Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2009-112 (zippered blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 684 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Judy Wentz
photo
Friend of PR
About Judy Wentzstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/24/05
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/28/09 1:53 PM
Last Updated:6/3/09 3:04 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
swede said...
Wow, thanks for the review, I'm about to start on this jacket tomorrow, and I'm sure I'll refer back to your comments. I can't wait to see your finished jacket!
5/29/09 1:04 AM
Renren said...
Your jackets are very nice. I especially love the plaid one and am really amazed by your "double-headed" zipper. I guess you ordered the YKK color chart and then you ordered the zipper from them also?
5/29/09 8:01 AM
crisford said...
Your jackets are looking great! I will be looking forward to seeing photos of you modelling them! This has been on my list of things to make, so thanks for the great review.
5/29/09 11:50 AM
madamemaigret said...
I've been waiting to see if anyone else made this jacket! I've almost finished mine; just the hem and front facing bias to do. Your review really clarifies a few of the issues I was having with it. Your jacket looks great already; am looking forward to seeing the finished article.
5/29/09 4:40 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Actually I made a couple of mistakes before I got the zipper thing right. Color was just one of the issues. At first I did not realize that the zipper went up through the color. The color chart was an after thought, but will be really helpful in the future. The samples are awesome. I have found that at least at my Joannes, the zipper selection is pretty slim. I love the zippers from YKK. They will even cut them to your specifications for one dollar more. jw
5/29/09 7:39 PM
Renren said...
I love your finished jacket. Thanks for posting! Perfect jacket for a gray day in autumn or spring when you want to bring some light into the world! Wonderful for summer, too, especially on a windy beach.
6/2/09 9:32 AM
Patzee said...
Wonderful review! I need to take another look at this pattern. Thanks for the tip about seersucker. I didn't know that.
6/3/09 4:46 PM
Speech girl said...
Cute!
6/5/09 10:37 PM
carolsue2 said...
I really appreciate your clear explanation and pictures of how you used this pattern, especially the waistband and pleat management. I think it looks great on you. It looks like something I would grab out of my closet to wear and I am encouraged to make this top. Thank you.
7/3/09 10:37 AM
KandiSEW said...
Fantastic review!!! You are an amazing sewer, I hope to be there someday. Wow, great job.
9/7/12 8:36 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Simplicity 2246
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 1/27/12
Read Review

Burda 9501 Pattern
Burda 9501 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 101471-1000 Sleeveless Top
photo
Review by iamkat? on 4/13/10
Read Review

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Party Purse
You Sew Girl Party Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us