SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3120 (Raglan Tops)

30 more reviews
Viewed 430 times 
Reviewed by:Kayseri
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kayseristarstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 4/21/09
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/20/09 11:56 PM
Last Updated:2/28/10 1:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MareeAlison said...
Kayseri - I've PMd you with some info on FBAs. As mentioned Debbie Cook has lots of info on her blog and in particular a FBA for a raglan. Here's a link to her pattern tips. http://www.cedesign.com/familyphotos/sewing/info/index.html
5/22/09 11:48 PM
Renren said...
Well, I think your top is nice and I sympathize with the bulge on the raglan seams. I am having the same bulge on a knit top I made that has set in sleeves. The top fits well otherwise, but I do want to eliminate the bulge. I guess the next thing for us to do is post photos at the Fitting Woes Message Board with the hopes someone can i.d. the problem. Right now, I'm thinking I need to either go down one size or do a narrow chest adjustment AND do an FBA--but I'm not sure. Good luck and I'll keep my eyes open for future reviews where you come up with a solution-hopefully before I do, because I'm kind of slow on these things.
5/22/09 10:25 AM
homejewel said...
I'm sorry you haven't got this fit just right yet, but hopefully the FBA will do the trick for you. Thank you for posting this review, though, because I've been looking for a pattern for activewear and I think this might be the perfect pattern - especially with contrasting colors like you have shown.
5/21/09 1:19 PM
Kellie R. said...
I think your shirt looks great... I was surprised that you are aren't happy with it yet - but I understand that you want to get the fitting nailed. Good luck; I can't wait to see it in the fuzzy knit!
5/21/09 8:58 AM
Ariadne said...
The shirt looks professional. I am glad you are aiming for just right. A lovely knit would be so 1940's sweater girl. I can see why you would want it to be perfect. While you are waiting, one of the PR members- ?Debbie Cook?Karla Kizer? has links to various FBA's she's done. It's more than one method. They are listed in the message board area. That might quell your impatience for awhile. And, your fortitude in face of imported books- admirable. I don't think I could live there, for that one reason.
5/21/09 1:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Kwik Sew 2856

photo
by: nowak

Review
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now