Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5429 thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 646 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/09 7:44 AM
Last Updated:6/6/09 0:37 AM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
eugenia123 said...
I think this skirt looks a lot better than you think it does and the style is really nice. Thanks for the great review - I think that reviews of patterns that haven't worked out so well are just as useful (if not more useful) than those that have turned out perfectly.
5/16/09 9:09 AM
Renren said...
I, too, am thinking this skirt looks good. Look at all that work you've done with topstitching and the godets. I actually think the skirt looks fabulous and if I saw you I might ask where you bought it (because I want one, too). Also, this reminds me of a Connie Crawford skirt/jacket pattern reviewed here recently. Perhaps a lighter, drapier fabric would give a totally different look, but this skirt heading into winter in the southern hemisphere looks like a perfect fit to have in one's wardrobe. The more I look at it the more I love it.
5/16/09 9:56 AM
FreyaStark said...
They're right. The actual sewing seems fine, and you might get to get like the skirt better when you've worn it more.
5/16/09 11:44 AM
Mary Nanna said...
Ah what a shame. You're right - that skirt is a lot of work, I remember all that topstiching! (although I made the view without godets). I think it looks rather cute on you .. it's hard to tell from a photo, but are the sides too big? Mine were, I remember having to take it in rather a lot to get it fitting through the hip. I'm glad you are wearing it anyway, I do think it looks cute...with some boots and a slim fit jacket the silhouette could look great!
5/16/09 3:57 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I agree with the others that this skirt is cute on you. From the front, I really like it. The back view is too close to see all the proportions correctly, but I still like it. I love this style of skirt too. Don't give up on the pattern.
5/16/09 4:44 PM
FreyaStark said...
Triumph! Now you'll be able to make it again more quickly and easily.
6/6/09 6:27 AM
eugenia123 said...
Congratulations on your re-working. This really is a great skirt that looks lovely on you.
6/6/09 8:00 AM
persevering said...
Congratulations on your stylish well-fitted skirt!
6/6/09 9:02 PM
Mary Nanna said...
hey , what do you know! With some boots and a slim fit knit jacket top it does look great! GREAT save.
6/7/09 2:02 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks guys! I really appreciate the encouragement.
6/7/09 7:43 AM
Hilary said...
This is the first time I've seen this review, and I too think it looks great on you! After all the work you put into it the fit is much better and looks very nice with the jacket and tights! I have the same "large derriere" issue, and was so happy to see how good this looks on a similar figure. Thanks for the detailed review!
12/12/10 10:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8317
photo
Review by otterine on 2/28/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-109 Striped blouse
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 6/25/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us