SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2009-101 (Skirt w/ Front Pockets)

26 more reviews
Viewed 463 times 
Reviewed by:madamemaigret
photo

 
 
About madamemaigretstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/20/09
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:5/9/09 11:50 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Don't feel so badly! I have sewn a 2 dot Burda that almost made me bald, and I have been sewing for over 23 years! I think you did a nice job and it looks cute on you from what I can see.
5/9/09 12:20 PM
Diane E said...
I agree with Christa -- your skirt looks pretty on, and it fits nicely. The inside is absolutely impeccable. Bravo to you for finishing the project, which was a great learning experience. If you are really disappointed with the way it feels when you wear it, think of it as a collection of sewing samples or "exercises." There's inestimable value in that. IMO you should wear the skirt -- it's darling -- and just keep moving so no one can catch you with their carpenter's level.
5/9/09 12:39 PM
Kay Y said...
I agree with the 2 of them - this skirt looks very good to me, especially the wonderful finishing job you did on the seams, and the fit also looks excellent. The rule about sewing is that if no one will notice the little mistake or flaw you are obsessing over from 8 feet then it doesn't exist!
5/9/09 12:54 PM
Re Becca said...
I agree with the others, this is super cute. I love the fabric and the buttons on the front.
5/9/09 12:59 PM
Vintage Joan said...
What a great skirt!! :) I'm impressed that you were able to sew in an invisible zipper by hand. Can you perhaps find a zipper foot that fits your machine (e.g. at a sewing machine shop)?
5/9/09 3:49 PM
Kristine Kay said...
You look great in this skirt, please wear it with confidence!
5/9/09 3:55 PM
Mary Nanna said...
Good on you for giving it a crack! I always use a secondary guide to sew BWOF patterns. Every detail I look up in my book and use their pictures to help me. I'm not a word person, I need pictures! Great start to your sewing career, keep it up!
5/9/09 4:50 PM
Margie T said...
I like your skirt. Don't be so hard on yourself.
5/10/09 0:57 AM
becca a said...
when I looked at the pictures before reading your review my comment was going to be that you inspired me to make the skirt too. Your topstitching on the yoke looks great. What was your common sense solution to Burda's conundrum? Perhaps you could get a zipper foot or even a plastic invisible zipper foot at your local sewing store to make zipper insertion less painful.
5/10/09 8:04 AM
amy in mpls said...
Sewing the toke on this skirt was a nightmare for me too! Your skirt turned out great though...those bright buttons are too cute! :)
5/16/09 6:00 PM
Tesla121 said...
A great looking skirt, and I love the buttons!
5/25/09 8:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Simplicity 3803 (circa 1965)

photo
by: sugarduck

Review
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8854

photo
by: Noile

Review