Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 02-2007-1 (Tank Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 396 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Meggie LuLu
photo
About Meggie LuLustarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 1/26/08
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 117 people
patterns reviewed: 151
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/09 10:49 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sallygirl said...
Very cute! I never tire of seeing what you've created. I wish there were more people like you in the world! Your mom must be proud. ;)
6/4/09 10:56 PM
Annette1 said...
EXPERTLY crafted, and such a WONDERFUL idea to add the red knit at the bottom. You couldn't have FOUND a better print to go with the "TWO" tanks underneath. :o) I like the bias binding, too. I did the same thing on SOMETHING I made (can't even remember what now), and I really liked the way it laid. BEAUTIFUL!
6/4/09 11:06 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great tank! I like how you added the red band along the hem, then layered the tank over another top.
6/4/09 11:51 PM
Karen6790 said...
Really cute. I tried the 2/2009 camisole, but now I have to dig up my 2007 issue and give this tank a shot. Great job on this.
6/5/09 0:05 AM
callmeRuth said...
Cute tank top! Did you use a coverstitch binding attachment for the binding?
6/5/09 0:38 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Meggie...this is just too cute! Your sewing skills just keep getting better and better! I love to see ANYTHING and EVERYTHING you make! Interestingly, I always am reminded of you when washing dishes...strange, huh? LOL !
6/5/09 6:48 AM
SarahSews said...
Meggie, I love reading your reviews, too. It is so encouraging to have you post, as you do beautiful work and make sewing that much more exciting. What a Blessing you are!
6/5/09 8:14 AM
Pamaro said...
What a great idea with the red extension at the bottom. I honestly thought you had on three tanks when I saw the photo. Much less bulk this way! You're such a talented seamstress!
6/5/09 8:46 AM
Jali said...
Cute tank top! Your finishing is really well done.
6/5/09 9:22 AM
Catbird said...
You're turning into a pro before our very eyes! The binding is perfect and the fit is just right. I love the fabric and the layering, too. It looks like you've found yourself a great TNT tank pattern!
6/5/09 9:56 AM
fourkid said...
Very well done - cute!
6/5/09 9:56 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
CallmeRuth, I did not use a binding attachment. My coverstitch machine does not have attachments. I don't feel confident enough to topstitch the binding without an attachment. Thanks everyone for the very nice comments!! I always enjoy reading them!!
6/5/09 10:08 AM
eugenia123 said...
Well, you've made the perfect tank top - it looks fabulous and beautifully made.
6/5/09 12:05 PM
persevering said...
What a perfect fit - your tank top is so cute! I so enjoy reading your informative, enthusiastic, encouraging reviews and most of all seeing your smile - Beautiful!
6/5/09 12:42 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is too cute girlfriend!!! I have made this pattern so many times I've lost count. I did ruin my favorite turquoise one last summer so I need to whip out a new one soon. Love the hem detail, great idea (I just may have to copy you!).
6/5/09 1:01 PM
Raye Ann said...
great job, Meggielulu! very creative solutions for fitting it exactly as you like it with using a not-quite big-enough stash fabric. i like your ingenuity:)
6/5/09 1:49 PM
21wale said...
Very nice! I'm glad to see how this top sews up.
6/5/09 1:56 PM
mssewcrazy said...
This tank is so cute. I wear tanks all the time under open shirts. I bought this magazine and had not noticed this pattern until now. You look great in the layered tanks and did a fabulous job on the construction. I admire all the sewing you do and agree with all the above remarks about you and the tank.
6/5/09 6:28 PM
Barbara V said...
Very cute tank and perfect fit. You are so creative adding the extension and layering. It's always fun to see what you are sewing.
6/5/09 10:48 PM
Lisa Merry said...
Super cute!! I like the cute print, the binding, and that smart idea for extending the length!
6/6/09 4:33 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Really cute top! Your idea to add the red fabric to the bottom was very clever... it does make it look like another top underneath! The finishing stitches are absolutely perfect...as everything you make. ;-)
6/10/09 1:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

No Pattern Used none
photo
Review by KG2 on 10/25/09
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Keyka Lou Patterns
photo
Review by sew4dasoul on 5/5/09
Read Review

Butterick 5973 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5973 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5681 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 5681 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us