Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8408 (8408 Jeans and Overalls) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1705 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Spriggs
photo
About Debbie Spriggsstar
WI USA
Member since: 10/4/02
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/03 9:35 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skymom said...
Wow! this in an incredible feat of craftswomanship. Your jeans look like RTW only better. Thanks for the great review.
12/8/03 10:12 AM
Hilary said...
Debbie, thank you for such an incredibly thorough review! you have done a wonderful job w/ these and they look very RTW~ I wonder, how do you get the rivets on? they really give a great finishing touch. Your top stitching is beautiful too. great job, great review~ thanks!
12/8/03 10:12 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Debbie, these look great! Very RTW! Thanks for all the tips in the review. I haven't convinced myself that making jeans is worthwhile so long as I can find some that more-or-less fit in RTW, but maybe I'll have to try it one of these days!
12/8/03 11:37 AM
Tini said...
That is a wonderfull jeans! Very RTW but with a much better fit! Great job done! And a great review too! Someday I will sew up my denim too!
12/8/03 12:07 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
WOW! Especially those rivets! Way cool!
12/8/03 1:10 PM
CatherineN said...
You did an outstanding job on those jeans. I'll bet they are more comfortable than RTW. Give yourself a star.
12/8/03 1:39 PM
Teri said...
Debbie, those jeans are great! Thanks for such a complete review. I might have to give them a try.
12/8/03 2:02 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I think if you check out the book, it says that to raise the CB, let out a bit of the inseam in the back only. I have to lower the crotch seam in the back and add to the back inseam and that raises the CB for me. If you think the OOP version is good, ge the spousal Sants to get the new one for you for CHristmas!
12/8/03 4:49 PM
CarolynGM said...
Debbie - awesome job on the pants and on the review. Your attention to detail is obvious in both. I have this pattern and will print your review and have it in front of me when I make my jeans. By the way, how much time do you think you spent on these?
12/8/03 6:18 PM
galadriel45 said...
Truly, one of the nicest jobs I have seen - the fit is perfection, and the sewing details better than RTW. You should be so proud.
12/8/03 7:28 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
thank you so much esp. for the detailed extra pics. They are superb!
12/9/03 1:35 AM
MariaDenmark said...
Great pants - great review! Thank you for all the details!
12/9/03 2:31 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
This is one of the reasons I love this site; you are all so kind. Thank you! Hilary, the rivets go on with a little kit (purchsed separately at JoAnn's) and a hammer. I must admit to hitting my finger with the hammer once instead of the rivet, but as long as my aim was accurate, the rivets went on easily. Irina, I worked on these in little bits and pieces over the course of about 2 weeks. I am a painfully slow sewist. I sew an element, then sit and contemplate the next one for a while...check pattern review...pick up my dd from school...then come back to the project...etc... It's a wonder I get anything done.
12/9/03 7:30 AM
Pam Z said...
Wonderful jeans and a very helpful review. Now I must have this pattern!
12/10/03 5:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by karenball on 9/25/11
Read Review

Maria Denmark Paula Pleat Skirt Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Paula Pleat Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4785
photo
Review by loralees on 6/4/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4132 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )
Butterick 4132 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 3152 Pattern
Burda 3152 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us