SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8552 (MISSES' DRESS)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1295 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 441
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 113 people
patterns reviewed: 408
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/09 2:35 PM
Last Updated:8/11/09 2:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maryfrana said...
Love everything about this dress. The fabric, the design, the pockets. Thanks for the review and I guess I need to buy this.
5/26/09 3:18 PM
carnelian said...
A great choice for a gorgeous fabric!
5/26/09 4:21 PM
JudyP said...
Beautiful fabric, beautiful dress!
5/26/09 4:24 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely dress! The pattern and fabric were made or each other.
5/26/09 5:05 PM
Kellie R. said...
I'm so glad that you decided to cut into this beautiful fabric! I love linen and this fabric is perfect for this dress. Great job!
5/26/09 5:26 PM
marec said...
So pretty-and the back pattern is very striking.
5/26/09 5:47 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful dress and fabric. I passed on this pattern for the same reason you were worried about but now I think I will have to get it and use some of my linen.
5/26/09 6:13 PM
theluxuriousvagabond said...
Wow, I love the fabric with this pattern. It looks very fresh and pretty!
5/26/09 8:24 PM
Annieq said...
Oooh, I bought this pattern a month ago. Now you've inspired me to move on it. Thanks!
5/26/09 8:54 PM
ButtonFaith said...
This is too cute! I gravitate towards looser styles and this one caught my eye but I, too thought it might look too mu-mu-y! I'm so glad to see this made up! It's inspired me!
5/26/09 9:41 PM
sew2little said...
Sue--What a great dress in beautiful, beautiful fabric. I wouldn't have given this pattern a second look, but your rendition inspires many looks! Marci
5/27/09 0:40 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
I just bought this pattern and thought it would be a cute summer shift. I really like how you've used a printed linen for it...has me thinking of my stash....... Thanks for the review.
5/27/09 1:14 AM
shesflipped said...
Super cute dress, Sue! The fabric is perfect for this style of dress!
5/27/09 8:17 AM
carolynw said...
Really nice - great match at the back!!
5/27/09 9:41 AM
jso4fun said...
Love the dress, love the fabric. And I like the sneak peak of your sewing machine and thread collection in the background, too!
5/27/09 12:06 PM
Secretsugar said...
This dress came out beautifully! I like the pockets on the side like that and think they (and the length) definitely decrease the muu-muu potential of this dress. Lovely!
5/28/09 8:21 AM
Kathi R said...
Wow, I never would have looked twice at this pattern.....but you really made a winner out of it. This looks like a dress that you can make again and again. Thanks for the review.
5/29/09 6:48 PM
Kathi R said...
Wow, I never would have looked twice at this pattern.....but you really made a winner out of it. This looks like a dress that you can make again and again. Thanks for the review.
5/29/09 6:48 PM
pammieh said...
I bought this pattern - thanks for the tips. I am going to do it first in a light stretchy denim as a test for some nice light wool plaid fabric (to wear with tights:)). I'm worried about the denim - love what you did!!
8/1/09 1:55 AM
dlwk said...
I have just made this dress and although the processes are not difficult I think you need a lot of patience to complete the garment. I think the pockets and their placement are "tricky". I was not thrilled with my result. I think it works best on very slim younger women.
8/9/09 3:35 PM
Kay Y said...
I love this new version!
8/11/09 2:31 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
oooooo, Sue, I love it. Beautiful work, as usual.
8/11/09 5:14 PM
AuntieShel said...
Thank you for this review. I am going to make this dress and searched for reviews. Unfortunately, I cannot see your photos, I get an error message. You answered my question about the shape, though! Was afraid it might look like a burlap bag on me, but you have inspired me to go ahead.
1/31/10 10:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Butterick 5640

photo
by: Aurelie

Review
StyleArc Alice Top

photo
by: michellep7...

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now