Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8582 (MISSES' TOP) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 699 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Riesie
photo
Friend of PR
About Riesiestar
VA USA
Member since: 1/23/08
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/09 12:47 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Thanks for sharing your experience with the pattern--I agree that the drape looks awfully odd when sewn up. At least you were able to salvage it into a shell!
5/24/09 1:50 PM
Andreahg said...
Sorry it didn't work. Each wadder is a learning experience!
5/24/09 1:58 PM
mssewcrazy said...
When I looked at the pattern photo I thought how cute but after going to have a look at the line drawing I thought oh dear. I think I will pass on this one as well- at least you were able to salvage a shell instead of creating a wadder.
5/24/09 3:49 PM
msladyj said...
You saved a wadder. The shell looks nice. Thank you for the review.
5/24/09 5:19 PM
marec said...
I love all of Marci Tilton's patterns but this one...thanks for the review. Sorry it did not work for you but at least you have a shell.
5/24/09 7:14 PM
Renren said...
I love your shell. I have some Marci Tilton patterns but I wonder if I will ever sew them. They strike me as artful, avant garde . . . and high risk, at least for this beginner. But your shell is great, really nice looking and also a good fit.
5/24/09 11:28 PM
Annette1 said...
Nice save on this one! Thanks to your innovative changes, you made this a very cute and very wearable tank. It'll look nice under jackets or just on its own. I'm trying to remember if I've made any Marci Tilton patterns. Yes, I've made two. Both of them ran VERY, VERY, VERY big. I'm not sure if they're all that way, but the ones I made were, at least (both of them being jackets). Great job!
5/25/09 0:59 AM
moonchild61 said...
You kept your cool and made it work! Thanks for the review; I will avoid this pattern.
5/25/09 9:11 AM
Samina said...
Thanks for the review! I think I disagree with you. I made the sleeveless version in a plum bamboo knit. I also had to shorten the length by 3" so it was more in scale with my 5ft 4in height, but I kept the side drape and it looks great. The neckband was a little fiddly to work with but do-able, as long as you expect the result to be an arty, interesting neckline rather than clean finished. I also checked out Marci Tilton's website where she gives you some hints and photos of this particular pattern. I am certainly going to make this top again.
5/30/09 1:22 PM
Pam in Virginia said...
I understand what you said about the pattern and it may be better suited to the tall and thin, but I think you did a fantastic job of rescuing it. It is flattering and in the photo appears well made, hangs nicely, etc. Good job.
10/7/09 9:26 AM
Fiberhead said...
Reviewer wrote: "The side drape is not long enough to be an obvious drape" and noted "I shortened the length by 3" -- Did this alteration make the side drape not "an obvious drape"?
2/6/10 6:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Other 4565 Vintage Dress
photo
Review by Sickofitci... on 11/2/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9491 Pattern
Burda 9491 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7969
photo
Review by Secretsuga... on 1/24/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us