SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5818 

8 more reviews
Viewed 927 times 
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo

 
 
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 272
Favored by: 158 people
patterns reviewed: 261
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/09 8:32 PM
Last Updated:11/24/09 5:11 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
prostheticsgirl said...
Wow, both versions look wonderful! I love the blue shoes with your floral version; great job
2/28/13 10:27 AM
mochimo said...
Beautiful!
11/25/09 5:47 AM
senaSews said...
the dress fits you like a glove. Great LBD!
11/25/09 3:05 AM
SusiM said...
Thanks for reviewing this lovely pattern. Your dress looks beautiful on you.
11/24/09 11:02 PM
sewtime said...
Fabulous dress, you look great.
11/24/09 5:21 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Pati Palmer - What a grand complement. Thank you so much! I would be honored for you to post my photo. My name is Cennetta Burwell-Walker living in Chicago, Illinois.
6/5/09 10:08 AM
Pati Palmer said...
Can I show off your photo on our web site with the pattern M5818? You look so fabulous in the dress and you did a great job. Let me know. I can copy it from here and put your name, city and state by the photo if you'd like to give me that info. I will not show the picture without your permission. At any rate. You are GOOD!! Pati Palmer
6/4/09 3:23 PM
kim*brown said...
So pretty!
5/30/09 10:29 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Hi Bananaoil, I true the cutting line by gradually decreasing collecting the end of the extended section to the rest of the side seam. I hope that is clear. Thanks, Cennetta
5/23/09 8:48 PM
Barbara V said...
Lovely fabric and beautiful dress! You achieved such a great and flattering fit. Great work.
5/23/09 11:23 AM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress rocks on you!
5/23/09 9:51 AM
bananaoil said...
The dress is lovely (and you have the shoes!) Looking at the broad shoulder alteration, once you slide the shoulder area out and make the shoulder seam longer, do you blend the extended side seam back with the lower side seam or, cut the side seam even from the armhole down? I hope this is clear.
5/21/09 10:52 PM
Sheila457 said...
Gorgeous dress.
5/21/09 12:21 PM
Heatherrique said...
Cennetta, you look so breathtakingly chic in this dress! You achieved a superb fit and I adore this style on you!
5/20/09 8:06 PM
velosewer said...
You've done a great dress, fantastic fabric choice and the pattern suits your frame too. 3 out of 3.
5/20/09 7:37 PM
Sharon M said...
I love it! I'm so glad you reviewed this. The pattern is in my stash but I wasn't sure about it. I'm convinced I must sew it after seeing yours. Your fabric choice is perfect!
5/20/09 6:42 PM
Christas said...
WOWZA! This looks fantastic on you!
5/20/09 3:56 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I received an e-mail from one of my blog buddies asking about my selection of pattern size and about the process of making the FBA. I thought it would be a good idea to post that response here as well. Size 14 is closest to my other body measurements. The size 16 neckline is too big for me, not to mention the waist and hip area. I'm a little top heavy. lol As it is when I make the FBA, that adds width to the waist and hip area. I end up sewing larger seam allowances past the bustline and increased vertical darts. I'm not sure if this approach will work for you. But you can try it with pattern fit or muslin. The reason I only make the FBA on the bodice area of the dress, is to save time. I cut the pattern piece into two pieces, separating the bodice from the skirt of the front dress pattern. Next, I make the FBA only on the bodice section. Then I tape the bodice and skirt sections back together, match the side seam at the waist area. To true the Center Front line of the pattern, I simply do that as I cut the actual dress/lining out of the fashion fabric. My goal is to maximize my sewing time as I'm always involved in so many things non-stop.
5/20/09 11:03 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Cute summer dress, it looks wonderful on you!
5/20/09 10:58 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Khunter - I purchased the shoes about 2 years ago from DSW. I wear them with other outfits in my wardrobe. Thanks, C
5/20/09 10:44 AM
khunter said...
Just wondering if you got those great shoes before buying the fabric or after? Stunning outfit!!!!!!
5/20/09 10:20 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Leora - My apology for not including details on how I handle the vertical darts when I make a FBA. For me, initially I redraw the section of the dart that is moved as a result of the FBA. This serves as the test location. I baste the VD front darts, shoulder and side seams to check fit and placement of the dart. If adjustments are needed, I use pins as markers, remove the dress, remove the basting and stitch the new location for the seams and darts. For this dress, I ended up moving the darts slightly towards the middle. The side seams were sewn at 5/8" at the armhole. From below the bust to the hem, I sewed seam allowance at 1 inch. I hope this answers your question. If you have more questions, please ask. Thank you, Cennetta
5/20/09 10:13 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks, everyone!
5/20/09 10:12 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is gorgeous! I never noticed this pattern before... the neckline is very pretty and you look great! LOVE the shoes - they really make the whole look pop.
5/20/09 9:54 AM
anncie1 said...
This is very pretty! Don't you just love vogue!! Nice fabric/dress combo, I live for those finds!!!
5/20/09 9:49 AM
Michelle L said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks for all the details on the alterations.
5/20/09 8:38 AM
halleyscomet said...
Very classy looking and the color is great on you! Good job!
5/20/09 8:11 AM
wreninrome said...
reminds me of First Lady Obama and her love of sheath dresses...which i love too! beautiful work
5/20/09 8:00 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress. Truly love the fabric and the fabric price!!
5/20/09 6:47 AM
Leora said...
I don't get your vertical dart. Did you do the FBA then sew the VD as originally drawn? so many questions!!! Love the dress!
5/20/09 1:47 AM
Athene said...
Such a fresh spring and summer look. Thank you so much for the photo of the FBA - it makes it so clear.
5/20/09 0:43 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Very beautiful dress! It looks great on you. Love the fabric!
5/20/09 0:26 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Very nice dress!!
5/19/09 11:04 PM
Renren said...
Beautful! Love the color and styling and thanks a million for showing the alterations you made. I love it when reviwers do that because no matter how many times I read about it, the best way to really understand it is to see a picture.
5/19/09 9:30 PM
QuickFade said...
Stunning! Very inspirational! It fits you so well, and the shoes are perfect. I would not have thought of that fabric for that pattern. I have probably twenty yards of fabric of that type that I got in different prints from Hancock's for $2 a yard a few years ago, and I never thought of making a pretty sheath like that. All I could think of was a flowy skirt or a peasant top style dress. I like your idea much better. Thanks!
5/19/09 9:16 PM
Gold said...
Cute dress! Love the fabric!
5/19/09 8:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2010-105

photo
by: yoshimi

Review
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now