Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: V8538 (Marcy Tilton jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 676 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:mm
photo
About mmstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/6/03
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/18/09 8:54 PM
Last Updated:5/19/09 2:43 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Izzie said...
Your jacket looks nice in the thumbnail picture. I wish I could help you, but I'm not familiar with using Flickr. Hopefully someone will chime in with instructions and I will look forward to seeing a larger picture. I had not paid much attention to this pattern, but your fine review had piqued my intrest!
5/18/09 11:26 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your photo link is working fine now. I'm fascinated with this pattern and would love to try it too.
5/19/09 6:53 AM
marthamyers said...
Great jacket! None of your mistakes are visible and you've inspired me. When I saw this jacket pattern, I was unimpressed, but yours is beautiful. Maybe I *need* this pattern, after all. Thanks for your review!
5/19/09 8:59 AM
m/m said...
Looks good and comfortable to wear as an extra layer. Combining the front darts and the pockets is quite a challenge and you managed it beautifully!
5/19/09 9:49 AM
moushka said...
Great jacket, thanks for the inspiring review.
5/19/09 10:33 AM
jannw said...
Great jacket..I will now move this pattern up in my "to sew" line. Thanx for the tips
5/19/09 10:53 AM
EleanorSews said...
Interesting jacket. It appears to be the perfect crossover season jacket that will accomodate a heavier sweater when needed. I like the shaping as often what you find are boxy looking jackets.
5/19/09 11:39 AM
barbcl said...
Fantastic jacket! The fabric really does the design justice, and your sewing is WOW. Looks great.
5/19/09 12:29 PM
lisa d458 said...
I also found this jacket to be too big for me and it was really hard to tell what size it would turn out until it was done. But, I still love it and I will probably go and buy the smaller size pattern sometime in the future. My cotton was stiff so I added no interfacing. I dropped my feed dogs, put on a darning foot and did free motion zigzagging for the decorative stitches. I set up a second sewing machine so I didn't have to switch back and forth between the darning foot and the regular foot. Also, I had a bit of trouble with the pockets and never did get the inside of them right. I put the velcro on for closures but didn't use any heat sensitive glue to attach it, just a pin. My larger sized friends are trying to steal this jacket from me!
6/3/09 6:56 PM
Ann Smith said...
I love your jacket so much I decided to jump this pattern to the top of my pile and I'm working on it now. Question.... did you add cuffs or have you just turned up the sleeves?
7/4/09 1:41 AM
mm said...
Ann I am so pleased you like it. I didn't add cuffs but just turned the sleeves back as the pattern was a bit too big. There is a small slit at the end of the sleeves that helps the turn up.
7/20/09 8:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Vogue Patterns 8805
photo
Review by BarrieHayw... on 6/12/12
Read Review

Vogue 8863 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8863 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8987 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8987 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1093
photo
Review by SueV on 1/21/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us