SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1201 (Basic Top)

17 more reviews
Viewed 1639 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/21/03 11:54 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mudcat said...
I love your outfit. It looks so comfortable and at the same time bright for the winter.
12/21/03 4:01 PM
Jan B. said...
I agree with Mudcat! If you had trouble with your flatlocking (not apparent in photo) did you feed your fabric correctly? With my serger, you leave a slight space between the knife and where you are guiding the fabric. It takes a little practice, but yours looks great!
12/21/03 6:49 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks comfy and nice job.
12/21/03 7:40 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Yay! I love your bright pink with black trim. What a neat use for flatlocking, so no edges are inside. I'm glad you left out the shoulder pads :)
12/22/03 10:11 AM
Irene said...
Very nice! About the not-so-flat seams--did you remove the seam allowances before sewing? When you flatlock, the pieces just butt up next to each other, so you don't need seam allowances. If you leave them, the fabric won't quite fit together. Also, it really helps to practice on scraps and adjust tension--each fleece has its own thickness. My first practical use of flatlock was on fleece socks, and they are VERY comfortable (no bumps!) when I wear the "ladder" side against my skin.
12/22/03 1:49 PM
Mini said...
I agree about practicing on scraps-finding the right tension for each fabric is really the key to flatlocking. Sometimes you can get a flatter look by pressing the seams carefully (use a presscloth to avoid leaving imprints on the fleece.) I like this pattern and have made it often, but this is a new and very creative way to use it.
12/22/03 2:15 PM
drsue said...
Irene (or anyone else who knows the answer) do you mean that the serger knife then does not cut off any fabric? Your seam edges I'm guessing would be just at the edge of the foot? Do you risk getting a gap between the two edges if you do this?
12/22/03 7:06 PM
Irene said...
drsue, I meant to say that the serger knife should cut on (or very, very close) to the seam line. If your tension is right (and your stitch width not too wide), the pieces should lie side-by-side ("flat"), with no seam bump. When I pull with all my might, I can create a teeny (less than 1/16" gap. It looks like I used wooly nylon in both loopers. Your question nudged me to find my socks, stored since last winter. It looks like I used wooly nylon in both loopers. If I pull with all my might, I can force a small (1/16") gap, but only until I let go.
12/22/03 7:57 PM
Annette H said...
Stylish - looks terrific.
8/1/04 2:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Jalie 2449

photo
by: clothingen...

Review

Pattern

Silhouette Patterns 175

photo
by: mrsbewley

Review
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now