Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2009-102 (Pleated Knit Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1104 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/09 5:10 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
I have found some of the same issues with Bamboo. It is lovely and silky but thin (at least with the pieces I have had). Your top will look great made up in a more appropriate fabric. I thought you had embellished the neckline, until I looked closer and saw they were pins! lol
6/1/09 6:06 PM
michellep74 said...
Oh no! I've been waiting to see this made up (especially since I love the design but don't think it will work on my figure). How disappointing that the fabric didn't work out...you'll have to try it again in a more stable knit so that I can vicariously live through your review.
6/1/09 6:10 PM
vintageclothes said...
You are so fast! I am hoping to make this soon - thanks for your review!
6/1/09 6:28 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I am happy to see this pattern made up. The fabric doesn't look so bad in your photo. I made a T out of Bamboo recently. I didn't get results, and the fabric pilled like crazy when I accidentally tossed in into the dryer. Glad to hear that the instructions are clear. Thanks for the helpful tips. You are so sweet to forge an easier path for the rest of us!
6/1/09 6:55 PM
suesmith said...
I look forward to your reviews as we seem to have some fitting issues in common. Love the color and styling on the top. Thanks for the heads up on the bamboo/lycra blend - you helped me decide between my 2 choices of fabric for this top.
6/1/09 8:11 PM
Elona said...
I see what you mean: If the knit doesn't have a little body, the pleat feature goes rather soft, rather than crisp and delineated. But I'm sure your next version will be a knockout!
6/1/09 9:07 PM
Heidi Ho said...
I can't wait to see you next version. Do you think a poly rayon lycra would work for it/
6/1/09 10:54 PM
becca a said...
The top looks cute on you despite the fabric issues. I look forward to seeing the final version in the right sort of fabric. I also have some of this fabric, and I appreciate the heads up on how it behaves.
6/2/09 1:12 AM
kerrynw said...
Looking forward to your next review. Pity it didn't work out, this colour suits you though!
6/2/09 3:41 AM
Sigrid. said...
Pity it didn't work with your fabric, but it's a lovely top. Certainly worth another try.
6/2/09 4:17 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the review. This looks like it will be a cute top (I like the raglan sleeve and other seam details) in the right fabric. Like QuiltSewSue, I thought the neckline embellishment looked good - maybe an idea for your next one!
6/2/09 7:04 AM
Pat T said...
Your review is about a week late! If I'd had it I wouldn't have cut out the top in the same bamboo from fabric.com, except mine is a celery green I really liked and am sorry it may be wasted. Oh well, sounds like this will be a non-wearable muslin for me too. But at least with your review I won't feel so bad when I encounter the same problems and throw it away! (Sounds like we have similar fitting issues -- I grade down to a 34 and have to take out some shoulder to bust length. Will look forward to going back to read other reviews.)
6/2/09 7:37 AM
Barbara V said...
Too bad the bamboo fabric didn't result in the outcome that you wanted, but I can see that the pattern has great potential and I look forward to seeing your next version as well as trying one myself.
6/2/09 11:29 AM
Karen6790 said...
This is one of the prettiest wadders I've ever seen. Who sends you my to do list so that you sew every pattern right ahead of me and work out any issues? I think the top looks good as is, but I can't wait to see it in a more stable knit. You should have that finished by tomorrow, right?
6/2/09 11:38 AM
Patzee said...
So glad you made this pattern. It looks far nicer to me than the photo or tech drawings would indicate. I have trouble envisioning how Burda patterns will look. I love this top.
6/2/09 3:19 PM
Scarlin3 said...
Pat - before you throw your version away, you might try interfacing all the pieces with fusi-knit (or similar) to give it more body....might not end up being a wadder!
6/2/09 9:46 PM
KBT Sewer said...
Have just drafted out this pattern so was glad to read your review. I bought some bamboo knit from EOS and, apart from the fact that it turned into a board when wet, it dried nicely,ironed well and made a nice top.It was a thicker knit which probably helped. I shall choose my knit with care to make this top
6/15/09 3:02 PM
Jali said...
Thank you for a very useful review. This is a great looking wadder!
7/11/09 11:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Butterick 5488 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by rosecy on 6/29/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2587 Misses Dress
photo
Review by MissyBelle on 8/27/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3778 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3778 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us