Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2008-108 (shirtdress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 438 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Sallygirl
photo
About Sallygirlstar
Member since: 9/7/08
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 21
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/19/09 10:56 PM
Last Updated:5/20/09 8:22 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michalklimer said...
it looks great!
5/19/09 11:50 PM
michellep74 said...
Thanks for posting both versions of the dress--it provides a good way to compare the two versions!
5/20/09 0:18 AM
khunter said...
i love shirtdresses. Yours is darling . Good job.
5/20/09 0:19 AM
Barbara V said...
This version is great too! The print actually gives your dress a vintage look. Very cool. I also like your proper sitting pose!
5/20/09 0:23 AM
FreyaStark said...
A really nice dress. I wish the photo were bigger so that we could see it more clearly - any chance of enlarging it?
5/20/09 4:43 AM
flygirlTRE said...
That's it! I am making this dress! I never would have looked twice at this dress otherwise. Everyone's dresses look so nice and comfy.
5/20/09 8:21 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a lovely shirtdress - classic and stylish.
5/20/09 9:52 AM
callmeRuth said...
What a wonderful dress! I like your "normal person" pose---what a contrast to the Burda pose, lol.
5/20/09 10:32 AM
EleanorSews said...
Great version of the traditional buttonfront shirtwaist. Your two takes on this are inspiring ~ great sewing!
5/20/09 10:51 AM
barbcl said...
I definitely will try this in a cotton. It looks fab, and I agree that the elastic is a distraction for me!
5/20/09 1:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very pretty dress, Sally! Yes, that model is very unrealistic in her sitting pose - too revealing. Thanks for your review!
5/20/09 4:46 PM
Peggy L said...
Cute dress! It looks like it will cool and comfortable.
5/20/09 9:04 PM
kerrynw said...
Lovely dress!
5/21/09 3:04 AM
Speech girl said...
Great dress--it does have a vintage look to it! You are inspiring me to make another version of this dress :)
5/21/09 8:53 AM
bananaoil said...
Hats off to you for looking at that crazy picture from Burda and seeing a serviceable garment therein. Nice dress.
5/21/09 10:44 PM
maedchen said...
Everything about it is lovely!
5/29/09 8:25 PM
Christas said...
I love this! So pretty!
6/13/09 9:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 2584
photo
Review by SewSho on 3/8/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Hollywood 910
photo
Review by Peter in N... on 8/4/10
Read Review

Wonder Wallet
Wonder Wallet

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8976 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8976 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7075 Pattern
Burda 7075 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us