Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: LL014 (Child's Cleopatra Costume) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 175 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 243 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/09 6:21 PM
Last Updated:6/1/09 6:30 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Puppy said...
TOO cute!!! I like your version better than the inspiration version.
6/1/09 8:39 PM
Meredith P said...
You are the bestest Aunt!!! What a great job.
6/1/09 10:23 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
She's cute as cute can be! You did great Aunt Leslie - she looks beyond thrilled! :-)
6/1/09 10:37 PM
Peggy L said...
What a good auntie you are - this turned out great! She looks like she loves it.
6/2/09 7:19 AM
Nancywin said...
Ahh - how sweet is that? Cute costume too.
6/2/09 10:07 AM
BettyMike said...
You are such a great Auntie!
6/2/09 12:28 PM
CynthiaSue said...
how did you draft that collar from scratch?? Amazing Leslie, I felt such a huge pang of guilt about not sewing more for my nieces!
6/3/09 11:50 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I drafted a basic bodice sloper (w/ a jewel neckline) using Emily's measurements and used that as a rough guide for the inner shape of the front and back collar pieces. I knew I wanted the collar to extend to her shoulder so I used that as the starting point for the outer curve and drew the curve I wanted around to the CF and CB respectively. Cut the front on the fold and added SA and "velcro allowance" to the back. I had to cut the collar as 3 pieces (front and 2 backs) and use shoulder seams b/c my scraps weren't big enough to do the whole piece in the round. I didn't fully trust the measurements I had for Emily (they were taken by a non-sewer using a piece of yarn), so I confirmed that I had drafted the inner collar big enough by drawing a circle w/ the circumference of Melissa's youngest and similarly sized kiddo's neck. The circle fit within the allotted neckline just fine so I knew I was on the right track! (Thanks again Miss M!) If that doesn't make sense, PM me!
6/4/09 6:57 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I am doing a Cleopatra costume for Halloween myself this year so I decided to check out who else has done one on PR... and much to my pleasure I found your review! The glue-on jewels are a great idea, might have to copy that :)
10/24/09 12:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Kwik Sew 2900
photo
Review by hazelnut on 5/3/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2010-115
photo
Review by Kemish on 4/25/11
Read Review

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7633 Pattern
Burda 7633 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7388 Pattern
Burda 7388 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us