SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5799 (A-line dress)

9 more reviews
Viewed 620 times 
Reviewed by:LindsayT
photo

 
 
About LindsayTstarstarstar
Member since: 8/2/07
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 57
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/09 10:40 AM
Last Updated:5/27/09 10:42 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Too cute! She looks darling in it. The fabric is perfection.
5/27/09 10:46 AM
sewbehind said...
Cute dress. Had a good laugh about your 'scandalous' dress. Way to go Mom!
5/27/09 11:03 AM
feldmanTcat said...
I love it. I prefer A line styles and this looks great; your daughter is about my size so now I am thinking of trying this myself. Thanks for sharing!
5/27/09 11:09 AM
redhotpepper said...
Absolutely adorable! I may have to go out and get that pattern now. Of course, my 40something body will require a longer version!
5/27/09 11:18 AM
homejewel said...
I just read your blog. I volunteer at my son's high school and see girls wearing dresses shorter than that and let's not even talk about cleavage. I think the dress is so cute and I may have to get it for my high school student!
5/27/09 11:23 AM
RLL said...
Very attractive and quite RESPECTABLE, and yes I read your blog!
5/27/09 12:48 PM
MissFit said...
soo cute, i think the only thing that would be problimatic is her choice of pairing it with the heels, with the flats it should be perfectly acceptable and cute! Highschool wasn't that long ago for me and trust me, I wore a lot worse then that, including a corset with nothing under it on Halloween! (I so should have gotten sent home for that one)
5/27/09 1:02 PM
Mahler said...
Super dress ! I love everything about. Your daughter is seams so pretty !
5/27/09 1:07 PM
Karen6790 said...
They wanted to send her home because she looked too cute, obviously! The dress is adorable, and I would have been thrilled if my mom made me something like that when I was in high school.
5/27/09 1:08 PM
nglalala said...
Very cute dress and cute fabric! It really does not look that short... what a funny story!
5/27/09 2:02 PM
nicegirl said...
I am going to have to check out this pattern line from McCall. All the "choose a cup size" patterns I've seen combine A/B and then have separate lines for C and D. There is a big difference between an A and a B!!!!! This came out adorable, your daughter looks great in it.
5/27/09 3:42 PM
mendospot said...
I wouldn't have thought about it being too short but since you mention the shoes she wore with it, it was probably too sexy for school. Then I think about her sitting at her desk and the teacher trying not to take a peek up the dress, not to mention everyone else.
5/28/09 1:33 AM
ryan's mom said...
Lindsay, that is AWESOME that your daughter loved this. It is such a cute little number, and I can't wait to read your blog post about it today. I've been a neglectful blog reader as of late.
5/28/09 6:40 AM
cindyann said...
How cute is that! Great fabric.
5/28/09 10:47 AM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous dress! How exciting that DD's friends are envious of her having a mom that can sew!!! Great job.
5/28/09 12:22 PM
Barbara V said...
Pretty dress. So nice to read that DD and friends are impressed with "Mom"!
5/29/09 10:05 AM
kim*brown said...
Adorable!
5/30/09 9:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Butterick 3787

photo
by: karen n

Review
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now