SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7842 (Men's Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 316 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki S.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikki S.star
GA USA
Member since: 10/20/07
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/5/09 7:27 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Restart06 said...
A nice costume coat, thanks for sharing!
5/5/09 9:15 PM
Mary Reed said...
So, you would recommend this over the McCall's pattern for Civil War era men's coat? We do reenactments and my husband wants a frock coat. I bought the McCall's, but after your review, I 'm not certain I will use it. Thanks for the two reviews. They come just in time to help me make a decision!
5/5/09 10:11 PM
kerrynw said...
Fantastic, great result!
5/6/09 5:27 AM
Nikki S. said...
Mary - they are in reality two very different coats. If you are looking for *literally* a civil war coat, I would look for a different one than McCall, although I admit I do not know if such a thing exists. The McCall coat was MUCH harder in comparison to this one, which is supposed to be street clothes rather than a costume!
5/6/09 8:57 AM
Kellie R. said...
I'm impressed that you jumped in and made an advanced tailored jacket on a time crunch. Great job!
5/6/09 9:58 AM
minggiddylooloo said...
It looks great on the gentleman wearing it!
5/6/09 11:01 AM
crisford said...
Thanks! The coat looks great! I'll be using these costume-making tips. Very clever ideas!
5/6/09 12:01 PM
MagpieJen said...
Wonderfully done (like all these costumes you've reviewed)! The cast looks great! Thank you for another really helpful review. Do I spy a Sense and Sensibility 1910s tea gown pattern in the photo with the gentlemen?
5/6/09 3:44 PM
Tiner W said...
It looks great!
5/6/09 5:11 PM
Nikki S. said...
MagPie Jen - you do! Although my co-Costume Mistress made that dress, not me, so she's going to review it.
5/6/09 6:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Past Patterns 002

photo
by: KiwiWendy

Review
Vogue Patterns 8634

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Buy Now