Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2009-101 (Skirt w/ Front Pockets) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 618 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Meggie LuLu
photo
About Meggie LuLustarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 1/26/08
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 117 people
patterns reviewed: 151
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:5/30/09 12:12 PM
Last Updated:6/13/09 4:43 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VtMartha said...
That is a great outfit! The skirt is so cute.
5/30/09 12:26 PM
callmeRuth said...
Cute skirt! I love all the topstitching details, and the buttons you used are perfect.
5/30/09 12:26 PM
pterion said...
Just adorable! I like your whole outfit!
5/30/09 1:38 PM
EleanorSews said...
Nice work on all the details, which really make this skirt. You always do such a great job on your garments. Enjoy!
5/30/09 1:39 PM
Annette1 said...
"I used darkwash denim that I found in the remnant bin at Hancock's for $4.00." "I made no alterations whatsoever. " GRRRRRRR ... How come I can never say that? :o)) Well, the NO-ALTERATIONS-WHATSOEVER skirt fits like a DREAM! (GRRRRRRR ...) You're so right, too, about this skirt being ultra versatile. It's hard to envision anything it WOULDN'T look good with! FABULISIMO!!
5/30/09 2:10 PM
AquariJenn said...
Very cute skirt. You did a great job with the topstitching.
5/30/09 2:14 PM
Tez said...
Great skirt! I love the pockets.
5/30/09 4:01 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Cute skirt! I love your top too!
5/30/09 5:12 PM
JoanneM said...
Love this pattern. Love this top!
5/30/09 5:17 PM
eugenia123 said...
Beautiful skirt, it looks wonderful on you. Well done on figuring out the yoke construction - yours looks perfect.
5/30/09 5:19 PM
Nana39 said...
Great job! Looks like a great fit on you and that you can wear it anywhere you go and look great as always.
5/30/09 9:02 PM
Barbara V said...
Great skirt and fantastic job with the detail. It looks wonderful on you!
5/30/09 11:19 PM
HeyJane said...
Too cute! I love the pocket styling. All your stitching looks perfect.
5/31/09 6:07 AM
Robin S said...
You are right! What a perfect skirt! And the workmanship is wonderful.
5/31/09 9:18 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Really nice looking skirt! Good details, nice length and perfect sewing!
5/31/09 9:47 AM
Jane S said...
Wow,this is a killer skirt, wonderful for so many occasions.
5/31/09 1:34 PM
Pamaro said...
You did an awesome job on this skirt! I applaud you. I started it a few weeks ago and tossed it aside after my frustration fit with the front yoke. Now that Burda's instructions are long gone from my memory bank, maybe I'll pick it up and as you say "wing it" for the front yoke. Thanks for the inspiration.
5/31/09 6:57 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Great skirt!! I've been admiring this pattern -- it has amazing, classic lines. It looks like a fun skirt to wear, made up in denim. :)
5/31/09 9:45 PM
Secretsugar said...
Super cute skirt! Love all the details!
6/1/09 7:54 AM
kerrynw said...
Love your skirt Meggie. Beautifully sewn!
6/1/09 8:25 AM
Heatherrique said...
You have a knack to create such gorgeous outfits! You are so fun and fabulous!
6/13/09 4:48 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Thanks for the review. I'm planning on making it but I'll have to size up!!! Looks really cute and the price is right.
6/13/09 5:32 PM
Catbird said...
I love this new version and love the way you've paired it with the lace-trimmed top and the shorter jacket. Very, very pretty. And the length puts everything in perfect proportion, to my eyes. Nice job!
6/13/09 8:13 PM
jnamcd said...
Great job!!
6/13/09 10:27 PM
Annette1 said...
Two COMPLETELY different outfits with the same skirt pattern. I LOVE this pattern, and this pinstripe one is just so sharp looking! Oh, and I'm SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO glad you got your fabric in the REMNANT BIN for $2, where I NEVER FIND ANYTHING. :o)
6/13/09 10:47 PM
Sallygirl said...
Those are absolutely perfect. Burda needs to use YOUR pictures in their magazine. You just amaze me!
6/13/09 10:52 PM
Nancywin said...
Very cute skirts! Both can really be dressed up or down. The rest of your mini wardrobe looks great too.
6/13/09 11:01 PM
DaisyEsq said...
You have done yet another fabulous job with your creations!
6/14/09 8:49 AM
carolynw said...
As always Meggie ou look absolutely lovely - am convinced you would look good in a potato sack but much prefer to see you in all the lovely things you make.
6/14/09 10:19 AM
Peggy L said...
Really cute skirts!!! I've been eyeing this pattern for my DIL.
6/14/09 7:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Burda 7484 Pantsuit
photo
Review by muttless on 8/22/12
Read Review

McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2777 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2777 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Hollywood 1930
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 6/30/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us