SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8489 (MISSES' DRESS)

22 more reviews
Viewed 1015 times 
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/09 11:32 PM
Last Updated:5/15/09 11:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $6.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $6.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
The dress looks fantastic on you.
5/15/09 11:39 PM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous dress. You look wonderful.
5/15/09 11:53 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Beautiful dress Cindy. I was ready to put all my banded dresses aside until I just read the suggestions linked in your review. Thank you. Maybe I'll take my banded collar off and start again. Thanks again.
5/15/09 11:58 PM
Wagtail said...
That dress looks really nice. I love the way it falls from the hips. You've done a fabulous job. I agree with your comments re. the description "Very Easy Vogue", I have used a Very Easy Vogue Pattern, and thought it should not be called that. I love your dress, I am going to buy the pattern for our next summer, here in Australia.
5/16/09 0:00 AM
ssssdeb said...
Mission accomplished - this does not look homemade - it looks fabulous on you!
5/16/09 0:45 AM
petro said...
I've made this pattern and agree with your comments on the work involved. I like your version, looks great.
5/16/09 3:11 AM
kerrynw said...
Your dress looks fabulous! I love the colour and the way it falls.
5/16/09 4:27 AM
Lisa p said...
That dress is beautiful , it looks better than RTW definately proffessional .
5/16/09 4:41 AM
Renren said...
Very nice. I just love the drape and thanks for the links. You've done a fabulous job on the hem of this knit, too.
5/16/09 5:33 AM
Darla in PA said...
Fantastic dress! Looks wonderful on you!
5/16/09 6:58 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful lines on this dress. It's very flattering too.
5/16/09 7:07 AM
Judy Wentz said...
What else is there to say but WOW! jw
5/16/09 8:23 AM
Ellenatlga said...
Beautiful! Love this dress!
5/16/09 9:01 AM
lyra said...
Gorgeous! The color is wonderful.
5/16/09 9:11 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
Ooooo!!! This dress is SOOO PRETTY!!! I LOVE-LOVE-LOVE the color (purple is my VERY favorite color)!! The dress fits you to a T in color, style, AND fit!!
5/16/09 9:38 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress - looks really good on you
5/16/09 9:41 AM
Catbird said...
That is beautiful on you, Cindy! Chic, clean lines, sophisticated and flattering. Gorgeous fabric and color, and perfect accessorizing.
5/16/09 10:01 AM
Erica B. said...
Cindy, this dress looks gorgeous on you!
5/16/09 10:10 AM
DorothyK said...
Fantastic dress. I've been wanting to make the long-sleeved version for a long time. Now I want to make the sleeveless. Thanks for the review.
5/16/09 11:16 AM
nellc said...
Lovely dress!
5/16/09 11:20 AM
Gold said...
Very sexy and cute dress!Great job!
5/16/09 11:40 AM
Annette1 said...
Fussing and sewing, sewing and fussing, but it was all worth it in the end, as your dress turned out beautifully! Very flattering, too!
5/16/09 1:08 PM
Amanda S. said...
Dang! 2 hours and 20 minutes on this dress?!! How can you people sew that quickly? Well anyway, it's super cute and I love it with the necklace as well.
5/16/09 3:06 PM
Barbara V said...
Lovely dress! You look gorgeous in it and your choice of excessories are great too.
5/16/09 3:16 PM
Karine said...
Cute dress - looks great on you. Thanks for including the discussion on banded necklines and facings - very helpful!
5/16/09 4:55 PM
Leora said...
I got to reread that thread, good stuff there! Your dress is gorgeous!!
5/16/09 11:20 PM
valerie sews said...
YOur dress looks so cute on you. YOu did a great job on it.
5/17/09 6:03 AM
sew2little said...
I have two words for how you look in your beautiful dress: WOO WOO!
5/17/09 4:30 PM
Kellie R. said...
*whistle* How hot do you look in this SEXY dress?! You did a great job on this. I tried making this dress last year and it became a wadder. Maybe I'll give it another shot. You look FABULOUS!
5/18/09 10:56 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is such a hot dress girl! I am bummed I didn't get to try it on - do you think it's too low cut for me? The color is smashing too - I should have just packed it in my suitcase and then you would have though you left it behind! lol
5/18/09 12:40 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I wanted to try it on, too. *pout*. Anyhow, you looked like you were straight out of Lucky magazine in that hot number.
5/18/09 8:00 PM
RobinMCPA said...
I attempted this pattern and had a horrible time getting the bands to work!! I couldn't figure out for the life of me how the back neck bands were supposed to line up, as I also had decided to eliminate the zipper. I actually was so frustrated with it I threw out the pattern! Maybe I'll buy it again next time it's on sale and give it another chance, after seeing how great yours turned out. Then again, there are so many other great patterns out there so maybe I won't bother!! LOL.
6/10/09 10:02 PM
Blooms said...
You look very elegant. Beautiful colour! Thanks for showing us your version.
6/15/09 6:43 AM
cassfox said...
Perfect fabric color and your accessories choices are excellent as well! I'm a beginner sew-er (not a word, I know :-) so we will see how this works out! :-)
8/25/09 5:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8280

photo
by: Cristinagf

Review
Jalie 2796

photo
by: Jeneration...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Buy Now