SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2009-102 (Pleated Knit Top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1107 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 182
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 156 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/09 5:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
I have found some of the same issues with Bamboo. It is lovely and silky but thin (at least with the pieces I have had). Your top will look great made up in a more appropriate fabric. I thought you had embellished the neckline, until I looked closer and saw they were pins! lol
6/1/09 6:06 PM
michellep74 said...
Oh no! I've been waiting to see this made up (especially since I love the design but don't think it will work on my figure). How disappointing that the fabric didn't work out...you'll have to try it again in a more stable knit so that I can vicariously live through your review.
6/1/09 6:10 PM
vintageclothes said...
You are so fast! I am hoping to make this soon - thanks for your review!
6/1/09 6:28 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I am happy to see this pattern made up. The fabric doesn't look so bad in your photo. I made a T out of Bamboo recently. I didn't get results, and the fabric pilled like crazy when I accidentally tossed in into the dryer. Glad to hear that the instructions are clear. Thanks for the helpful tips. You are so sweet to forge an easier path for the rest of us!
6/1/09 6:55 PM
suesmith said...
I look forward to your reviews as we seem to have some fitting issues in common. Love the color and styling on the top. Thanks for the heads up on the bamboo/lycra blend - you helped me decide between my 2 choices of fabric for this top.
6/1/09 8:11 PM
Elona said...
I see what you mean: If the knit doesn't have a little body, the pleat feature goes rather soft, rather than crisp and delineated. But I'm sure your next version will be a knockout!
6/1/09 9:07 PM
Heidi Ho said...
I can't wait to see you next version. Do you think a poly rayon lycra would work for it/
6/1/09 10:54 PM
becca a said...
The top looks cute on you despite the fabric issues. I look forward to seeing the final version in the right sort of fabric. I also have some of this fabric, and I appreciate the heads up on how it behaves.
6/2/09 1:12 AM
kerrynw said...
Looking forward to your next review. Pity it didn't work out, this colour suits you though!
6/2/09 3:41 AM
Sigrid. said...
Pity it didn't work with your fabric, but it's a lovely top. Certainly worth another try.
6/2/09 4:17 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the review. This looks like it will be a cute top (I like the raglan sleeve and other seam details) in the right fabric. Like QuiltSewSue, I thought the neckline embellishment looked good - maybe an idea for your next one!
6/2/09 7:04 AM
Pat T said...
Your review is about a week late! If I'd had it I wouldn't have cut out the top in the same bamboo from fabric.com, except mine is a celery green I really liked and am sorry it may be wasted. Oh well, sounds like this will be a non-wearable muslin for me too. But at least with your review I won't feel so bad when I encounter the same problems and throw it away! (Sounds like we have similar fitting issues -- I grade down to a 34 and have to take out some shoulder to bust length. Will look forward to going back to read other reviews.)
6/2/09 7:37 AM
Barbara V said...
Too bad the bamboo fabric didn't result in the outcome that you wanted, but I can see that the pattern has great potential and I look forward to seeing your next version as well as trying one myself.
6/2/09 11:29 AM
Karen6790 said...
This is one of the prettiest wadders I've ever seen. Who sends you my to do list so that you sew every pattern right ahead of me and work out any issues? I think the top looks good as is, but I can't wait to see it in a more stable knit. You should have that finished by tomorrow, right?
6/2/09 11:38 AM
Patzee said...
So glad you made this pattern. It looks far nicer to me than the photo or tech drawings would indicate. I have trouble envisioning how Burda patterns will look. I love this top.
6/2/09 3:19 PM
Scarlin3 said...
Pat - before you throw your version away, you might try interfacing all the pieces with fusi-knit (or similar) to give it more body....might not end up being a wadder!
6/2/09 9:46 PM
KBT Sewer said...
Have just drafted out this pattern so was glad to read your review. I bought some bamboo knit from EOS and, apart from the fact that it turned into a board when wet, it dried nicely,ironed well and made a nice top.It was a thicker knit which probably helped. I shall choose my knit with care to make this top
6/15/09 3:02 PM
Jali said...
Thank you for a very useful review. This is a great looking wadder!
7/11/09 11:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 5651

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
Other Desmond Jacket

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now