SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-124 

21 more reviews
Viewed 666 times 
Reviewed by:Gecko
photo

 
 
About Geckostarstar
OK USA
Member since: 8/24/05
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 64
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/09 8:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
angie.a said...
LOVE this. I think the neckline is very pretty, maybe the ribbon fix for holding the straps will work and you will love it too!
5/11/09 7:55 PM
Kellie R. said...
I think you look great in this dress! It's very flattering and I LOVE the bright, cheerful fabric!
5/8/09 8:36 AM
Heatherrique said...
I still find the neckline very nice on you! Gorgeous dress on you!
5/7/09 7:01 PM
brissie71 said...
Very pretty. I love the fabric on you. I can sympathise with the wide neckline issues - I hate wearing things like that and find that I fidget with the neck all the time.
5/7/09 3:55 PM
colourbynumber said...
Very cute. I am on my second one-- you are right, the pattern works with modifications. I narrowed/raised in the neckline. It helped!
5/7/09 2:23 PM
Nancy K said...
Lovely dress.
5/7/09 11:29 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great dress, Shannon. And thanks for the helpful review.
5/7/09 11:29 AM
Lee K said...
I tried this dress out in throwaway fabric this week, and also found the neck much too wide. AND the v-back ends below my bra band. Quite disappointing, because it looks good in other reviews, including yours, of course!
5/7/09 11:05 AM
Amanda S. said...
It looks great! I'm sorry you aren't in love with it. I am currently working on this exact same pattern but am not experiencing a large neckline problem. Did you happen to put interfacing around the neck? I am wondering if your fabric stretched out a bit.
5/7/09 9:02 AM
shesflipped said...
I think this looks lovely on you! The style of the dress and your fabric choice is perfect, although I do understand the feeling of liking it, not loving it when the fit isn't just right.
5/7/09 6:32 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful dress!! I love the fabric and the colors look great on you!!! Such a very cheerfull and springy look. While I think the dress looks great the way it is, if you are having issues with the bodice fit on this pattern you may want to trace off a new bodice and start with a size or two smaller through the shoulders and neck and then taper out to the size you think would be best through the bust, maybe going somewhere inbetween the size 42 and size 44 bodice at the bustline. Just a thought if you decide to make this one again.
5/6/09 11:20 PM
BrianSews said...
It's all about that fabric! Great choice, love those colors. I also think the wide neckline looks great on you but quite understandable that fashion and function don't always agree. Thanks for good photos with a pretty background, it's the first thing to catch my eye.
5/6/09 11:11 PM
homejewel said...
I REALLY like that fabric. The style of the dress is great, too. The bra strap situation would bother me, too. Could you be a smaller size in the bodice? The rest seems to fit quite nicely.
5/6/09 9:37 PM
Renren said...
I think it's very attractive as is, but that about-to-slip-off-shoulders feeling is very distracting. Comparing your neckline to the one from the magazine, it seems theirs is not quite as wide. But why this is, I do not know. Love the fabric and will be interested in watching for how you approach the next dress from this pattern.
5/6/09 9:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now