Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5799 (A-line dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 616 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:LindsayT
photo
About LindsayTstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/2/07
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/09 10:40 AM
Last Updated:5/27/09 10:42 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Too cute! She looks darling in it. The fabric is perfection.
5/27/09 10:46 AM
sewbehind said...
Cute dress. Had a good laugh about your 'scandalous' dress. Way to go Mom!
5/27/09 11:03 AM
feldmanTcat said...
I love it. I prefer A line styles and this looks great; your daughter is about my size so now I am thinking of trying this myself. Thanks for sharing!
5/27/09 11:09 AM
redhotpepper said...
Absolutely adorable! I may have to go out and get that pattern now. Of course, my 40something body will require a longer version!
5/27/09 11:18 AM
homejewel said...
I just read your blog. I volunteer at my son's high school and see girls wearing dresses shorter than that and let's not even talk about cleavage. I think the dress is so cute and I may have to get it for my high school student!
5/27/09 11:23 AM
RLL said...
Very attractive and quite RESPECTABLE, and yes I read your blog!
5/27/09 12:48 PM
MissFit said...
soo cute, i think the only thing that would be problimatic is her choice of pairing it with the heels, with the flats it should be perfectly acceptable and cute! Highschool wasn't that long ago for me and trust me, I wore a lot worse then that, including a corset with nothing under it on Halloween! (I so should have gotten sent home for that one)
5/27/09 1:02 PM
Mahler said...
Super dress ! I love everything about. Your daughter is seams so pretty !
5/27/09 1:07 PM
Karen6790 said...
They wanted to send her home because she looked too cute, obviously! The dress is adorable, and I would have been thrilled if my mom made me something like that when I was in high school.
5/27/09 1:08 PM
nglalala said...
Very cute dress and cute fabric! It really does not look that short... what a funny story!
5/27/09 2:02 PM
nicegirl said...
I am going to have to check out this pattern line from McCall. All the "choose a cup size" patterns I've seen combine A/B and then have separate lines for C and D. There is a big difference between an A and a B!!!!! This came out adorable, your daughter looks great in it.
5/27/09 3:42 PM
mendospot said...
I wouldn't have thought about it being too short but since you mention the shoes she wore with it, it was probably too sexy for school. Then I think about her sitting at her desk and the teacher trying not to take a peek up the dress, not to mention everyone else.
5/28/09 1:33 AM
ryan's mom said...
Lindsay, that is AWESOME that your daughter loved this. It is such a cute little number, and I can't wait to read your blog post about it today. I've been a neglectful blog reader as of late.
5/28/09 6:40 AM
cindyann said...
How cute is that! Great fabric.
5/28/09 10:47 AM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous dress! How exciting that DD's friends are envious of her having a mom that can sew!!! Great job.
5/28/09 12:22 PM
Barbara V said...
Pretty dress. So nice to read that DD and friends are impressed with "Mom"!
5/29/09 10:05 AM
kim*brown said...
Adorable!
5/30/09 9:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8411
photo
Review by edupraz on 2/26/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8767 Vintage Vogue
photo
Review by calypso on 10/17/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3509 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3509 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us