Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-105 (Shirtdress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 802 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/09 8:43 PM
Last Updated:5/12/09 7:33 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
homejewel said...
I don't think I ever "knew" what a shirt dress was before this review. It looks fabulous on you. Great detailed review and I see why you like it so much.
5/7/09 9:19 PM
Elke said...
Beautiful shirt dress...great fabric choice...looks lovely on you!
5/7/09 9:39 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is soo very pretty! And a great review, too!
5/7/09 10:22 PM
Lori V said...
Wonderful shirtdress, it looks fabulous.
5/7/09 10:36 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great dress!! This style looks great on you. I love your fabric choice. Thanks for the great informative review as well.
5/7/09 10:52 PM
Sallygirl said...
How creative and WAY cuter than Burda shows it! It's perfect!
5/7/09 10:54 PM
Renren said...
Beautiful! Great review, too. Thanks!
5/7/09 11:54 PM
cabinbaby said...
Love this!
5/8/09 0:00 AM
SusiM said...
Wonderful review, Birgitte! And amusing, too. I appreciate the tips and such. As usual, you have created another great-looking garment.
5/8/09 1:41 AM
Jali said...
Great dress! I thoroughly enjoyed your review. And I love that series of MasterCard adverts too :-).
5/8/09 3:51 AM
Ellenatlga said...
Beautiful! Great job!
5/8/09 6:40 AM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful! I am always looking for black and white abstract prints and this one is gorgeous. Fits beautifully.
5/8/09 7:49 AM
wendlesue said...
Great review, but flubby arms? I don't think so. Beautiful dress. I want to make one!
5/8/09 8:07 AM
Kellie R. said...
Wow - this is a really great dress! So versatile and nicely made!
5/8/09 8:32 AM
Catbird said...
I said this on your blog, but I don't mind repeating myself: I absolutely love this dress! And now I love the review, too. You have a way of taking my sewing imagination to places it is unfamiliar with, like shirtdresses! I'm smitten with the easygoing, crisp, classy but-not-trying-too-hard look of this, and of course with that gorgeous fabric. The complete look with the belt and shoes is Vogue-worthy. I love it. And by the way, I don't buy the flubby arms and sorry-excuse-for-a-waist:)) No way!! Thank you for another great and fun review.
5/8/09 8:52 AM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the great review. I love your fabric choices. I just bought fabric to make this myself! Unfortuntately, I did not read the other reviews first, so I did not get something with stretch - guess I'll have to leave even MORE hip room :-)
5/8/09 9:39 AM
Vintage Joan said...
(Repeating what I just wrote on your previous posting of this review... ;) )... WOW -- this dress is fabulous!!
5/8/09 9:47 AM
quixoticpixels said...
Stunning dress! A really fun and informative review too. Thanks!
5/8/09 10:01 AM
Karen6790 said...
I like your checklist for this dress - I follow a similar one myself, and now I'm going to have to give this pattern a shot. Great job, and I would definitely consider this a TNT for you - looks good and you can do a lot of variations on it.
5/8/09 10:19 AM
Opals Passions said...
This is a gorgeous dress.. I love the two tone....
5/8/09 10:46 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very complete review. Georgeous dress. I really want to make this one for Easter next year so will refer back.
5/8/09 11:11 AM
LindsayT said...
Fantastic dress on you, and I love your tips. I have this pattern on my to-do list because it looks great on everyone who makes it. Excellent fabric combo.
5/8/09 12:23 PM
michellep74 said...
Fabulous dress!
5/8/09 1:31 PM
nellc said...
Gorgeous dress, and a great reveiw.
5/8/09 4:46 PM
Knitters Delight said...
That is so stunning. You picked the perfect fabric combination!
5/8/09 6:57 PM
SewSara said...
I am coveting your dress. It fits you so nicely and I love that print! I will definitely be making one in two different fabrics.
5/9/09 12:50 PM
Beek said...
I truly love reading your reviews! Your taste and creativity is certainly to be admired!
5/11/09 5:30 PM
Ach said...
Looks RTW but better!
5/11/09 8:45 PM
Lori V said...
Another winner, great job.
5/12/09 9:14 PM
SandraB said...
Very nice dress. Looks great on you. Very nice review. Thanks.
5/12/09 9:24 PM
JoanneM said...
Excellent review and a great dress!
5/12/09 10:49 PM
Mahler said...
You forgot one check according to me: Pucci style for regular activities, checked ! Summery, fresh and so stylish. Very nice !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5/13/09 9:23 AM
Catbird said...
Wow, you really HAVE found a TNT! This is so light and fun and, yes, Pucci! You're going to have a very stylish and breezy summer -- you'll be the envy of that whole stylish and breezy little town of yours :))
5/13/09 10:36 AM
Karen6790 said...
Wow, I like this one better than the first - and I loved the first one. Bravo.
5/13/09 12:51 PM
Heidi Ho said...
I LOVE version #2 as well. I definitely have to try this pattern!
5/13/09 3:47 PM
amy in mpls said...
This IS gorgeous, and such a helpful review. You are truely a one stop shop for inspirations and helpful tips! I have this pattern traced and sitting...somewhere, but you've inspired me to find it! love your version! thx for the super helpful review!
5/13/09 4:19 PM
LindsayT said...
V2 is great too!
5/13/09 5:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Fashion Sewing Group 1945 Jacket
photo
Review by Sewing Chi... on 3/2/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pier 49 Convertible Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pier 49 Convertible Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5271
photo
Review by Patty the ... on 10/2/10
Read Review

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2790 Pattern
Jalie 2790 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us