Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5429 

11 more reviews
Viewed 664 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews: 83 (patterns: 77)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 35 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/09 7:44 AM
Last Updated:6/6/09 0:37 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by ClaireEmily using this Pattern

photo
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said... (12/12/10 10:16 AM) Reply
This is the first time I've seen this review, and I too think it looks great on you! After all the work you put into it the fit is much better and looks very nice with the jacket and tights! I have the same "large derriere" issue, and was so happy to see how good this looks on a similar figure. Thanks for the detailed review!
ClaireEmily said... (6/7/09 7:43 AM) Reply
Thanks guys! I really appreciate the encouragement.
Mary Nanna said... (6/7/09 2:02 AM) Reply
hey , what do you know! With some boots and a slim fit knit jacket top it does look great! GREAT save.
persevering said... (6/6/09 9:02 PM) Reply
Congratulations on your stylish well-fitted skirt!
eugenia123 said... (6/6/09 8:00 AM) Reply
Congratulations on your re-working. This really is a great skirt that looks lovely on you.
FreyaStark said... (6/6/09 6:27 AM) Reply
Triumph! Now you'll be able to make it again more quickly and easily.
Debbie Cook said... (5/16/09 4:44 PM) Reply
I agree with the others that this skirt is cute on you. From the front, I really like it. The back view is too close to see all the proportions correctly, but I still like it. I love this style of skirt too. Don't give up on the pattern.
Mary Nanna said... (5/16/09 3:57 PM) Reply
Ah what a shame. You're right - that skirt is a lot of work, I remember all that topstiching! (although I made the view without godets). I think it looks rather cute on you .. it's hard to tell from a photo, but are the sides too big? Mine were, I remember having to take it in rather a lot to get it fitting through the hip. I'm glad you are wearing it anyway, I do think it looks cute...with some boots and a slim fit jacket the silhouette could look great!
FreyaStark said... (5/16/09 11:44 AM) Reply
They're right. The actual sewing seems fine, and you might get to get like the skirt better when you've worn it more.
renren said... (5/16/09 9:56 AM) Reply
I, too, am thinking this skirt looks good. Look at all that work you've done with topstitching and the godets. I actually think the skirt looks fabulous and if I saw you I might ask where you bought it (because I want one, too). Also, this reminds me of a Connie Crawford skirt/jacket pattern reviewed here recently. Perhaps a lighter, drapier fabric would give a totally different look, but this skirt heading into winter in the southern hemisphere looks like a perfect fit to have in one's wardrobe. The more I look at it the more I love it.
eugenia123 said... (5/16/09 9:09 AM) Reply
I think this skirt looks a lot better than you think it does and the style is really nice. Thanks for the great review - I think that reviews of patterns that haven't worked out so well are just as useful (if not more useful) than those that have turned out perfectly.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8679

photo
by: MrsCharism...

Review
Vogue Patterns 7036 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Pattern Details
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Pattern Details