Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-124 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 663 times 21 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Gecko
photo
About Geckostarstar
OK USA
Member since: 8/24/05
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/09 8:42 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
I think it's very attractive as is, but that about-to-slip-off-shoulders feeling is very distracting. Comparing your neckline to the one from the magazine, it seems theirs is not quite as wide. But why this is, I do not know. Love the fabric and will be interested in watching for how you approach the next dress from this pattern.
5/6/09 9:07 PM
homejewel said...
I REALLY like that fabric. The style of the dress is great, too. The bra strap situation would bother me, too. Could you be a smaller size in the bodice? The rest seems to fit quite nicely.
5/6/09 9:37 PM
BrianSews said...
It's all about that fabric! Great choice, love those colors. I also think the wide neckline looks great on you but quite understandable that fashion and function don't always agree. Thanks for good photos with a pretty background, it's the first thing to catch my eye.
5/6/09 11:11 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful dress!! I love the fabric and the colors look great on you!!! Such a very cheerfull and springy look. While I think the dress looks great the way it is, if you are having issues with the bodice fit on this pattern you may want to trace off a new bodice and start with a size or two smaller through the shoulders and neck and then taper out to the size you think would be best through the bust, maybe going somewhere inbetween the size 42 and size 44 bodice at the bustline. Just a thought if you decide to make this one again.
5/6/09 11:20 PM
shesflipped said...
I think this looks lovely on you! The style of the dress and your fabric choice is perfect, although I do understand the feeling of liking it, not loving it when the fit isn't just right.
5/7/09 6:32 AM
Amanda S. said...
It looks great! I'm sorry you aren't in love with it. I am currently working on this exact same pattern but am not experiencing a large neckline problem. Did you happen to put interfacing around the neck? I am wondering if your fabric stretched out a bit.
5/7/09 9:02 AM
Lee K said...
I tried this dress out in throwaway fabric this week, and also found the neck much too wide. AND the v-back ends below my bra band. Quite disappointing, because it looks good in other reviews, including yours, of course!
5/7/09 11:05 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great dress, Shannon. And thanks for the helpful review.
5/7/09 11:29 AM
Nancy K said...
Lovely dress.
5/7/09 11:29 AM
colourbynumber said...
Very cute. I am on my second one-- you are right, the pattern works with modifications. I narrowed/raised in the neckline. It helped!
5/7/09 2:23 PM
brissie71 said...
Very pretty. I love the fabric on you. I can sympathise with the wide neckline issues - I hate wearing things like that and find that I fidget with the neck all the time.
5/7/09 3:55 PM
Heatherrique said...
I still find the neckline very nice on you! Gorgeous dress on you!
5/7/09 7:01 PM
Kellie R. said...
I think you look great in this dress! It's very flattering and I LOVE the bright, cheerful fabric!
5/8/09 8:36 AM
angie.a said...
LOVE this. I think the neckline is very pretty, maybe the ribbon fix for holding the straps will work and you will love it too!
5/11/09 7:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 4099
photo
Review by Cation Des... on 5/1/13
Read Review

Vogue 2810 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2810 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1486 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1486 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5386 Fitted Top
photo
Review by Elizabeth ... on 11/16/09
Read Review

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us