SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Advance Pattern Company> 7850 (1950s shirtwaist dress)

Viewed 428 times 
Reviewed by:graustark
photo

 
 
About graustarkstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/7/08
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/17/09 10:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
heapha said...
actually I find set in sleeves to be way easier than the kimono style you ahve done here... could you tell me how you took material out from under the arms as I am struggling to get the kimono sleeve to not look bulky on me.
2/18/10 7:41 PM
Mebber said...
Beautiful. You have a great sense of style.
7/15/09 3:12 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is a GREAT dress! I can see why you decided that you WILL make this again - it has lots of possibilitites. Great job!
5/18/09 10:49 AM
mrs quickly said...
Beautiful! Very fresh and sweet. Wonderful fabric and button choice.
5/17/09 4:06 PM
MaryDB said...
Great job, the dress looks terrific on you, and so comfortable.
5/17/09 3:30 PM
eugenia123 said...
Fabulous dress. It looks beautifully made - great job. I love it.
5/17/09 2:24 PM
Lisa Merry said...
Super cute! The dress looks lovely on you and I love the cuffs, collar, and watermelon red lining.
5/17/09 2:23 PM
Speech girl said...
Lovely--great job, especially with all the "firsts". Fun fabric choice--great for warm weather.
5/17/09 1:01 PM
Peggy L said...
Great dress! You did a wonderful job and I love your choice of fabric/lining/buttons. It looks comfortable and cool for the hot Houston weather. I think you could have several of these in your wardrobe.
5/17/09 12:45 PM
Tiner W said...
I love your dress!
5/17/09 12:39 PM
birdmcfarland said...
I am in love with this dress. I think shirt-dresses are so versatile, ladylike and functional. You did a really nice job on this and it looks fantastic. As far as making another one, I think you could have several of these and vary things like the sleeves and collar for interest. Bravo!!
5/17/09 11:00 AM
Catbird said...
I love the way this looks on you. That retro style suits you and I think all the design choices you made worked really well. I even like the slight looseness in the waistline -- to me that just adds to the cool, summery, retro look. And as far as more experienced sewists not making silly mistakes . . . well I can assure you (speaking only for myself) that that's not the case! Love the watermelon red lining and the buttons too. Nice job!
5/17/09 10:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

McCall's 6041

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

More Info
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 4698

photo
by: princessju...

Review