Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2009-116 (Sporty yoked jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 543 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/09 6:58 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CurlyCrafter said...
Such a fabulous jacket! Even the inside looks terrific. Thanks for the review - I always enjoy seeing what you create.
5/27/09 7:04 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your jacket look so great! I love how everything matches inside and out!
5/27/09 7:09 PM
Michelle L said...
Wow, great job on this jacket! Thanks for the photo of the collar and stand...I kept thinking I had done something wrong when it went together like that! I had never seen a collar stand like that, and the directions just confused me more!!
5/27/09 7:31 PM
Elke said...
Great looking jacket!
5/27/09 9:40 PM
JoanneM said...
I love it buttoned also. Great Jacket!
5/27/09 10:24 PM
michellep74 said...
That berry is a gorgeous color on you, and I love the finished jacket. Thanks for the idea about the knit binding to finish an unlined jacket!
5/27/09 10:47 PM
Karen6790 said...
I've been waiting for you to finish this to see if I wanted to tackle it, and thank you, Dawn, you've added one more thing to my list. Great color on you, and I love it with the rest of the wardrobe.
5/28/09 0:45 AM
inkstain said...
I'm going to try a muslin made from used Dockers pants ripped up and you give me pause over whether to line a muslin or not. I see the result without is admirable!
5/28/09 3:50 AM
nancy2001 said...
What a great looking sporty jacket.
5/28/09 6:17 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very smart, and a gorgeous colour.
5/28/09 6:47 AM
morzel said...
Great light jacket! Smart and casual at the same time.
5/28/09 8:53 AM
Renren said...
You got a perfect fit! Lots and lots of wonderful detail. I especially love how you used the knit fabric to bind the edges of the facings. Just the right designer touch.
5/28/09 9:17 AM
kerrynw said...
Cute jacket. I like your idea of using knit binding to neaten the facing edges.
5/28/09 11:15 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Cute, cute, cute!!!!
5/28/09 3:57 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very cute. I love the pocket details.
5/28/09 6:24 PM
Barbara V said...
Very cute and sporty jacket. The knit binding is a great idea. You're all set for fall!
5/29/09 10:27 AM
figtree said...
Such a great jacket! Really lovely, thanks for the tips, hope I can make this one some day!
5/29/09 7:31 PM
amy in mpls said...
ooo! i like it! What a cute jacket. The color is perfect. Your alteration looks like its the perfect fit!
5/31/09 9:06 AM
SoVintage said...
Beautiful, thank you for the tips and hints, I traced the pattern today thank you for the close up of the collar, it helps. Love the use of the knit trim.
6/16/09 9:06 PM
MBPaz said...
This is great on you - color, fit and style. Sadly, it makes me realize that with my broad shoulders I can only get away with it if I make it without top button like another reviewer did. Your knit binding is a terrific idea.
8/26/09 8:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Kwik Sew 2767 nightgown
photo
Review by MaryLynn i... on 6/27/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5283
photo
Review by Amanda S. on 1/2/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1255 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1255 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6944 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6944 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us