Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1029 (Superfantastic Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 920 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/09 6:33 PM
Last Updated:5/7/09 6:38 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Cute blouse! I have this pattern and am hoping to make it up soon.
5/7/09 7:01 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Thanks for the helpful review. 7" of bust ease, oh my! I'm glad I read your review before opening my pattern.
5/7/09 7:20 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Love both the review and the finished product. It's a well-known fact that sheep wear pink very well. LOL.
5/7/09 7:23 PM
Elona said...
The Galah color combo is a wonderful one, and your pink shirt is very pretty, very art-studio-in-the-garret (I've had a little wine and actually typed ferret, but corrected that). About the yellow marking paper, I had the same trouble when putting together my son's white linen wedding shirt--aaaaaack! I think the manufacturers should take note of this problem.
5/7/09 9:00 PM
Kay Y said...
Great review and great pink shirt Diane! With 7" of ease I almost wonder if it really needs bust darts at all?
5/7/09 9:08 PM
Diane E said...
Thanks for your kind words. LOL Elona, maybe I have a ferret in my garret -- that would explain many things. Kay, I think you make an excellent point about those bust darts.
5/7/09 9:27 PM
Em's Summer said...
Great top!
5/7/09 10:24 PM
Patti B said...
Diane, I would loved to have been a fly on the wall during this process! End result is great and your review is very helpful.
5/7/09 10:29 PM
Liana said...
The shirt is great, and I had the best time reading your review! Very, very nice on both counts.
5/8/09 1:14 AM
FreyaStark said...
A nice shirt. I'm looking forward to making this shirt soon myself.
5/8/09 6:10 AM
rmardel said...
Great shirt Diane and a wonderful review. 7" of ease, wow, but even with all that ease (or is it especially with all that ease) I can see how a dart would keep it from being a shapeless mess.
5/9/09 8:48 AM
katie lynne said...
Very Helpful Review--Thanks! This may be larger than you're used to, but I think it looks just great on you. Lovely fabric, its so perfect for you...
6/8/09 11:06 PM
moushka said...
Great review, Diane, as always. Thanks for the head's up on the ease. For once I can go down a size, lol!
9/21/09 12:46 PM
mizdeedee said...
I have just sewn this pattern & thanks to all the revews it is a success. The only issue is the dart placement. I went down 11/2" and made the dart shorter- about 2" I think this is correct for my bust location? The design seems to hold. I may get more advice because I really like the pattern & want to make again. thanks for all the tips
3/3/10 3:05 PM
Kuby said...
Good review. I own this pattern and I took it out of the envelope to review the directions and couldn't find them. I have power sewing and David Coffin's book, so I'll be sure to review before I attempt to put in the collar. Did you use her technique of sewing around the collar in 2 steps she described in the video?
3/6/10 6:08 PM
Diane E said...
Thanks for the recent comments. Kuby, I used Sandra's book to make adjustments to the collar -- trimmed the undercollar pieces so the upper pieces would roll to the inside. Since I did this all as an afterthought, I managed to confuse myself quite a bit -- I like the techniques used in Sandra's books very much and I apply them as often as possible; I find that thinking them through before I cut anything out helps me a lot. That way I can mark the fabric pieces clearly and not get them mixed up.
3/15/10 1:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 7514
photo
Review by divabuddha on 5/10/12
Read Review

New Look 6205 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
New Look 6205 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4319 Pattern( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
Butterick 4319 Pattern( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3334 Misses Jackets
photo
Review by waikikimum on 7/4/11
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us