Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7746 (Marcy Tilton) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2142 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/10/03 2:02 AM
Last Updated:12/10/03 2:10 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Irene said...
Ann, your jacket is stunning! This pattern is prominently displayed at my local Jo-Ann's, but my attention has always been drawn to the quilting and zig-zag front edge, rather than to the cut and shape. Your jacket, with its softness, indeed reminds me of the way a silk jacket fits over a formal kimono (with obi sash tied in back). Thank you for pointing out the great features of this pattern, and congratulations on yet another couture addition to your wardrobe!
12/10/03 2:59 AM
Tini said...
Absolutley gorgeous. That jacket suits you perfect. I especially love your antique buttons!
12/10/03 3:47 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Ann, great looking jacket and the bound buttonhole looks perfect. I have yet to try bound buttonholes. Your comments state it takes a little practice. I am adding this to my things to try in 2004.
12/10/03 6:09 AM
jlg said...
Ann, beautiful work as always. I am so glad that you reviewed this. At the after-Thanksgiving sale, I got most of the Marcy Tilton jacket patterns with the idea of maybe someday making them, but you've encouraged me that this one at least is not so difficult. Where did you get your lovely fabric?
12/10/03 6:22 AM
PattiA said...
Ann, I think we will run out of adjectives with which to praise your work--stunning, gorgeous, beautiful, wonderful--and once again your choice of color and fabric is spot-on.
12/10/03 6:29 AM
els said...
Hi Ann, you made again a beautiful outfit, the jacket turned out very well, you have such a good taste in patterns and fabric choice and the matching buttons, thumbs up for you. When I saw this Vogue pattern for the first time it reminded me instantly to the Lanvin evening jacket which picture is in the book “Modern Fashion in Detail” at page 50.
12/10/03 6:38 AM
LindaB said...
Fabulous ! Perfect selection of silk, you look beautiful.
12/10/03 8:04 AM
Sharon M said...
Beautiful as usual! I always look forward to your reviews...the patterns are typically ones I look at but am hesitant to make and your fabric choices make me drool!!! I would love to come and browse through your closet! Thanks for sharing another lovely creation!
12/10/03 8:33 AM
Ann C said...
Oh my - how GORGEOUS!
12/10/03 8:38 AM
layla said...
Ann, you have the best reviews !! Beautiful quality work and it looks wonderful on you !!
12/10/03 9:23 AM
Ann Smith said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments! jlg: I found the fabric on a recent trip to NYC in a shop in the garment district. Sewing-shoppers heaven....
12/10/03 9:40 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Ann, I love the color of that silk! Your version looks beautiful and flatters you, as always!
12/10/03 10:10 AM
cindyann said...
Ann, as always, stunning work. It looks just fabulous on you.
12/10/03 10:52 AM
Lizzy said...
This is so gorgeous (all the adjectives have been used up - no wonder!). I have been wanting this pattern but have been concentrating (bogged down) with fitting issues. I really appreciated your detailed comments about the sewing process, and the fit. Your photos illustrate your comments well. Thank-you. Maybe I'll get it for future consideration.
12/10/03 10:55 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Fabulous, Ann - as always! I'm going to NYC in Jan/Feb, and I can't wait to hit up the garment district! -Ann
12/10/03 11:52 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
I never paid attention to this pattern but now I must HAVE it! You look gorgeous in it. The style, color, and fit are superb on you.
12/10/03 8:46 PM
JDpenelope said...
Once again, you've got it all together-fabric, style, fit. Love the bias details and the color.
12/11/03 8:24 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Stunning jacket! Very Asian-inspired. The mustard silk looks lovely on you.
12/11/03 10:38 AM
10Ksteps said...
Really encourages me to use this pattern which loks great on you and shows lovely work(woman)ship.
3/21/05 1:23 PM
mmemagpie said...
I HAVE HAD THIS PATTERN FOR SEVERAL YEARS BUT NEVER USED IT, BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE TOO COMPLICATED. GRANTED, ANN IS A MORE PROFICIENT SEWER THAN I, BUT HER COMMENTS MAKE ME THINK I WANT TO TRY THIS PATTERN. BUT I WOULD LOVE TO SEE THE PHOTO OF YOUR JACKET, BUT FLICKR SAYS IT'S NOT AVAILABLE. ANY IDEAS? THANKS
1/16/09 1:32 AM
Ann Smith said...
mmemagpie, I fixed the photo links for you. Good luck with this wonderful jacket.
1/16/09 12:44 PM
Gendun said...
There are so many wonderful compliments here.. and all of them are true! It truly does have that super posh look only seen in very good garments by very good designers. Thank you for your incredibly helpful review, as well. Both are very inspiring.
7/1/12 7:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Colette Patterns 1003 Parfait
photo
Review by lauramae on 4/14/14
Read Review

Butterick 5867 Pattern ( Size )
Butterick 5867 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2683 Pattern ( Size 3-6 )
Simplicity 2683 Pattern ( Size 3-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6964 Lingerie
photo
Review by Sandi S on 1/26/14
Read Review

Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us