SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4634: (Marlo's Knit Coordinates)

Viewed 256 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/09 6:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
Thanks for the trip down Memory Lane. Great results and good inspiration to get me digging through my collection ! I might even have that pattern in The Archives.
5/30/09 6:47 PM
persevering said...
Attractive top! This is an excellent look for you (IMHO).
5/30/09 8:38 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
I love how you always seem to modernize vintage patterns. I would never have guessed this was a 70's pattern from your end result. It's great!
5/30/09 8:53 PM
Kellie R. said...
You're THAT GIRL and more in this great top! I have several Marlo Thomas patterns; your top makes me want to try one of them now! Great job!
5/30/09 8:58 PM
HeyJane said...
Very interesting! '75 Oh I miss cruising in my Monza. That (celebrities) reminds me, I saw some sewing videos on Amazon by Daphne Maxwell Reid (Aunt Viv on The Fresh Prince of Bel Air). I never knew that she was a design major and created most of her wardrobe. She and McCall did a video series called Suddenly You're Sewing. I think it was in the early 1990s. Don't know if any patterns are still in production? Soooo, your top is TCFS TOO COOL FOR SCHOOL, I'm feeling the Funk. lol Very, very nice. http://www.inthe70s.com/generated/terms.shtml slang of the 70's
5/30/09 9:27 PM
kim*brown said...
Very cute, once again. Girl how do you find all the time??
5/30/09 9:30 PM
Speech girl said...
I love your top. It looks great on you. I'm a big "That Girl" fan too. I've netflixed all the seasons and found myself sketching her outfits for future reference . . . I'm going to have to be on the lookout for Marlo Thomas patterns. Thanks so much for the review.
5/30/09 9:52 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I was feeling a little old when I saw you no longer use chalk boards but are using white boards now instead, but once I took a trip down memory lane, I'm feeling pretty spry again! Of course, I took a few detours (to Kiki Dee on Wikipedia, for one). You're one RED-HOT MAMA in this top! Most DEFINITELY your color! I used to love That Girl, and I really like mikkim's idea of netflixing her and sketching out your own designs! Seems like I never watch TV now. I used to record Ugly Betty and Monk every week, but unless I get a new DVD player, I won't even be doing that! (AND Buffy, when she was on.) I wonder if I could Netflix her? I'd join RAT NOW!
5/30/09 10:32 PM
Barbara V said...
It's amazing how styles go round and round. This vintage style fits right in today. Your version is beautiful and you look great in red!
5/30/09 11:33 PM
pterion said...
So cute! It looks very current and cool on you. You have me racking my brain to think of TV shows about a single woman that are still in production and I'm not coming up with much. 30 Rock? but maybe that's more of an ensemble show?
5/31/09 9:20 AM
Christas said...
Another great review! Love your new top!
5/31/09 9:52 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Your reviews are always so much fun! Love your new "Marlo" top.
5/31/09 9:56 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Your top is FAB. I love the length -something you don't see much of now. Everyone wants to bare their bellies and not EVERYONE should. I know I've got some Marlo patterns in the collection but I haven't got the knack as you do to "modernize" them. Great looking top and, IMO, perfect for the math classroom.
5/31/09 10:56 AM
michellep74 said...
Love the top--it looks very current, and I really enjoyed your fun, informative review. Re: Current tv shows/strong female characters, the only one that jumped to mind was Det. Olivia Benson (Mariska Hargitay) on Law & Order: SVU--she's great on there.
5/31/09 1:10 PM
Jane S said...
Very cool top and such a fun review. Thanks for the memories as well as such an enjoyable review.
5/31/09 1:36 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I love reading your reviews! That top is fabulous!!
6/1/09 3:30 PM
Jali said...
Thank you for the enjoyable review. It's really interesting to read about the times when these patterns came out. I love your fabric choice. As circly, spot on as ever.
6/2/09 5:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

McCall's 6433

photo
by: Josnazz

Review
brerrabbit.com no number

photo
by: wendlesue

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now