Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4634: (Marlo's Knit Coordinates) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 256 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/09 6:24 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
Thanks for the trip down Memory Lane. Great results and good inspiration to get me digging through my collection ! I might even have that pattern in The Archives.
5/30/09 6:47 PM
persevering said...
Attractive top! This is an excellent look for you (IMHO).
5/30/09 8:38 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
I love how you always seem to modernize vintage patterns. I would never have guessed this was a 70's pattern from your end result. It's great!
5/30/09 8:53 PM
Kellie R. said...
You're THAT GIRL and more in this great top! I have several Marlo Thomas patterns; your top makes me want to try one of them now! Great job!
5/30/09 8:58 PM
HeyJane said...
Very interesting! '75 Oh I miss cruising in my Monza. That (celebrities) reminds me, I saw some sewing videos on Amazon by Daphne Maxwell Reid (Aunt Viv on The Fresh Prince of Bel Air). I never knew that she was a design major and created most of her wardrobe. She and McCall did a video series called Suddenly You're Sewing. I think it was in the early 1990s. Don't know if any patterns are still in production? Soooo, your top is TCFS TOO COOL FOR SCHOOL, I'm feeling the Funk. lol Very, very nice. http://www.inthe70s.com/generated/terms.shtml slang of the 70's
5/30/09 9:27 PM
kim*brown said...
Very cute, once again. Girl how do you find all the time??
5/30/09 9:30 PM
Speech girl said...
I love your top. It looks great on you. I'm a big "That Girl" fan too. I've netflixed all the seasons and found myself sketching her outfits for future reference . . . I'm going to have to be on the lookout for Marlo Thomas patterns. Thanks so much for the review.
5/30/09 9:52 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I was feeling a little old when I saw you no longer use chalk boards but are using white boards now instead, but once I took a trip down memory lane, I'm feeling pretty spry again! Of course, I took a few detours (to Kiki Dee on Wikipedia, for one). You're one RED-HOT MAMA in this top! Most DEFINITELY your color! I used to love That Girl, and I really like mikkim's idea of netflixing her and sketching out your own designs! Seems like I never watch TV now. I used to record Ugly Betty and Monk every week, but unless I get a new DVD player, I won't even be doing that! (AND Buffy, when she was on.) I wonder if I could Netflix her? I'd join RAT NOW!
5/30/09 10:32 PM
Barbara V said...
It's amazing how styles go round and round. This vintage style fits right in today. Your version is beautiful and you look great in red!
5/30/09 11:33 PM
pterion said...
So cute! It looks very current and cool on you. You have me racking my brain to think of TV shows about a single woman that are still in production and I'm not coming up with much. 30 Rock? but maybe that's more of an ensemble show?
5/31/09 9:20 AM
Christas said...
Another great review! Love your new top!
5/31/09 9:52 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Your reviews are always so much fun! Love your new "Marlo" top.
5/31/09 9:56 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Your top is FAB. I love the length -something you don't see much of now. Everyone wants to bare their bellies and not EVERYONE should. I know I've got some Marlo patterns in the collection but I haven't got the knack as you do to "modernize" them. Great looking top and, IMO, perfect for the math classroom.
5/31/09 10:56 AM
michellep74 said...
Love the top--it looks very current, and I really enjoyed your fun, informative review. Re: Current tv shows/strong female characters, the only one that jumped to mind was Det. Olivia Benson (Mariska Hargitay) on Law & Order: SVU--she's great on there.
5/31/09 1:10 PM
Jane S said...
Very cool top and such a fun review. Thanks for the memories as well as such an enjoyable review.
5/31/09 1:36 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I love reading your reviews! That top is fabulous!!
6/1/09 3:30 PM
Jali said...
Thank you for the enjoyable review. It's really interesting to read about the times when these patterns came out. I love your fabric choice. As circly, spot on as ever.
6/2/09 5:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-133
photo
Review by Elaray on 9/4/09
Read Review

Butterick 5819 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5819 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2594 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2594 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7454 OOP Long Dress with additions
photo
Review by SewVeryTal... on 2/16/08
Read Review

Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us