SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7842 (Men's Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 315 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki S.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikki S.star
GA USA
Member since: 10/20/07
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/5/09 7:27 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Restart06 said...
A nice costume coat, thanks for sharing!
5/5/09 9:15 PM
Mary Reed said...
So, you would recommend this over the McCall's pattern for Civil War era men's coat? We do reenactments and my husband wants a frock coat. I bought the McCall's, but after your review, I 'm not certain I will use it. Thanks for the two reviews. They come just in time to help me make a decision!
5/5/09 10:11 PM
kerrynw said...
Fantastic, great result!
5/6/09 5:27 AM
Nikki S. said...
Mary - they are in reality two very different coats. If you are looking for *literally* a civil war coat, I would look for a different one than McCall, although I admit I do not know if such a thing exists. The McCall coat was MUCH harder in comparison to this one, which is supposed to be street clothes rather than a costume!
5/6/09 8:57 AM
Kellie R. said...
I'm impressed that you jumped in and made an advanced tailored jacket on a time crunch. Great job!
5/6/09 9:58 AM
minggiddylooloo said...
It looks great on the gentleman wearing it!
5/6/09 11:01 AM
crisford said...
Thanks! The coat looks great! I'll be using these costume-making tips. Very clever ideas!
5/6/09 12:01 PM
MagpieJen said...
Wonderfully done (like all these costumes you've reviewed)! The cast looks great! Thank you for another really helpful review. Do I spy a Sense and Sensibility 1910s tea gown pattern in the photo with the gentlemen?
5/6/09 3:44 PM
Tiner W said...
It looks great!
5/6/09 5:11 PM
Nikki S. said...
MagPie Jen - you do! Although my co-Costume Mistress made that dress, not me, so she's going to review it.
5/6/09 6:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-129

photo
by: suesmith

Review
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Buy Now