SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2239 (Vintage 1950's evening gown)

2 more reviews
Viewed 430 times 
Reviewed by:Poifect
photo

 
 
About Poifectstar
OR USA
Member since: 10/27/08
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/09 2:18 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryDB said...
Beautiful dress, wonderful job. What's the occasion?
5/25/09 2:46 AM
Poifect said...
I wore it to the annual Viennese Ball in Portland, OR.
5/25/09 2:49 AM
JoanneM said...
You have been busy! Love the men's suit and the dress. Did it take a while to make both outfits? What was the time factor for the men's suit and for your dress? Looks fantastic. Both items!
5/25/09 9:22 AM
Uhoh said...
Would have preferred more detail about the construction techniques.
5/25/09 10:03 AM
Re Becca said...
It looks very pretty, but the picture won't enlarge. Can you show us what went into the structure of the bodice, is there boning?
5/25/09 10:28 AM
Rosebeee said...
Sounds like a great dress! The red & white colors look nice in your thumbnail photo!
5/25/09 11:01 AM
Irene said...
The dress looks beautiful. Could you make the photo clickable? I'd love to see the details better. Which construction techniques surprised you?
5/25/09 2:44 PM
Poifect said...
The total construction time was about 14 hrs. Including cutting out of pattern, fabric and sewing. The construction part that surprised me was the zipper. It is prickstitched by hand which I had never done before, and as mentioned above I did not trust it to really hold. I always think if I sew it by hand it is not as sturdy but I was wrong. And with the satin it really looks beautiful and did prevented pulls and gathers. It also had a grossgrain inside belt. It is tacked on several points to the lining and helps to hold up the waight of the skirt. The dress does have boning in the lining. In the side seam, the front darts and next to the zipper in the back. The belt is much narrower in the front as mentioned above (only about 1/2" wide) and I added some crystalls to make it stand out more. The hem is a rolled hem which I did on the serger with a wolly nylon in both loopers. It was much faster instead of a hand rolled hem which is recomended in the pattern. I hope this helps.
7/2/09 6:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1164 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now