Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5315 (Semi fitted dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1646 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:quixoticpixels
photo
About quixoticpixelsstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 4/2/08
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/09 1:09 PM
Last Updated:5/27/10 10:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Teeavilnor said...
Love your review.
5/8/09 1:23 PM
sewcrazy53 said...
Good luck!! We all have days like this.
5/8/09 3:19 PM
sewbehind said...
Cute review. Maybe next time with a more compliant fabric?
5/8/09 3:52 PM
Knitters Delight said...
I hate working with the slippery fabrics that shift like that. I bought one from Joann's myself. Ugggh. Pretty, though.
5/8/09 5:10 PM
calminatrix said...
that was the funniest review i think i've ever read! really hilarious! you're SO pretty, i love your revies with pics of you modelling your work!
5/9/09 7:50 AM
Kristine Kay said...
Sorry the dress wasn't a winner for you, but your review was amazing! Funny and helpful! When I work with a fraying fabric, I run them through my serger immediately, and understand your frustrustation!
5/9/09 10:23 AM
Christas said...
What a funny review! Your dress turned out so cute in spite of your adventure sewing it! The part about the zipper ........ shhhhhh, don't tell anyone, but I still have a dress in my closet with a zipper put in backwards. Is it ever difficult to zip! LOL!
5/9/09 12:37 PM
colourbynumber said...
I do think the print is perfect for the dress. I had a shirtdress that I made last summer. When I had finished it, I was so dissappointed in all my errors. And you know what? This spring, I have been love wearing it and forgot about all the grief I had encountered!
5/9/09 3:04 PM
Renren said...
Well, this is a winner of a review and thanks for that amazing inv. zip tutorial link. I'll give it a try since all other tutorials to this point have not quite exactly worked for me.
5/9/09 6:19 PM
Kbenco said...
I love your review. Your print is so pretty, I am glad you finally got a dress from it. It looks gorgeous from here, but I hope you find something just as pretty in a less unhelpful fabric.
5/10/09 0:16 AM
Secretsugar said...
It's too bad this pattern was such a beast, because I think the dress suits you!
5/10/09 9:04 AM
quixoticpixels said...
Thanks everyone! I'm not convinced all the problems I had with this dress were the fault of the pattern so much as my own inexperience. I was discouraged at first, but am now realizing I learned an incredible amount from this.
5/10/09 12:23 PM
nglalala said...
I LoVE the print of the fabric! Sorry it was so difficult to work with. I think the dress looks fabulous!
5/11/09 3:36 PM
Anabolina said...
Great job. I love your review!!!
5/17/09 2:08 PM
KathleenS said...
Don't worry, we've all been there. The dress looks good from here.
5/25/09 6:23 AM
AnotherStef said...
This review was hilarious and educational. Thank you!
5/31/09 11:35 PM
candyo said...
A lot of us have learned the hard way as well that the poly silkies at Joann's are utter crap, and the same goes for Pellon interfacings. So, it wasn't you!
6/9/09 11:05 PM
janella said...
Hilarious Review!!! You are so funny... that fabric looks beautiful though even if it was a pain to work with.
8/13/09 2:52 PM
Pam in Virginia said...
Silky fabrics are HORRIBLE to work with, but here's a tip. If your pattern can support a fabric with a tiny bit more body, fuse your silky to a weft interfacing. It doesn't stiffen at all, but rather makes the fabric a little heavier. the plus is that it completely prevents raveling! Works with tweeds too.
3/5/10 10:46 AM
Patty the Snug Bug said...
Hey! I just had to drop in and comment because I just finished a dress with the same fabric as (I think) dress #1!! The white with red and pink flowers! The fabric was a stinker to work with - I didn't have problems fraying, but I had to resew a seam and the holes won't go away! I think it's pretty fabric, though! I like your dress version with the fabric!
5/27/10 11:13 PM
Mary Nanna said...
The dress is a great colour on you and super cute. I have the same problem with darts - 2 things have helped me. 1) sew the darts in baste length stitch first and try on inside out so the seam faces outwards - then with a pin, pin out that tricky little point so that it sits flat - you may need to curve the seam - then 2) sew the whole thing again, normal stitch, then for the last half inch or so reduce to a very small stitch and run off at a gentle angle- no more pointy dart.
5/27/10 11:35 PM
senaSews said...
Adorable dress and a wonderful color!
5/28/10 6:07 AM
Gelbean said...
Wow! What a beautiful dress! Aren't you glad you gave the pattern a second chance?
5/28/10 10:00 AM
CarolynGM said...
Really, really cute dress. I'm glad you gave it a second chance. It turned out so well that maybe a third one should be considered.
5/28/10 4:54 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow, they're both stunning! The results were obviously worth all your hard work.
5/28/10 5:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Self Drafted Pattern 12379-1007
photo
Review by Annette1 on 9/30/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3674 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3674 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2836 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2836 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9853
photo
Review by Ronda Rae on 11/24/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Wonder Wallet
Wonder Wallet

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us