SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8552 (MISSES' DRESS)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1296 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 453
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 420
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/09 2:35 PM
Last Updated:8/11/09 2:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AuntieShel said...
Thank you for this review. I am going to make this dress and searched for reviews. Unfortunately, I cannot see your photos, I get an error message. You answered my question about the shape, though! Was afraid it might look like a burlap bag on me, but you have inspired me to go ahead.
1/31/10 10:04 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
oooooo, Sue, I love it. Beautiful work, as usual.
8/11/09 5:14 PM
Kay Y said...
I love this new version!
8/11/09 2:31 PM
dlwk said...
I have just made this dress and although the processes are not difficult I think you need a lot of patience to complete the garment. I think the pockets and their placement are "tricky". I was not thrilled with my result. I think it works best on very slim younger women.
8/9/09 3:35 PM
pammieh said...
I bought this pattern - thanks for the tips. I am going to do it first in a light stretchy denim as a test for some nice light wool plaid fabric (to wear with tights:)). I'm worried about the denim - love what you did!!
8/1/09 1:55 AM
Kathi R said...
Wow, I never would have looked twice at this pattern.....but you really made a winner out of it. This looks like a dress that you can make again and again. Thanks for the review.
5/29/09 6:48 PM
Kathi R said...
Wow, I never would have looked twice at this pattern.....but you really made a winner out of it. This looks like a dress that you can make again and again. Thanks for the review.
5/29/09 6:48 PM
Secretsugar said...
This dress came out beautifully! I like the pockets on the side like that and think they (and the length) definitely decrease the muu-muu potential of this dress. Lovely!
5/28/09 8:21 AM
jso4fun said...
Love the dress, love the fabric. And I like the sneak peak of your sewing machine and thread collection in the background, too!
5/27/09 12:06 PM
carolynw said...
Really nice - great match at the back!!
5/27/09 9:41 AM
shesflipped said...
Super cute dress, Sue! The fabric is perfect for this style of dress!
5/27/09 8:17 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
I just bought this pattern and thought it would be a cute summer shift. I really like how you've used a printed linen for it...has me thinking of my stash....... Thanks for the review.
5/27/09 1:14 AM
sew2little said...
Sue--What a great dress in beautiful, beautiful fabric. I wouldn't have given this pattern a second look, but your rendition inspires many looks! Marci
5/27/09 0:40 AM
ButtonFaith said...
This is too cute! I gravitate towards looser styles and this one caught my eye but I, too thought it might look too mu-mu-y! I'm so glad to see this made up! It's inspired me!
5/26/09 9:41 PM
Annieq said...
Oooh, I bought this pattern a month ago. Now you've inspired me to move on it. Thanks!
5/26/09 8:54 PM
theluxuriousvagabond said...
Wow, I love the fabric with this pattern. It looks very fresh and pretty!
5/26/09 8:24 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful dress and fabric. I passed on this pattern for the same reason you were worried about but now I think I will have to get it and use some of my linen.
5/26/09 6:13 PM
marec said...
So pretty-and the back pattern is very striking.
5/26/09 5:47 PM
Kellie R. said...
I'm so glad that you decided to cut into this beautiful fabric! I love linen and this fabric is perfect for this dress. Great job!
5/26/09 5:26 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely dress! The pattern and fabric were made or each other.
5/26/09 5:05 PM
JudyP said...
Beautiful fabric, beautiful dress!
5/26/09 4:24 PM
carnelian said...
A great choice for a gorgeous fabric!
5/26/09 4:21 PM
maryfrana said...
Love everything about this dress. The fabric, the design, the pockets. Thanks for the review and I guess I need to buy this.
5/26/09 3:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

New Look 6569

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
McCall's 6185

photo
by: rachella

Review
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now