Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 6589 (NEWLOOK) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 551 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Nodika
photo
About Nodika
TX USA
Member since: 5/2/09
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/09 1:55 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LornaJay said...
I'm really sorry you didn't manage to get this one to work. If you post on the "beginners" board, you might get some help. My suggestion is to label each piece as you cut it out (just pin a bit of paper to the wrong side with the name and number of the piece) and lay them out in the order that you'll need them. You might also like to label the edges that get joined A to A, B to B etc in addition to the notches that the pattern gives you. You will be able to sew something like this - it just takes a lot more time! I like the patterns with more pieces as they allow more options for getting them to fit.
5/11/09 4:33 AM
Marie-Claude said...
I'm sorry your project didn't work out in the end. It would be nice if you could post some pictures of the problems you were having, maybe someone could help you make sense of the instructions! Don't let this mishap let you down though!
5/11/09 6:08 AM
Annette1 said...
From what I can see of your picture, it LOOKS really PRETTY. If it's salvageable, hang onto it. When you cool down, you might have another go at it, and the "lightbulb" may come on. In the meantime, you can work on something cute and easy to cheer you up!
5/11/09 11:40 AM
SexiSadi said...
Don't give up. Sewing, like anything else is a skill that takes practice. Most of us were not pros during our first projects. This dress doesn't look like a beginer project -- Try a simpler project next time, things will work better for you.
5/11/09 11:52 AM
Orangelentils said...
Hmm.. maybe the pic is too small to see your mistake? Because your dress is gorgeous and creative!! Too cute, I love it.
5/12/09 0:25 AM
EleanorSews said...
Like others, I agree that the photo is looking pretty cute. I checked the pattern and have to admit that it's the kind of thing that I would be pinning seams as I removed the pattern pieces plus using multi-color chalk to mark what seams to match up. You might want to pull the instruction sheet out of the pattern envelope and look at it before buying a pattern to decide if the pattern is something you want to try now or maybe later on. As cute as the dress looks to the stage you reached, you really should keep at it. You do seem to have a knack for it.
5/12/09 2:12 PM
fryman said...
Thanks for the valuable warning.
5/13/09 6:34 PM
SoVintage said...
Don't give up. Ihave learned through the years that these challenges will benefit us in a future pattern. PR has invaluable resources. I am unable to enlarge your photo, but what I can see it looks great. Divide and conquer, 1 step at a time....the one I'm working on now I had to stop for the day and re group, went back to it a day later, and saw the problem, solved it, and now step 2....Hang in there
5/31/09 11:08 AM
aylla said...
I feel you girl. I speak 5 and can read 4 and sometimes I don't get these! BTW, I was gonna try to make that dress!
10/30/09 4:20 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

StyleArc Anita Peasant Blouse
photo
Review by jannw on 5/8/12
Read Review

McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6179 Pattern
New Look 6179 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Australian Smocking & Embroidery Magazine 74-2006-emilee Emilee
photo
Review by solosmocke... on 3/2/11
Read Review

You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us