SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2757 (Misses costume)

2 more reviews
Viewed 510 times 
Reviewed by:cammyland
photo

 
 
About cammylandstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/18/07
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/09 5:45 PM
Last Updated:5/8/09 5:52 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
arianamaniacs said...
cute dress, i like the faux corseting! If you don't like open seams showing on the skirt, another idea would be to finish them in a flat-felled seam. That looks professional on both sides.
5/8/09 8:12 PM
misscreativist said...
Another pattern I need to buy! Love the blue faux lacing, such a nice contrast. And I can use up all that hook and eye tape that I bought! Funny it ran small - Simplicity normally runs huge. Thanks for the advice about lining, I hate things that aren't lined.
5/8/09 9:18 PM
Frosty772 said...
I have the pattern for the bloomers and nightdress from Arkivestry but didnt think much about this pattern...... until now!! That is super cute and will have to get is asap!! Thanks for the review!!
5/8/09 11:13 PM
cammyland said...
::arianamaniacs:: I totally forgot about flat-felled seams! Thanks so much, I might do that instead of lining the skirt :3
5/9/09 3:22 AM
calminatrix said...
really cool dress! LOVE IT! i wish i could add and subtract at will like you do.
5/9/09 8:07 AM
droxy said...
This is teh Catherine Zeta Jones costume llok from teh Zorro movies. Like you I am learning costumes can be worn as regular clothing if done with good fabric. =) Looks like a really fun dress.
5/14/09 1:47 PM
curecat said...
I also made this pattern (size 20), first as a muslin and then with better fabric, but my experience was that the pattern ran large rather than small. I agree with the reviewer that the lengths were shorter than advertised. The knee-length one that I made for the muslin came only mid-thigh and for the final version I made the long one and it only came to the knee. Also modified the pattern somewhat to put boning in the seams to make the bodice more corset-like.
12/4/09 9:49 PM
kakariki said...
I've just finished making the bodice (size 18), and yes, if you're using heavy material, it's hard to turn out. My solution was to leave the strap partially unstitched on one side also, pulled the fronts through this hole, then through the back. Then I finished it by putting a seam down both finished sides of the shoulder band. Still looks good if you can sew straight, and this would be covered if you finish with braid. I also found the sizes ran large, I had to do 1 inch seams when sewing the front to the back to pull it in. I made mine from offcuts as a test, cost about $5 to make in total, and it turned out awesome. Found it fairly easy even after a 10 year break from sewing.
5/8/10 9:13 PM
lisapwilliams said...
Thanks so much! Just bought it on ebay. :)
8/26/13 2:08 PM
lisapwilliams said...
Thanks so much! Just bought it on ebay. :)
8/26/13 2:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6608

photo
by: DorothyK

Review