Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2757 (Misses costume) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 501 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:cammyland
photo
About cammylandstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/18/07
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/09 5:45 PM
Last Updated:5/8/09 5:52 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
arianamaniacs said...
cute dress, i like the faux corseting! If you don't like open seams showing on the skirt, another idea would be to finish them in a flat-felled seam. That looks professional on both sides.
5/8/09 8:12 PM
misscreativist said...
Another pattern I need to buy! Love the blue faux lacing, such a nice contrast. And I can use up all that hook and eye tape that I bought! Funny it ran small - Simplicity normally runs huge. Thanks for the advice about lining, I hate things that aren't lined.
5/8/09 9:18 PM
Frosty772 said...
I have the pattern for the bloomers and nightdress from Arkivestry but didnt think much about this pattern...... until now!! That is super cute and will have to get is asap!! Thanks for the review!!
5/8/09 11:13 PM
cammyland said...
::arianamaniacs:: I totally forgot about flat-felled seams! Thanks so much, I might do that instead of lining the skirt :3
5/9/09 3:22 AM
calminatrix said...
really cool dress! LOVE IT! i wish i could add and subtract at will like you do.
5/9/09 8:07 AM
droxy said...
This is teh Catherine Zeta Jones costume llok from teh Zorro movies. Like you I am learning costumes can be worn as regular clothing if done with good fabric. =) Looks like a really fun dress.
5/14/09 1:47 PM
curecat said...
I also made this pattern (size 20), first as a muslin and then with better fabric, but my experience was that the pattern ran large rather than small. I agree with the reviewer that the lengths were shorter than advertised. The knee-length one that I made for the muslin came only mid-thigh and for the final version I made the long one and it only came to the knee. Also modified the pattern somewhat to put boning in the seams to make the bodice more corset-like.
12/4/09 9:49 PM
kakariki said...
I've just finished making the bodice (size 18), and yes, if you're using heavy material, it's hard to turn out. My solution was to leave the strap partially unstitched on one side also, pulled the fronts through this hole, then through the back. Then I finished it by putting a seam down both finished sides of the shoulder band. Still looks good if you can sew straight, and this would be covered if you finish with braid. I also found the sizes ran large, I had to do 1 inch seams when sewing the front to the back to pull it in. I made mine from offcuts as a test, cost about $5 to make in total, and it turned out awesome. Found it fairly easy even after a 10 year break from sewing.
5/8/10 9:13 PM
lisapwilliams said...
Thanks so much! Just bought it on ebay. :)
8/26/13 2:08 PM
lisapwilliams said...
Thanks so much! Just bought it on ebay. :)
8/26/13 2:12 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Butterick 4789
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 6/26/12
Read Review

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7975
photo
Review by Cosmotis on 10/14/12
Read Review

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6720 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6720 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6076 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6076 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us