Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2009-101 (Skirt w/ Front Pockets) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 462 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:madamemaigret
photo
About madamemaigretstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/20/09
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:5/9/09 11:50 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Don't feel so badly! I have sewn a 2 dot Burda that almost made me bald, and I have been sewing for over 23 years! I think you did a nice job and it looks cute on you from what I can see.
5/9/09 12:20 PM
Diane E said...
I agree with Christa -- your skirt looks pretty on, and it fits nicely. The inside is absolutely impeccable. Bravo to you for finishing the project, which was a great learning experience. If you are really disappointed with the way it feels when you wear it, think of it as a collection of sewing samples or "exercises." There's inestimable value in that. IMO you should wear the skirt -- it's darling -- and just keep moving so no one can catch you with their carpenter's level.
5/9/09 12:39 PM
Kay Y said...
I agree with the 2 of them - this skirt looks very good to me, especially the wonderful finishing job you did on the seams, and the fit also looks excellent. The rule about sewing is that if no one will notice the little mistake or flaw you are obsessing over from 8 feet then it doesn't exist!
5/9/09 12:54 PM
Re Becca said...
I agree with the others, this is super cute. I love the fabric and the buttons on the front.
5/9/09 12:59 PM
Vintage Joan said...
What a great skirt!! :) I'm impressed that you were able to sew in an invisible zipper by hand. Can you perhaps find a zipper foot that fits your machine (e.g. at a sewing machine shop)?
5/9/09 3:49 PM
Kristine Kay said...
You look great in this skirt, please wear it with confidence!
5/9/09 3:55 PM
Mary Nanna said...
Good on you for giving it a crack! I always use a secondary guide to sew BWOF patterns. Every detail I look up in my book and use their pictures to help me. I'm not a word person, I need pictures! Great start to your sewing career, keep it up!
5/9/09 4:50 PM
Margie T said...
I like your skirt. Don't be so hard on yourself.
5/10/09 0:57 AM
becca a said...
when I looked at the pictures before reading your review my comment was going to be that you inspired me to make the skirt too. Your topstitching on the yoke looks great. What was your common sense solution to Burda's conundrum? Perhaps you could get a zipper foot or even a plastic invisible zipper foot at your local sewing store to make zipper insertion less painful.
5/10/09 8:04 AM
amy in mpls said...
Sewing the toke on this skirt was a nightmare for me too! Your skirt turned out great though...those bright buttons are too cute! :)
5/16/09 6:00 PM
Tesla121 said...
A great looking skirt, and I love the buttons!
5/25/09 8:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

HotPatterns 1101
photo
Review by Gemaki on 1/15/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern
Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7161 Soft Bags
photo
Review by 2BSewing on 4/30/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3631 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3631 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3913 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3913 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us