SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1201 (Basic Top)

17 more reviews
Viewed 1639 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/21/03 11:54 AM


Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette H said...
Stylish - looks terrific.
8/1/04 2:59 PM
Irene said...
drsue, I meant to say that the serger knife should cut on (or very, very close) to the seam line. If your tension is right (and your stitch width not too wide), the pieces should lie side-by-side ("flat"), with no seam bump. When I pull with all my might, I can create a teeny (less than 1/16" gap. It looks like I used wooly nylon in both loopers. Your question nudged me to find my socks, stored since last winter. It looks like I used wooly nylon in both loopers. If I pull with all my might, I can force a small (1/16") gap, but only until I let go.
12/22/03 7:57 PM
drsue said...
Irene (or anyone else who knows the answer) do you mean that the serger knife then does not cut off any fabric? Your seam edges I'm guessing would be just at the edge of the foot? Do you risk getting a gap between the two edges if you do this?
12/22/03 7:06 PM
Mini said...
I agree about practicing on scraps-finding the right tension for each fabric is really the key to flatlocking. Sometimes you can get a flatter look by pressing the seams carefully (use a presscloth to avoid leaving imprints on the fleece.) I like this pattern and have made it often, but this is a new and very creative way to use it.
12/22/03 2:15 PM
Irene said...
Very nice! About the not-so-flat seams--did you remove the seam allowances before sewing? When you flatlock, the pieces just butt up next to each other, so you don't need seam allowances. If you leave them, the fabric won't quite fit together. Also, it really helps to practice on scraps and adjust tension--each fleece has its own thickness. My first practical use of flatlock was on fleece socks, and they are VERY comfortable (no bumps!) when I wear the "ladder" side against my skin.
12/22/03 1:49 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Yay! I love your bright pink with black trim. What a neat use for flatlocking, so no edges are inside. I'm glad you left out the shoulder pads :)
12/22/03 10:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks comfy and nice job.
12/21/03 7:40 PM
Jan B. said...
I agree with Mudcat! If you had trouble with your flatlocking (not apparent in photo) did you feed your fabric correctly? With my serger, you leave a slight space between the knife and where you are guiding the fabric. It takes a little practice, but yours looks great!
12/21/03 6:49 PM
mudcat said...
I love your outfit. It looks so comfortable and at the same time bright for the winter.
12/21/03 4:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Simplicity 1659

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

More Info