SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8397 (MISSES' PANTS)

19 more reviews
Viewed 605 times 
Reviewed by:ssssdeb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ssssdebstar
UT United States
Member since: 11/3/08
Reviews written: 93
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 76
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/09 8:24 PM
Last Updated:5/26/09 8:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
The pleats and tucks make for very nice detailing and I really like the shoes you chose to wear with the pants.
5/27/09 0:58 AM
gaginny said...
Thanks for the review. I just cut these out yesterday..I also chose to shorten mine and am anxious to get them sewn tos ee how I like them.
5/27/09 8:08 AM
Renren said...
Well, I think they look nice. Sometimes I think Marcy Tilton and Sandra Betzina may be designing clothes for . . . well, those of us who are past a certain age and are dealing with the body spreading hither and thither, or really for anyone that might have trouble fitting in sizes based on standard proportions. Thus the elastic waist. I don't know this, but I'm pretty sure that's what SB is all about, and I think maybe (from observation) the same with MT. Nonetheless, I think your pants are striking looking on your slender frame. This link will take you to MT's latest version of these pants: http://www.marcytilton.com/item.php?pid=1239&cid=907
5/27/09 8:59 AM
DorothyK said...
The pants have nice details. I guess it's a matter of getting the right fit. Once you do, I bet you'll love them.
5/27/09 10:17 AM
ssssdeb said...
I understand fitting for the mature figure. At 45 years old that is not lost on me and I fight it with tons of exercise and diet every single day of my life. What I do NOT understand is that when we use the measurements given on the pattern envelope and the garment is 4x's bigger than that, to me that is not good or understandable drafting. I don't mean to rant here - not at all- so please don't take this as a negative. But when I use the pattern's given measurements I'd like some semblance of the same with a finished garment. I can measure and size, but one of the reasons we use patterns is so at least some of that work is done for us - or we could draft our own otherwise. Having sewn many pattern companies, I am just finding that MT patterns are bigger than most. I have some SB that I plan to do soon, so I will keep the same in mind when I tissue fit / measure, etc. before cutting out :)
5/27/09 8:31 PM
Mebber said...
Thank you for an excellent review. I also struggle with greatly oversized patterns and I will avoid this one. I was somewhat drawn to the seemingly contemporary design details but don't want to deal with the required alterations to get them to fit.
6/22/09 8:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

No Pattern Used Reversible Dress

photo
by: CAgirl

Review
McCall's 6360

photo
by: Legal.Deal...

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now