SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5201 (Sweater Set)

26 more reviews
Viewed 3471 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 243
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/03 10:59 PM
Last Updated:1/14/05 11:48 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said...
Lucky Un-named Person! Nice fabric in a pretty color.
12/9/03 0:36 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
What a great gift! I agree with your comment on basting, when I take the time to do it (which really isn't much) it often makes life (and difficult seams or hems) so much easier!
12/9/03 1:16 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I used to think basting was for people who just couldn't get over doing it like the home ec teacher told them, but I have wised up! I don't think I spent as much time basting any one of the hems as I spent unstitching and restitching the one I didn't baste...;)
12/9/03 7:02 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Very lovely set, Lisa. It even has panache on the hanger!
12/9/03 7:18 AM
Mini said...
Handbasting is a good idea. It's still the best way to control difficult fabric, even when it's a modern synthetic. I still love this pattern, but just a reminder about the fit. Although the shell is close fitting, t the cardigan is designed with a slightly dropped shoulder and moderately loose non-clingy fit. That is what makes it such a classy style for a mature (or young) woman who loves knits but doesn't want a revealing look. (Think "knitted cardigan jacket.") For those who want a very fitted twin set, one of the Kwik Sew patterns will be a better choice.
12/9/03 8:46 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks for the fit info, Mini! I didn't think I really could address that issue because I couldn't put the top on the person for whom it was made. I realize the fit is supposed to be loose and easy, but this really did cross that line into big and floppy. I will make a smaller size for myself...at least through the shoulders and bust, and I will shorten the sleeves by about an inch.
12/9/03 8:56 AM
Sherril Miller said...
'hand' sewing is a four-letter dirty word! Do you think a glue stick would give you the same control?
12/9/03 8:30 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I don't know, Sherril, I haven't tried glue sticks. I'm not sure that would've worked well due to the nap of the fabric. I did consider both wash away basting tape and Steam a Seam, but I didn't want to interfere with either the stretch or the drape of the fabric. It really didn't take long to whip them down...just a moderately long running stitch, which was easily removed after I'd done the machine stitching.
12/9/03 9:35 PM
Diane E said...
Dear Lisa, may I be a member of your handbasting club? I actually like doing it - so much more relaxing than fighting with whatever wants to curl or scootch or hopscotch around and over the feeddogs. I love your set and I hope the recipient loves it, too. Gosh, I love the rare handcrafted gifts I get. The last one was a bag of chocolate dipped apricots. I nearly cried (and then I ate them all myself! hee hee!)
12/9/03 9:47 PM
JDpenelope said...
Nice review. Regarding basting, I poo pooed it also when I returned to sewing recently. But after struggling with a difficult zipper, I've become a believer. BTW, you know you're an amateur when you have to RIP OUT your hand basting--did that, too.
12/13/03 10:49 PM
CatherineN said...

4/16/04 10:01 PM
JDpenelope said...
Lisa , Your updated version is full of good warnings. I purchased a KS twin set and was thinking of doing something similar in ecru spring sweater fabric and what may be the same slinky fabric from eos. Now I'm thinking twice because of the problem you point out with the seams. But I agree, it's definitely not a wadder! I like the V neckline, too. Did you get any help on the boards?
4/19/04 7:25 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Penelope, I had several suggestions to just put an embellishment over the CF seam allowances; I found a rayon trim this morning at Wal-Mart (!) that I think will work. It will be a little decorative without being overly frou-frou...I'll post a photo when I get it on the top. I think it'll work to camoflage the problem!
4/19/04 9:32 AM
Rebecca D said...
Lisa, this top is just lovely. What a fine job. Thanks for sharing all your steps and thoughts.
4/20/04 7:56 PM
Joyfullife said...
I love the "fix"! Your DS has good taste!
4/20/04 11:10 PM
Tini said...
The way you fixed the top is really clever and looks good. I hope, that you will be able to fix the cardigan too.
4/21/04 2:06 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Tini, I think the best fix for the cardigan is a little disciplined eating and exercise ;) 5 pounds may be all that makes it snug... I've got a big 'whew' on this one...I'm just glad the shell is wearable now!
4/21/04 7:52 AM
SandraB said...
I love what you did with the trim to salvage your top. What a good idea.
4/21/04 9:14 AM
Liane M said...
Lisa, I think the set looks fabulous just as it is. I don't think having the stripes match exactly on both pieces would look better. Sorry , I don't have any nifty tricks for getting stripes to match across two garments.
1/15/05 4:12 AM
marjenann said...
Wonderful coordinates!!! Thanks for reminding us about the value of basting!!! Definitely worth the extra effort!
1/15/05 7:30 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for the review -- the cardigan is really a winner! I wouldn't worry about trying to make the pattern even with the two garments -- if you get it to line-up when you get dressed in the morning you'd then have to *NOT MOVE*. Every time you moved you'd then have to get yourself all arranged . . . . What a bummer! Life is too short . . . (LOL)
1/15/05 10:22 AM
Michelle T said...
Re: lining up the stripes. If you look at your photo, you can see that the cardigan hangs open in an inverted "V". If your stripes line up when closed, they will not when open. I do not think you can adjust for this. However I think it looks great as it is. I did not notice the stripes, until you mentioned them.
1/15/05 11:08 AM
Lisa Laree said...
LOL -- I guess that just illustrates how hard we sewing enthusiasts are on ourselves and our creations! Thanks for the encouragement... I promise to stop worrying about the stripe alignment ;)
1/15/05 10:12 PM
MaryBeth said...
Yes! This fabric looks wonderful made up in this sweater set. I think that the stripes not being dead matching actually add interest: I looked hard and enjoyed the variety in the fabric's pattern. :)
5/26/05 1:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 3790

photo
by: Doobee64

Review
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now