SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6461 (Misses' Skirts in Two Lengths)

7 more reviews
Viewed 371 times 
Reviewed by:Jennifer shaw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jennifer shawstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/17/09 10:05 PM
Last Updated:8/4/09 4:26 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks Marita! That top is the latest version of my TNT Simplicity top out of some gorgeous Swiss cotton knit from the stash!
5/24/09 9:39 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Jen, it's definetly the fabric, flowier should do the trick, although I kind of like this one too, you're wearing a nice top BTW:-)
5/19/09 1:12 AM
Annette1 said...
Sounds like a plan! I'll look forward to seeing the latest version.
5/18/09 2:46 PM
SarahSews said...
Jennifer, I made this skirt pattern from a cotton/ lycra for my first time with this pattern. I had commentary from 6 sewing friends, while walking to a restaurant for lunch. It was like having a 6-sided mirror review. As much as I loved the fabric, there were many things wrong, such as too stiff, not flowing, didn't accent the better parts of me; so it was not that flattering. I learned so much from my walking sewing friends review, that I went back and made the skirt 3 more times. I have use rayon and linen/cotton. I have had more good comments on the linen/cotton one, usually each time I wear it. I've worked with the pattern, eliminated the band and zipper, making an elastic waist and also, cut down on the bell shape at the bottom of the skirt. This is my favorite pattern, to date. I love it for a quick serged skirt. Play with it and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
5/18/09 11:20 AM
Tov said...
Jennifer, I've made this skirt in a number of fabrics. So far, rayon is my favorite.Linen/rayon blend fabric worked well too. Also, I found the pattern too large and went down a couple of sizes(unusual for me to do) to get a good fit. You can also modify the curve of the 'bell' at the bottom of the panel which will work well in a less drapey fabric. It really is a fun skirt to wear!
5/18/09 1:26 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks, Annette1! I used to wear gored skirts all of the time.
5/11/09 10:54 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, you most certainly have the figure for this skirt, so if you're not feeling the love, maybe the drapier fabric you mentioned would change your perspective. As for your hubby's comment, you should say, "It's not EVERYBODY who can look STUNNING in a sheet!" Oh, I just thought of a REALLY cute gored pattern that you would look SO cute in. It's got ruching at the hips and then the gores go down from there. I've never made it, so I'm not exactly sure of the details (other than I know it has that ruching). It's REALLY cute. It's a Burda. If I can find it, I'll post it on the hourglass thread so you can see it.
5/11/09 12:19 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Meh, I am just not so crazy about it. Could it be the fabric I used?? If you have made this skirt, did you use a softer material? Maybe that is why I am not so thrilled with it.
5/10/09 11:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-118

photo
by: jkaori

Review