Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5106 (Bolero Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2746 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/03 7:03 PM
Last Updated:12/14/03 7:07 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
galadriel45 said...
What a beautiful jacket in a beautiful fabric. Very successful combination of color, design and fabric.
12/14/03 7:22 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautifully done. Flashy, but with lots of style.
12/14/03 7:40 PM
Diane E said...
Oh I love love love this! Sue, this is an absolutely gorgeous jacket. What colors/garments are you going to wear with it? I have some silk brocade that will work beautifully and washed, it softens up so nicely. Thanks for the idea!
12/14/03 8:10 PM
jlg said...
Absolutely gorgeous. I love that material.
12/14/03 8:18 PM
Motorposus said...
Pehaps it is because of the relative stiffness of the brocade, but I think your jacket looks shaplier than the ones shown on the pattern. Very beautiful.
12/14/03 9:37 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Great job! Fabric looks perfect and wonderful!
12/14/03 9:38 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
That's a beautiful jacket! Very pretty combination of pattern and fabric!
12/14/03 10:01 PM
Deepika said...
drsue I love reading your reviews! Like all your other projects this one's a stunner too! I have this pattern but now I want the Piazza jacket pattern too after reading your other reviews. And I've never even made a jacket for myself before :) Thanks for the review.
12/14/03 10:29 PM
Ann Smith said...
Fabulous jacket! I just love it.
12/14/03 11:45 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow drsue. Your jacket is beautiful and stylish. I've made 2 long bolero jackets, but having seen your interpretation, I believe I must now try a short one.
12/15/03 3:01 AM
cindyann said...
Just beautiful! I've had this pattern on my wish list for a while, but I think it's time to actually get it. What did you use for the ties?
12/15/03 7:20 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Sue I love the fabric! And great job, too...
12/15/03 7:25 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful! I love the fabric and the color.
12/15/03 1:46 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Like this jacket. I have made this jacket and as you state it is very easy to make. I love the colors of your jacket. Thanks for the review.
12/15/03 5:25 PM
mudcat said...
Really nice jacket. The fabric is nice and you're lucky you can wear that color.
12/15/03 5:35 PM
drsue said...
Thanks for all the great comments: Diane E: I think I can only get away with wearing black or dark grey with this jacket, the simpler the style the better. Cindyann: The ties were done with 1/4" petersham (real grosgrain) that I bought from the pattern place
12/15/03 8:52 PM
drsue said...
OOPS, I mean "the sewing place."
12/15/03 8:54 PM
oldsewandsew said...
Beautiful Jacket!
1/5/04 5:21 PM
drdeez said...
drsue, love you jacket. Here's a question. Did you find the collar in the back did not lie flat with the heftier fabric. I have made a muslin and the collar is too wide and sticks up too much.
12/4/06 1:55 AM
drsue said...
Doris: I really don't have that problem with this jacket. It probably is a fabric issue. My fabric is 100% silk. Though it is stiff it is quite malleable; thus it shapes nicely around the neck.
12/4/06 9:51 AM
EleanorMcCarthy said...
Love your jacket drsue. I wouldn't have thought of using a brocade with this pattern, but it turned out terrific. I have read in Threads that if you wash the silk brocade, it gets much softer, though its character is somewhat changed. Maybe you might like to try that another time. I think this would be a terrific jacket for dressing up. You should make one in black too.
2/6/07 2:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Burda 8343
photo
Review by artkat on 2/4/07
Read Review

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2558
photo
Review by BrightFeat... on 7/29/10
Read Review

Vogue 8907 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8907 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3813 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3813 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us