Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8407 (Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1354 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/09 2:34 PM


See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
55 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Braemar said...
Beautiful skirt. Very flattering.
6/2/09 2:39 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I loved seeing this skirt on you in person, Deepika. Seriously flattering and sexy in an understated way. You have a smokin' figure and this skirt took it to super hot! Any chance this pattern is in some issue of BWOF?
6/2/09 2:45 PM
RLL said...
What a lovely outfit. Beautiful job on both the skirt and top and great color on you.
6/2/09 2:53 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Very pretty skirt!! ON and off you, Deepika!! Thank you for the very helpful tips.
6/2/09 2:55 PM
redhotpepper said...
You deserve to show it off because it is so darned cute! Great tip about the petersham. Now that I think about it, I do have some RTW skirts with this treatment.
6/2/09 2:59 PM
maryfrana said...
You are fabulous in this skirt, which we saw at PR Weekend. It fits so perfectly. I don't think it needs to be any shorter. Beautiful as is.
6/2/09 3:03 PM
KrystalL said...
This skirt is very cute, and the panels make it so flattering! I need to find this pattern now!
6/2/09 3:15 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Beautiful, beautiful! :) That fabric is amazing. BTW, if you're interested in adding a tiny bit to your "sitting down" room, I always sew Burda seams at 1.5 cm quite religiously, because Burda drafts in metric and 5/8" is about 1 mm wider (eight seams X 2 sides each would give you 16 mm, i.e. about 5/8" added to the total). Or you can ignore all of the above and just enjoy the extra "hug." ;)
6/2/09 3:16 PM
Tiner W said...
Gorgeous--so flattering!
6/2/09 3:34 PM
Christas said...
I cannot believe this fabric was $3.00 a yard ... what a find! What a GORGEOUS outfit your skirt makes with your top ...... quite worth not being able to sit down easily! Thanks for the petersham tip.
6/2/09 3:37 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great skirt!
6/2/09 3:41 PM
TalyQ said...
I love the look of that skirt. It is really pretty.
6/2/09 3:51 PM
cathy hansen said...
oooh- petersham, huh? So where can a girl find it? I imagine Joann's and Hancock's don't carry it, so anyone know of any online sources? By the way- it is a simply gorgeous skirt in person as well as in the photos!
6/2/09 4:40 PM
carolynw said...
Stunning - I think you need to have a figure like yours to carry this off.
6/2/09 5:19 PM
Sweetiebop said...
I've had this pattern for years and hadn't made it but it is SMOKING on you. Great skirt and fabric.
6/2/09 5:41 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely skirt. Well done.
6/2/09 5:52 PM
sewbehind said...
Okay, Deepika, you sold me on this pattern. It is so flattering on you. Much better on you than a tablecloth. Great handpicked zipper too. A very flattering combination.
6/2/09 6:01 PM
Patti B said...
Woohoo, what a skirt! When I look at the patterns for gored skirts, I wonder if they are going out of style. Then I see how fantastic they look and think, "no way!"
6/2/09 6:11 PM
homejewel said...
I hope you figure out how to comfortably sit down because this skirt is gorgeous. Thank you for the Petersham recommendation. I've never heard of it and looked it up. It sounds like a much better alternative to twill tape.
6/2/09 6:29 PM
Gold said...
Very cute!
6/2/09 6:59 PM
donna mel said...
beautiful tablecloth...i mean skirt! i'm not sure all of us can pull it off quite as well as you!
6/2/09 7:33 PM
Ann Smith said...
This is so flattering on you. Make more, more, more. Oh good, I already have this pattern.
6/2/09 8:16 PM
EleanorSews said...
You look lovely in this skirt, even if sitting in it is a challenge! Good reminder about the petersham. Gee, I can recall when you could actually find this is your local fabric shop....so long ago....
6/2/09 8:25 PM
JanJanB said...
They must have made this pattern especially for you! Your whole outfit looks absolutely gorgeous on you!
6/2/09 8:25 PM
PVA said...
Deepika, a smashing look on you! Who wants to sit down when they look like that standing-up? Perfect with the top! Thanks for a great review, I'll have to check out that Susan Khalje class -- I've never done the hand-picked zipper. (Hmmmmmm . . )
6/2/09 8:35 PM
Amanda S. said...
Okay, I don't wear long skirts, but I think I need this pattern! It is so pretty and figure flattering. The whole outfit is really stylish and summery. Great job!
6/2/09 8:48 PM
persevering said...
Deepika, Thank you for making this skirt and reviewing it. Your whole outfit is beautiful and the skirt is stunning. Please tell me, Can you walk comfortably in this skirt?
6/2/09 9:11 PM
Kathi R said...
The fabric is really stunning with the large embroidered dots ... a very rich looking garment so who cares if you have to stand up! thanks for the review
6/2/09 10:02 PM
Hilary said...
Gorgeous skirt!! I t looks wonderful on you, and I too love the fabric~well done!
6/2/09 10:20 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a gorgeous skirt, Deepika.
6/2/09 10:21 PM
Raye Ann said...
thank you for highlighting this pattern! your skirt is absolutely beautiful.
6/2/09 10:25 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Wow! Very beautiful. The skirt is a great fit and with the top - what a perfect combination!
6/2/09 10:32 PM
VtMartha said...
Perfect!
6/2/09 10:41 PM
Elke said...
Fabulous skirt...very cute on you!
6/2/09 11:20 PM
Deepika said...
Wow, you all give me such a big ego boost. Thank you for such nice comments and if being able to wear this skirt means that I don't gain even an inch, then so be it. I will starve but I will wear it :) Leslie I've never seen this particular skirt in the Burda Mags. But you can buy it here. Joan Thanks for the tips on adding ease to the skirt. I will use it the next time I make it. Cathy I bought my petersham from The Sewing Place. Josephine's in Portland had a few colors and so did Fabric Depot. persevering Yes, I can walk comfortably. However I won't be running any marathons in it any time soon :)
6/2/09 11:33 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I saw this in Portland too so I can vouch for how fabulous it is - the fit is perfect :) what we all strive for! And the Jalie top is a great coordinate.
6/3/09 2:01 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Thank you for a great review and for the tip on petersham. I am not curently familiar with this product BUT will be soon! You look TOO cute : )
6/3/09 5:36 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely skirt! You have the perfect figure for this style. Thanks for the helpful review; I've never heard of Petersham. I hope this means more skirts to come!
6/3/09 8:21 AM
snapdragonfly said...
This is fab, dare I say better than the pattern photo? yes indeed...
6/3/09 9:18 AM
persevering said...
Deepika, Thank you very much for your reply. I was previously hesitant about making this because of some earlier reviews. However, your answer makes it a go ahead for me. I bought this pattern after seeing it (at least a couple of years ago) being worn by 3 employees at Fabricland in Toronto - the one with the average weight figure looked stunning in an understated elegant way like Deepika, and the other 2 looked very good. The 3 told me that they were very happy with the skirt (they stand at their jobs). Only at that time I didn't know to ask the question Deepika thankfully answered for me.
6/3/09 10:48 AM
kerrynw said...
Great skirt and top. Beautiful fit!
6/3/09 11:32 AM
Jali said...
What a beautiful skirt! The skirt had caught my eye in the PR Weekend photos referred to in the latest PR newsletter. I recognized the top from your previous review and thought how well coordinated the whole look was. And now to see that you made it so splendidly...awesome job!
6/3/09 11:33 AM
AdaF said...
Beautiful skirt! It does complement your figure very well! Congrats on finally using a 5 yo stash item!
6/3/09 1:46 PM
loohoo44 said...
this was so gorgeous on you Deepika!
6/3/09 1:51 PM
AdaF said...
Beautiful skirt! It does complement your figure very well! Congrats on finally using a 5 yo stash item!
6/3/09 1:54 PM
CynthiaSue said...
You guys, Deepika looked so awesome in this skirt. She sewed it perfectly and the fit was amazing. Deepika, your butt looked amazing in this skirt!!! And thanks for the awesome awesome Petersham tip. that will be SO helpful in the future. Also those side panels look so well sewn and your fabric shows them off!
6/3/09 4:06 PM
sew2little said...
I noticed this beautiful skirt in the Portland PR weekend pics and wondered why we hadn't seen a review--because it is FABULOUS!
6/3/09 6:17 PM
Barbara3 said...
Deepika, I can't believe I almost missed your review. I told you that you were just stunning in that skirt at PR weekend, and everyone else seems to have agreed. Of course, your beautiful figure doesn't hurt either. I haven't looked at skirts in years, but this one on you really caught my attention. I bought the pattern and have been waiting for any tips you might have to share in a review - so thanks! If you make another up in a denim, do you think it would work well to use one with just a bit of stretch? I was thinking about doing that but wouldn't want the stretch to change any of the beautiful lines. Anyway, thanks for sharing the inspiration with us at PR weekend and here!
6/4/09 12:49 PM
Deepika said...
Barbara, actually I was just thinking that. The denim I have is from Textile Studio. It has just a little bit of stretch and I think that would work well. Report to follow later.
6/4/09 3:03 PM
Barbara3 said...
Looking forward to hearing how it goes with the TS denim. Maybe just a little bit of stretch will help us all sit down in that skirt!
6/5/09 0:15 AM
KarenMG said...
Deepika, did you shorten the skirt from the hem? I'm 5' tall and I wonder would it be worth it to make this skirt?
7/20/09 3:51 PM
Deepika said...
Karen, I am 5'3". I shortened the skirt by an inch but I did it at the shorten line up on the panels. But if I make it again and I will, I will certainly shave off some more inches both from there and from the hem. Be careful of taking out too much from the hem. You dont want to distort that lovely trumpet shape. Hope this helps.
7/21/09 8:30 AM
nehozack said...
This is so pretty on you... I am not usually a fan of long panel skirts, most of the time they look kind of stuffy, but you look amazing. I hope you ended up making your wool one!
10/6/09 8:57 PM
Cultured Purl said...
What a gorgeous skirt! I am getting back into sewing after taking way to many years off and am looking to do a full fall wardrobe this summer ( trying to be ahead of the game!) and finding patterns I like ,then working with colors and different textiles to create my own " mini wardrobe"~ I found this skirt while looking under the mini wardrobe PR contest to give me some idea where to start in planning this~ I just HAD to have this pattern as one of my skirt pattern choices ( have 3 now) and will be working with tops and even jeans and dress slacks~ I wanted to thank you for this wonderful website b/c no one I know sews anymore and this helps me get information I could NOT get anywhere elsewhere, plus it shoes me what a pattern looks like on a real person! In my case boots and shoes go into my mini wardrobe so I can only say this site has been THE most helpful site for a returning seamstress like me! BTW, I play violin (classical and Celtic) and I stand up while playing classically so I am going to look long and hard for a top to work with this skirt in a knit so I have good freedom of movement in my arms and back~ All I can say is you look SO good in this pattern I ordered it immediately and will start with fabric swatches now ~ THAN YOU for the idea of making a mini wardrobe, its making me think about every fabric purchase now!( and I cant wait to get started on THIS pattern , ordered if via PR!
4/30/10 9:11 AM
Sue Parrott said...
This is just a great skirt and your fabric choice is beautiful! Glad it didn't turn into a tablecloth!!!
10/6/11 8:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 1052
photo
Review by marjenann on 9/25/10
Read Review

Oliver S Sketchbook Shirt Shorts Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Sketchbook Shirt   Shorts Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6251 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6251 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1022 Iris
photo
Review by SueT on 5/21/13
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us