Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2009-101 (Pleated Knit Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1405 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/09 8:36 PM
Last Updated:6/2/09 8:43 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristinePDX said...
Your dress turned out great! Very pretty color and looks good on you. It's so funny, I just was out at the fabric store and got material to make this! Can I ask, why did you not put in the zipper? Was it stretchy enough to go over your head without it?
6/2/09 8:41 PM
cabinbaby said...
Christine99, I'll edit the review to add that. Yes, it's stretchy enough to pull it over without the zipper.
6/2/09 8:42 PM
ChristinePDX said...
Great tip, I hate putting in zippers.
6/2/09 8:45 PM
JoanneM said...
I love the idea of doubleknit and thrilled you left out the zipper without any regret. Yeh! Looks fantastic on you!
6/2/09 8:52 PM
VtMartha said...
This looks wonderful on you! Do you recall what fabric the knit is?
6/2/09 8:54 PM
ChristinePDX said...

6/2/09 8:55 PM
cabinbaby said...
VtMartha- I want to say Poly/Rayon but I'm not sure. Maybe Ann will pop in and remember? I doubt she memorizes the content of all the millions of fabric she carries, but maybe?
6/2/09 9:02 PM
ChristinePDX said...
Great tip, I hate putting in zippers.
6/2/09 9:04 PM
Immelu said...
That looks fabulous!
6/2/09 9:04 PM
jaeng said...
Very pretty, love the color you used.
6/2/09 9:06 PM
ChristinePDX said...
Great tip, I hate putting in zippers.
6/2/09 9:09 PM
CynthiaSue said...
cuteness and great color on you. I just discoverd this navy/royal blue color as well. looks great on brunettes!
6/2/09 9:18 PM
akazukinchan said...
Such a flattering dress, looks great on you. Thanks for the review.
6/2/09 9:21 PM
emailtk said...
That dress is absolutely gorgeous!!!!!
6/2/09 9:42 PM
pterion said...
Stunning dress - really suits you!
6/2/09 9:43 PM
Sweetiebop said...
This is a great dress on you.
6/2/09 9:50 PM
orata said...
this looks great on you!
6/2/09 10:05 PM
Lori V said...
Great dress, it looks fantastic on you.
6/2/09 10:08 PM
Karen6790 said...
Okay, hose down the smoking sewing machine and take a break now. And while you're at it, pack that very cute dress into a box and send it on down to me. I could maybe wiggle into it. I'd certainly try.
6/2/09 10:25 PM
michellep74 said...
Wow, what a difference fabric choice can make! This dress is simply stunning on you--I love everything about it--the pleat details, the color, the shape. Just wow.
6/2/09 10:27 PM
DorothyK said...
This dress is fabulous and you look terrific in it.
6/2/09 11:08 PM
Elke said...
Looks great...love the pleats!
6/2/09 11:14 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
This is a such a fab dress! Love it made in this fabric..and the color is great on you!
6/3/09 5:44 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love the dress. Fell in love with the pattern when I got my BWOF magazine. Looks great on you!
6/3/09 6:51 AM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous dress in a gorgeous colour.
6/3/09 7:09 AM
inkstain said...
I'm amazed, having seen both your reviews what a difference your fabric choice made. This dress could go anywhere, depending on accessories. Really elegant and and the pleats really flatter your figure. A fuller-busted woman should run in the other direction, but this really sets your figure off to advantage. Much more sophisticated than some of your other day clothes, congrats. You could fly straight to Paris in this one.
6/3/09 7:46 AM
valerie sews said...
that is a seriously cute dress! I love your choice of fabric too
6/3/09 9:57 AM
Sallygirl said...
Love this on you! It shows off your teeny little waist. It's perfect!
6/3/09 10:03 AM
EleanorSews said...
Stunning dress and you look so elegant.
6/3/09 10:24 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That is the perfect fabric for that dress! You look fabulous!!!
6/3/09 10:33 AM
barbcl said...
A beeyooteeful on you, and thanks for the no zipper and all other tips in a great review.
6/3/09 10:43 AM
kerrynw said...
Your dress looks absolutely stunning. Such a beautiful colour!
6/3/09 11:37 AM
JuneHawk said...
It looks great. You waste no time!
6/3/09 12:26 PM
petro said...
Looks great on you.
6/3/09 3:36 PM
Heidi Ho said...
That dress is fantastic!!! Just one question, do you ever sleep? I am glad to hear that it doesn't need a zip. Oh and by the way, that is a great color on you!!! I think I have to make this one!!! That is super cute.
6/3/09 4:00 PM
MissCelie said...
Really, really a great looking dress.
6/3/09 4:47 PM
crisford said...
Very flattering dress and beautiful color! I love leaving out the zippers, too!
6/4/09 2:09 AM
SewPie said...
Really excited about this pattern! You've done a gorgeous job, and it was so interesting to see your other effort, showing what a difference the fabric makes. You are such a fast sewer. I am so pleased about the zip as I just hate the way all the Burda WOF tops and dresses seem to have zips even when you don't expect them to from the style.
6/7/09 1:09 AM
SheriF said...
I really like your dress. I have a rayon knit I want to try, but now I think it might be too thin....
6/10/09 6:32 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
Amazing! I wanted to do this, but I think it's a little over my level.
6/19/09 4:24 AM
willozza said...
This is gorgeous. I love the thick fabric and the pleats.
6/29/09 10:08 PM
caseysgirl23 said...
Superb!
7/29/09 9:49 AM
wzrdreams said...
Stunning. Great choice of color. This is the dress that made me want this issue of BWOF, but it sold out too quickly!
8/7/09 10:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Other 0000
photo
Review by Sharon1952 on 9/27/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2054 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2054 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5398
photo
Review by JDpenelope on 12/1/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bubble Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us