Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1201 (Basic Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1637 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/21/03 11:54 AM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mudcat said...
I love your outfit. It looks so comfortable and at the same time bright for the winter.
12/21/03 4:01 PM
Jan B. said...
I agree with Mudcat! If you had trouble with your flatlocking (not apparent in photo) did you feed your fabric correctly? With my serger, you leave a slight space between the knife and where you are guiding the fabric. It takes a little practice, but yours looks great!
12/21/03 6:49 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks comfy and nice job.
12/21/03 7:40 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Yay! I love your bright pink with black trim. What a neat use for flatlocking, so no edges are inside. I'm glad you left out the shoulder pads :)
12/22/03 10:11 AM
Irene said...
Very nice! About the not-so-flat seams--did you remove the seam allowances before sewing? When you flatlock, the pieces just butt up next to each other, so you don't need seam allowances. If you leave them, the fabric won't quite fit together. Also, it really helps to practice on scraps and adjust tension--each fleece has its own thickness. My first practical use of flatlock was on fleece socks, and they are VERY comfortable (no bumps!) when I wear the "ladder" side against my skin.
12/22/03 1:49 PM
Mini said...
I agree about practicing on scraps-finding the right tension for each fabric is really the key to flatlocking. Sometimes you can get a flatter look by pressing the seams carefully (use a presscloth to avoid leaving imprints on the fleece.) I like this pattern and have made it often, but this is a new and very creative way to use it.
12/22/03 2:15 PM
drsue said...
Irene (or anyone else who knows the answer) do you mean that the serger knife then does not cut off any fabric? Your seam edges I'm guessing would be just at the edge of the foot? Do you risk getting a gap between the two edges if you do this?
12/22/03 7:06 PM
Irene said...
drsue, I meant to say that the serger knife should cut on (or very, very close) to the seam line. If your tension is right (and your stitch width not too wide), the pieces should lie side-by-side ("flat"), with no seam bump. When I pull with all my might, I can create a teeny (less than 1/16" gap. It looks like I used wooly nylon in both loopers. Your question nudged me to find my socks, stored since last winter. It looks like I used wooly nylon in both loopers. If I pull with all my might, I can force a small (1/16") gap, but only until I let go.
12/22/03 7:57 PM
Annette H said...
Stylish - looks terrific.
8/1/04 2:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 3881
photo
Review by colourbynu... on 5/11/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3503
photo
Review by Ejegmama on 8/25/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1478 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1478 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5181 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5181 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us