AM
callmeRuth said...
The jacket looks great on you. I hope you'll find that you like and wear it a lot.
5/5/09 1:59 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Such a chic jacket ! I am so glad you found a way to "make it work" for you :)
5/5/09 4:58 AM
BillieJean said...
I love the changes you made, and I agree - it did look "grannyish" before.
5/5/09 5:50 AM
Kellie R. said...
I LOVE this jacket! I'm impressed with how creative it is. I love lace and your use of it turned a basic jacket into a knockout jacket!
5/5/09 8:28 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking jacket.
5/5/09 10:21 AM
CSM--Carla said...
WHAT a difference!! Great save and very cute jacket!!! Thanks for sharing! Carla
5/5/09 10:53 AM
nicegirl said...
This doesn't look granny to me at all! I love it.
5/6/09 1:34 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Love it!
5/6/09 4:35 PM
JessieBear said...
Thanks for the review! I had been debating about making this jacket - and also wondering what they wanted you to do with the collar. I think I might make it now (sans collar). I love the color you chose, too!
11/10/09 7:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Lazy Girl Designs 211 Wonder Wallet
photo
Review by Deepika on 3/8/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Mini Wardrobe May 2009
photo
Review by kal1 on 5/31/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )
McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us