SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5106 (Bolero Jacket)

23 more reviews
Viewed 2749 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/03 7:03 PM
Last Updated:12/14/03 7:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
galadriel45 said...
What a beautiful jacket in a beautiful fabric. Very successful combination of color, design and fabric.
12/14/03 7:22 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautifully done. Flashy, but with lots of style.
12/14/03 7:40 PM
Diane E said...
Oh I love love love this! Sue, this is an absolutely gorgeous jacket. What colors/garments are you going to wear with it? I have some silk brocade that will work beautifully and washed, it softens up so nicely. Thanks for the idea!
12/14/03 8:10 PM
jlg said...
Absolutely gorgeous. I love that material.
12/14/03 8:18 PM
Motorposus said...
Pehaps it is because of the relative stiffness of the brocade, but I think your jacket looks shaplier than the ones shown on the pattern. Very beautiful.
12/14/03 9:37 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Great job! Fabric looks perfect and wonderful!
12/14/03 9:38 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
That's a beautiful jacket! Very pretty combination of pattern and fabric!
12/14/03 10:01 PM
Deepika said...
drsue I love reading your reviews! Like all your other projects this one's a stunner too! I have this pattern but now I want the Piazza jacket pattern too after reading your other reviews. And I've never even made a jacket for myself before :) Thanks for the review.
12/14/03 10:29 PM
Ann Smith said...
Fabulous jacket! I just love it.
12/14/03 11:45 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow drsue. Your jacket is beautiful and stylish. I've made 2 long bolero jackets, but having seen your interpretation, I believe I must now try a short one.
12/15/03 3:01 AM
cindyann said...
Just beautiful! I've had this pattern on my wish list for a while, but I think it's time to actually get it. What did you use for the ties?
12/15/03 7:20 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Sue I love the fabric! And great job, too...
12/15/03 7:25 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful! I love the fabric and the color.
12/15/03 1:46 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Like this jacket. I have made this jacket and as you state it is very easy to make. I love the colors of your jacket. Thanks for the review.
12/15/03 5:25 PM
mudcat said...
Really nice jacket. The fabric is nice and you're lucky you can wear that color.
12/15/03 5:35 PM
drsue said...
Thanks for all the great comments: Diane E: I think I can only get away with wearing black or dark grey with this jacket, the simpler the style the better. Cindyann: The ties were done with 1/4" petersham (real grosgrain) that I bought from the pattern place
12/15/03 8:52 PM
drsue said...
OOPS, I mean "the sewing place."
12/15/03 8:54 PM
oldsewandsew said...
Beautiful Jacket!
1/5/04 5:21 PM
drdeez said...
drsue, love you jacket. Here's a question. Did you find the collar in the back did not lie flat with the heftier fabric. I have made a muslin and the collar is too wide and sticks up too much.
12/4/06 1:55 AM
drsue said...
Doris: I really don't have that problem with this jacket. It probably is a fabric issue. My fabric is 100% silk. Though it is stiff it is quite malleable; thus it shapes nicely around the neck.
12/4/06 9:51 AM
EleanorMcCarthy said...
Love your jacket drsue. I wouldn't have thought of using a brocade with this pattern, but it turned out terrific. I have read in Threads that if you wash the silk brocade, it gets much softer, though its character is somewhat changed. Maybe you might like to try that another time. I think this would be a terrific jacket for dressing up. You should make one in black too.
2/6/07 2:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 286481-1007

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now