SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8552 (MISSES' DRESS)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1295 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 452
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 419
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/09 2:35 PM
Last Updated:8/11/09 2:04 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maryfrana said...
Love everything about this dress. The fabric, the design, the pockets. Thanks for the review and I guess I need to buy this.
5/26/09 3:18 PM
carnelian said...
A great choice for a gorgeous fabric!
5/26/09 4:21 PM
JudyP said...
Beautiful fabric, beautiful dress!
5/26/09 4:24 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely dress! The pattern and fabric were made or each other.
5/26/09 5:05 PM
Kellie R. said...
I'm so glad that you decided to cut into this beautiful fabric! I love linen and this fabric is perfect for this dress. Great job!
5/26/09 5:26 PM
marec said...
So pretty-and the back pattern is very striking.
5/26/09 5:47 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful dress and fabric. I passed on this pattern for the same reason you were worried about but now I think I will have to get it and use some of my linen.
5/26/09 6:13 PM
theluxuriousvagabond said...
Wow, I love the fabric with this pattern. It looks very fresh and pretty!
5/26/09 8:24 PM
Annieq said...
Oooh, I bought this pattern a month ago. Now you've inspired me to move on it. Thanks!
5/26/09 8:54 PM
ButtonFaith said...
This is too cute! I gravitate towards looser styles and this one caught my eye but I, too thought it might look too mu-mu-y! I'm so glad to see this made up! It's inspired me!
5/26/09 9:41 PM
sew2little said...
Sue--What a great dress in beautiful, beautiful fabric. I wouldn't have given this pattern a second look, but your rendition inspires many looks! Marci
5/27/09 0:40 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
I just bought this pattern and thought it would be a cute summer shift. I really like how you've used a printed linen for it...has me thinking of my stash....... Thanks for the review.
5/27/09 1:14 AM
shesflipped said...
Super cute dress, Sue! The fabric is perfect for this style of dress!
5/27/09 8:17 AM
carolynw said...
Really nice - great match at the back!!
5/27/09 9:41 AM
jso4fun said...
Love the dress, love the fabric. And I like the sneak peak of your sewing machine and thread collection in the background, too!
5/27/09 12:06 PM
Secretsugar said...
This dress came out beautifully! I like the pockets on the side like that and think they (and the length) definitely decrease the muu-muu potential of this dress. Lovely!
5/28/09 8:21 AM
Kathi R said...
Wow, I never would have looked twice at this pattern.....but you really made a winner out of it. This looks like a dress that you can make again and again. Thanks for the review.
5/29/09 6:48 PM
Kathi R said...
Wow, I never would have looked twice at this pattern.....but you really made a winner out of it. This looks like a dress that you can make again and again. Thanks for the review.
5/29/09 6:48 PM
pammieh said...
I bought this pattern - thanks for the tips. I am going to do it first in a light stretchy denim as a test for some nice light wool plaid fabric (to wear with tights:)). I'm worried about the denim - love what you did!!
8/1/09 1:55 AM
dlwk said...
I have just made this dress and although the processes are not difficult I think you need a lot of patience to complete the garment. I think the pockets and their placement are "tricky". I was not thrilled with my result. I think it works best on very slim younger women.
8/9/09 3:35 PM
Kay Y said...
I love this new version!
8/11/09 2:31 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
oooooo, Sue, I love it. Beautiful work, as usual.
8/11/09 5:14 PM
AuntieShel said...
Thank you for this review. I am going to make this dress and searched for reviews. Unfortunately, I cannot see your photos, I get an error message. You answered my question about the shape, though! Was afraid it might look like a burlap bag on me, but you have inspired me to go ahead.
1/31/10 10:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

New Look 6599

photo
by: LOST_kitty...

Review

Pattern

New Look 6097

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Buy Now