Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2008-102 (Scalloped trim jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 395 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Christina Sonja
photo
Friend of PR
About Christina Sonjastarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/2/06
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/09 1:32 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cabinbaby said...
I love this! What a great sunny color too.
5/31/09 1:48 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Adorable on you! The rich yellow looks great with your gorgeous dark hair, too. Sometimes Burda's photos are not at all inspiring, but your garment definitely is!
5/31/09 2:11 PM
Geordie Girl said...
Gorgeous jacket. This is on my to sew list but the scalloped edge keeps making me put it back. Now I've seen it made up Must have a go.
5/31/09 3:36 PM
Linda G said...
So cute, I have looked at those scallops and thought that I would never get them even, you did a great job.
5/31/09 5:05 PM
Catbird said...
What a wonderful jacket!! I love every single thing about it. What kind of thread did you use for the topstitching (which is perfect, by the way)? It looks fairly thick -- in a good way -- and also looks like a slightly lighter shade than the fabric. It adds so much to the visual interest of the jacket. I love it and it looks fantastic on you.
5/31/09 5:15 PM
suesmith said...
I had forgotten about this jacket until seeing yours - great color and beautifully done!
5/31/09 6:59 PM
Vonnevo said...
Totally Fabulous !!!!
5/31/09 7:11 PM
Karen6790 said...
Love the scallops and the color is fabulous on you.
5/31/09 10:54 PM
jent said...
So pretty!
6/1/09 6:48 AM
kerrynw said...
Beautiful, beautiful jacket. Looks lovely on you!
6/1/09 7:51 AM
graustark said...
The color and the scalloped detailing really make this jacket! It looks fun and comfortable to wear.
6/1/09 8:05 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Catbird - I used a Guterman topstitching thread (whatever they sell at Joann) in a dark ivory color, with a topstitching needle.
6/1/09 10:04 AM
barbcl said...
What a beautiful, summery jacket. It looks great and also comfortable on you.
6/1/09 10:49 AM
CynthiaSue said...
I commented on blog but must comment again, i just so wanted to copy this. You always make me look at things that I never would have even considered! This color just works so well with the design. Enjoy your everyday jacket!
6/2/09 8:38 PM
figtree said...
Wow, you did SUCH a good job. I wanted to make this one but was scared off by the scallops. Well done!
6/6/09 4:08 PM
Markie1 said...
Hi Christina-How did I miss this review? I love this jacket, and want to make it myself. I am glad I waited because your reviews are always SO helpful! Thanks--it looks great...
6/28/09 3:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

McCall's 5752
photo
Review by SueV on 1/8/10
Read Review

Vogue 1354 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1354 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1462 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1462 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2899
photo
Review by PhyllisC on 1/24/05
Read Review

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us