SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 8815

Here's what you'll learn:

  1. Distinguishing between different types of leather
  2. How to select and how much to buy for your project
  3. Choosing patterns
  4. Supplies and industry tips and tricks to sew with leather
  5. Seams
    • Basic
    • Flat-felled
    • Lapped
    • Cut-edge Lapped
  6. Darts
    • Classic
    • Overlap
    • Slot
  7. How to sew flaps and collars and cuffs
  8. Sewing the Peplum top
    • Cutting and Marking on Leather
    • Staying Leather
    • Pressing Leather
    • Sewing Darts
    • Inserting Zipper
    • Finishing
  9. Bonus: A 29 page PDF document showing step by step photos of all the different types of darts and seams. ">Leather 101 Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1054 (MISSES SHIRT AND PANTS)

4 more reviews
Viewed 981 times 
Reviewed by:Cleome33
photo

 
 
About Cleome33
FL USA
Member since: 3/11/09
Reviews: 1 (patterns: 1)
Skill level:Advanced
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/09 3:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Alycia10 said... (10/31/09 2:58 PM) Reply
The picture needs to enlarge and it does not. Cannot see the garment close up enough.
Sydney529 said... (6/30/09 1:33 PM) Reply
Almost finished with this one...made in ploy crepe with charmeuse for bias seam binding. Trickiest part is the sleeve facings; had to use my own technique for those. Also pattern calls for bound buttonholes for 1/2" buttons...I knew that I couldn't do ones that small and have them all exactly alike so did machine ones. I also did machine topstitching instead of hand topstitching about 1/8" from edge instead of 1/4. I think I will make this shirt again in a heavy silk crepe.
CarolynGM said... (5/17/09 8:05 AM) Reply
I'm thinking of making this shirt too. Can you show us a bigger picture?
EleanorSews said... (5/16/09 8:05 PM) Reply
Interesting pattern that somehow I have overlooked. Thsnk for the review.
carolynw said... (5/16/09 5:36 PM) Reply
I also have this patternbut am waiting until I have a good deal of time to devote to doing it properly - wish I could see yours larger than the thumb print - thanks for the review
stsimon said... (5/15/09 2:56 PM) Reply
I have this pattern, but the thought of the time required by those overlapped seams is daunting! Your solution is a good one, but maybbe requires a lot of measuring and pressing to get a nice even 1/4" overlap? I think that I will use the nice long basting stitch on my Brother machine to sew a 5/8" seam, press, then sew your 1/2" seam, topstitch, and then remove the basting thread. Looking forward to a picture of your final result!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8847

photo
by: Irene M

Review
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Pattern Details
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Pattern Details