SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1113 (MISSES' JACKET AND PANTS)

5 more reviews
Viewed 588 times 
Reviewed by:mwalker11
photo

 
 
About mwalker11star
Member since: 12/24/08
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/09 5:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Noile said...
I'm really glad to see this made up! I bought the pattern as soon as I could, along with a length of lime green linen (and black linen for the pants). Maybe something about this jacket screams "lime"? My spouse may have talked me out of doing the pants, though. He seems to agree with you, but I don't know; the photo on the envelope is nearly irresistible!
5/17/09 0:51 AM
Athene said...
I too was really hoping someone would review this jacket as I really like these funky artsy types of clothing. You certainly did not disappoint. A great jacket - thank you so much for the review.
5/11/09 10:10 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
MWalker11, Great Jacket, love the color. You obviously were sewing on yours instead of lolly-gagging around posting messages like me. Mine is almost done and I will get someone to take a snap shot and follow your review footsteps. Great idea to just turn the edge rather than deal with the facings. Worn buttoned, the insides do not show other than at the sleeves and the little pointy things at the neckline. I might have to change up to your method if I make a 2nd one... which is pretty likely because I do like this pattern. BRAVO!!!!
5/11/09 8:50 AM
BillieJean said...
This is so cute. Would love to see a picture of it on a real person. How does that neckline sit? The view on the pattern jacket and the line drawing don't seem to match up.
5/11/09 5:54 AM
lamstu said...
I've been on the fence about whether I like this jacket. Your version is tempting me. I too would like to see some photos of a person wearing it. The button really makes the whole piece work!
5/10/09 11:43 PM
jso4fun said...
Wow! I've been waiting to see if someone would make this pattern, so I could see what it would look like! Thanks so much for showing it. It sounds like a fun and interesting pattern to make, and your version looks great! If anyone is interested, there has been a discussion about this pattern on the Message Boards, in the Fashion Styles and Trends forum. The topic is Lynne Mizono. Not sure I've spelled that right...
5/10/09 10:30 PM
carolynw said...
Saw this pattern adn thought about it - yours looks so smart - I will continue to think and may borrow your idea of a light linen - sure would be a nice and different look!!
5/10/09 10:19 PM
VtMartha said...
This is wonderful! I have been debating over what to make of a very crisp hanky linen I purchased and now I know!
5/10/09 9:57 PM
mwalker11 said...
I didn't post a picture of me in it because it is several sizes smaller than what I'd make for myself. Because of the style though, I was wearing it around the house last night and it feels great. This fabric does not have metallic in it but I think probably nylon or poly blended with maybe some cotton. I have found metallic in a blend is comfortable unless you get more then say 25%. I have a jacket from Eileen Fisher that is only 8% metallic with 92% cotton and it is very comfy. This fabric is shimmery and very fun! When I make one in my actual size I will post it. I'll try to remember to take a picture of my friend in it.
5/10/09 8:35 PM
Caitycat said...
Thanks - I've been waiting with bated breath to see who would post about this jacket first! How does it feel on, though?
5/10/09 8:21 PM
marthamyers said...
Fabulous jacket! I've been drawn to this pattern and would love to see it on you. The great button is also a wonderful touch. Thanks.
5/10/09 6:53 PM
lizpalmer said...
I wondered how this would look made up - it looks fab. I'd love to see it on you. I really like this kind of quirky design, and the colour you've used is wonderful.
5/10/09 6:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 2178

photo
by: awesomepot...

Review
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now