SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8408 (8408 Jeans and Overalls)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1705 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Spriggs
photo

 
 
About Debbie Spriggsstar
WI USA
Member since: 10/4/02
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/03 9:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skymom said...
Wow! this in an incredible feat of craftswomanship. Your jeans look like RTW only better. Thanks for the great review.
12/8/03 10:12 AM
Hilary said...
Debbie, thank you for such an incredibly thorough review! you have done a wonderful job w/ these and they look very RTW~ I wonder, how do you get the rivets on? they really give a great finishing touch. Your top stitching is beautiful too. great job, great review~ thanks!
12/8/03 10:12 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Debbie, these look great! Very RTW! Thanks for all the tips in the review. I haven't convinced myself that making jeans is worthwhile so long as I can find some that more-or-less fit in RTW, but maybe I'll have to try it one of these days!
12/8/03 11:37 AM
Tini said...
That is a wonderfull jeans! Very RTW but with a much better fit! Great job done! And a great review too! Someday I will sew up my denim too!
12/8/03 12:07 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
WOW! Especially those rivets! Way cool!
12/8/03 1:10 PM
CatherineN said...
You did an outstanding job on those jeans. I'll bet they are more comfortable than RTW. Give yourself a star.
12/8/03 1:39 PM
Teri said...
Debbie, those jeans are great! Thanks for such a complete review. I might have to give them a try.
12/8/03 2:02 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I think if you check out the book, it says that to raise the CB, let out a bit of the inseam in the back only. I have to lower the crotch seam in the back and add to the back inseam and that raises the CB for me. If you think the OOP version is good, ge the spousal Sants to get the new one for you for CHristmas!
12/8/03 4:49 PM
CarolynGM said...
Debbie - awesome job on the pants and on the review. Your attention to detail is obvious in both. I have this pattern and will print your review and have it in front of me when I make my jeans. By the way, how much time do you think you spent on these?
12/8/03 6:18 PM
galadriel45 said...
Truly, one of the nicest jobs I have seen - the fit is perfection, and the sewing details better than RTW. You should be so proud.
12/8/03 7:28 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
thank you so much esp. for the detailed extra pics. They are superb!
12/9/03 1:35 AM
MariaDenmark said...
Great pants - great review! Thank you for all the details!
12/9/03 2:31 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
This is one of the reasons I love this site; you are all so kind. Thank you! Hilary, the rivets go on with a little kit (purchsed separately at JoAnn's) and a hammer. I must admit to hitting my finger with the hammer once instead of the rivet, but as long as my aim was accurate, the rivets went on easily. Irina, I worked on these in little bits and pieces over the course of about 2 weeks. I am a painfully slow sewist. I sew an element, then sit and contemplate the next one for a while...check pattern review...pick up my dd from school...then come back to the project...etc... It's a wonder I get anything done.
12/9/03 7:30 AM
Pam Z said...
Wonderful jeans and a very helpful review. Now I must have this pattern!
12/10/03 5:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: woolcat

Review
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now