SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7746 (Marcy Tilton)

Viewed 2153 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/10/03 2:02 AM
Last Updated:12/10/03 2:10 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said...
There are so many wonderful compliments here.. and all of them are true! It truly does have that super posh look only seen in very good garments by very good designers. Thank you for your incredibly helpful review, as well. Both are very inspiring.
7/1/12 7:19 PM
Ann Smith said...
mmemagpie, I fixed the photo links for you. Good luck with this wonderful jacket.
1/16/09 12:44 PM
mmemagpie said...
I HAVE HAD THIS PATTERN FOR SEVERAL YEARS BUT NEVER USED IT, BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE TOO COMPLICATED. GRANTED, ANN IS A MORE PROFICIENT SEWER THAN I, BUT HER COMMENTS MAKE ME THINK I WANT TO TRY THIS PATTERN. BUT I WOULD LOVE TO SEE THE PHOTO OF YOUR JACKET, BUT FLICKR SAYS IT'S NOT AVAILABLE. ANY IDEAS? THANKS
1/16/09 1:32 AM
10Ksteps said...
Really encourages me to use this pattern which loks great on you and shows lovely work(woman)ship.
3/21/05 1:23 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Stunning jacket! Very Asian-inspired. The mustard silk looks lovely on you.
12/11/03 10:38 AM
JDpenelope said...
Once again, you've got it all together-fabric, style, fit. Love the bias details and the color.
12/11/03 8:24 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
I never paid attention to this pattern but now I must HAVE it! You look gorgeous in it. The style, color, and fit are superb on you.
12/10/03 8:46 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Fabulous, Ann - as always! I'm going to NYC in Jan/Feb, and I can't wait to hit up the garment district! -Ann
12/10/03 11:52 AM
Lizzy said...
This is so gorgeous (all the adjectives have been used up - no wonder!). I have been wanting this pattern but have been concentrating (bogged down) with fitting issues. I really appreciated your detailed comments about the sewing process, and the fit. Your photos illustrate your comments well. Thank-you. Maybe I'll get it for future consideration.
12/10/03 10:55 AM
cindyann said...
Ann, as always, stunning work. It looks just fabulous on you.
12/10/03 10:52 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Ann, I love the color of that silk! Your version looks beautiful and flatters you, as always!
12/10/03 10:10 AM
Ann Smith said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments! jlg: I found the fabric on a recent trip to NYC in a shop in the garment district. Sewing-shoppers heaven....
12/10/03 9:40 AM
layla said...
Ann, you have the best reviews !! Beautiful quality work and it looks wonderful on you !!
12/10/03 9:23 AM
Ann C said...
Oh my - how GORGEOUS!
12/10/03 8:38 AM
Sharon M said...
Beautiful as usual! I always look forward to your reviews...the patterns are typically ones I look at but am hesitant to make and your fabric choices make me drool!!! I would love to come and browse through your closet! Thanks for sharing another lovely creation!
12/10/03 8:33 AM
LindaB said...
Fabulous ! Perfect selection of silk, you look beautiful.
12/10/03 8:04 AM
els said...
Hi Ann, you made again a beautiful outfit, the jacket turned out very well, you have such a good taste in patterns and fabric choice and the matching buttons, thumbs up for you. When I saw this Vogue pattern for the first time it reminded me instantly to the Lanvin evening jacket which picture is in the book “Modern Fashion in Detail” at page 50.
12/10/03 6:38 AM
PattiA said...
Ann, I think we will run out of adjectives with which to praise your work--stunning, gorgeous, beautiful, wonderful--and once again your choice of color and fabric is spot-on.
12/10/03 6:29 AM
jlg said...
Ann, beautiful work as always. I am so glad that you reviewed this. At the after-Thanksgiving sale, I got most of the Marcy Tilton jacket patterns with the idea of maybe someday making them, but you've encouraged me that this one at least is not so difficult. Where did you get your lovely fabric?
12/10/03 6:22 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Ann, great looking jacket and the bound buttonhole looks perfect. I have yet to try bound buttonholes. Your comments state it takes a little practice. I am adding this to my things to try in 2004.
12/10/03 6:09 AM
Tini said...
Absolutley gorgeous. That jacket suits you perfect. I especially love your antique buttons!
12/10/03 3:47 AM
Irene said...
Ann, your jacket is stunning! This pattern is prominently displayed at my local Jo-Ann's, but my attention has always been drawn to the quilting and zig-zag front edge, rather than to the cut and shape. Your jacket, with its softness, indeed reminds me of the way a silk jacket fits over a formal kimono (with obi sash tied in back). Thank you for pointing out the great features of this pattern, and congratulations on yet another couture addition to your wardrobe!
12/10/03 2:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Butterick 5401

photo
by: knitmachin...

Review
Folkwear 238

photo
by: craigrama

Review
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

More Info
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

More Info